

## Information about this registration

You may also register to vote or update your registration online at www.voter.utah.gov

#### How do I turn in this form?

You can submit this form by mailing, delivering, or scanning and emailing it to your county clerk's office. You can obtain your county clerk's contact information at www.vote.utah.gov or by calling the Office of the Utah Lieutenant Governor.

You may also mail your registration to:

Office of the Utah Lieutenant Governor Elections Division P.O. Box 142325 Salt Lake City, UT 84114

### Am I eligible to register to vote?

You are eligible to register to vote if you:

- Are a citizen of the United States
- Have resided in Utah for at least 30 days immediately before the next election
- Are at least 18 years of age on or before the next election\*
- If you are 16 or 17 years of age, you may preregister to vote.

\*A voter who is 17 years of age is eligible to participate in a Primary Election if they will turn 18 years of age on or before the date of the next General Election.

### When is the voter registration deadline?

This registration form must be received by your county clerk's office at least 11 days before the election. If this form is not received by this deadline, you may register to vote at a voting center by voting with a provisional ballot and providing two forms of identification. You can find a list of acceptable forms of identification at www.vote.utah.gov.

# How will I know if my registration was processed?

Your county clerk's office will send you an official voter information card by mail within 30 days of processing your voter registration form. You can also check the status of your voter registration by visiting www.vote.utah.gov.

#### Will I need identification to vote?

Yes, you will need to provide identification if you vote in person. If you are registering to vote for the first time and are voting by mail, you will need to provide identification to your county clerk's office. A list of acceptable forms of identification can be found at www.vote.utah.gov.

### Will I get a ballot in the mail?

If this form is received by your county clerk's office at least 11 days before an election, your county clerk's office will mail you a ballot. If you are unable to submit your registration at least 11 days before an election, you must vote at an in-person voting center.

You can find a nearby voting center on www.vote.utah.gov.

# Can I register to vote if I have been arrested or convicted of a crime?

You can register to vote if you:

- Are granted parole;
- Are on probation for a misdemeanor or a felony;
- Are a pretrial detainee awaiting trial;
- Are currently in jail serving a sentence for a misdemeanor that is not related to election law: or
- Are no longer serving a term of imprisonment due to a felony or misdemeanor conviction.

### Is voter registration information confidential?

The list of registered voters is considered public record and available to the general public in Utah. However, Utah law grants protections to voters who wish to not have their information publicly available. "Section 10" of the Voter Registration Form allows for a voter to protect their information from certain parties, while the section below (titled "How do I request additional privacy protection?") discusses additional privacy protections that are available to certain individuals. A few items remain confidential and are never provided to any requester: your social security number, your UT Driver's License number/UT ID number, email address, full date of birth, and your signature.

### How do I request additional privacy protection?

In addition to the protections outlined in "Section 10" of the Voter Registration Form, you may request that identifying information on your voter registration records be withheld from all political parties, candidates for public office, and their contractors, employees, and volunteers, by submitting a withholding request form, and any required verification, with this registration form, or to the Office of the Utah Lieutenant Governor or a county clerk.

Who can submit a withholding request form?

- A person who is a victim, or is likely to be a victim, of domestic violence or dating violence
- Law enforcement officers
- Individuals protected by protective or protection orders
- · Members of the armed forces
- Public figures who have a higher safety risk due to their celebrity status or prominent position (does not include elected officials)
- A person who resides with a person described in the bullet points above.

You can obtain a withholding request form from your county clerk's office or the Office of the Utah Lieutenant Governor, or you may download the form online at www.vote.utah.gov.

# How do I vote if I'm a Utah resident but live outside of the state at the time of an election?

If you are a Utah resident who is actively serving military duty or currently resides outside of the U.S., complete "Section 8" of the Voter Registration Form to be eligible to receive a ballot by fax or email. If you are a Utah resident and would prefer to not receive your ballot at your primary residence, you can obtain an "Alternate Address Request Form" online at www.vote.utah.gov and submit it to your county clerk's office. This will enable you to receive your by-mail ballot at a separate address from your primary residence.

#### **Utah Elections (2022- 2023)**

2022 Primary Election - June 28, 2022

2022 General Election - November 8, 2022

2023 Municipal Primary Election - September 5, 2023

2023 Municipal General Election - November 21, 2023

### Who should I contact if I have more questions?

Contact your county clerk's office. You can obtain their contact information at www.vote.utah.gov.

You may also contact the Office of the Utah Lieutenant Governor:

Phone: (801) 538-1041 Email: elections@utah.gov Website: www.vote.utah.gov

