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 Getting Started 

This guide is not a subsƟtute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be a comprehensive or an 
authoritaƟve statement of law. For further legal informaƟon, please consult Utah State Code or other 
appropriate legal resources. If any inconsistency exists between this publicaƟon and statute, the statutory 
language governs. 

The contents of this guide are subject to change by legislaƟve or judicial acƟon. The contents of this manual 
are also for the exclusive use of U.S. Senate, U.S. House, legislaƟve, and state board of educaƟon candidates. 
All instrucƟons for parƟsan candidates within this guide are for Qualified PoliƟcal Party (QPP) candidates. 

Disclaimer 

CongratulaƟons on deciding to run for poliƟcal office in Utah! Running for office is exhilaraƟng, but the 
requirements can also be complicated and difficult to navigate — parƟcularly if you are new to the process. 

This manual is designed to help you adhere to all campaign laws and complete the required steps in order to 
become an official candidate. If this manual does not answer all of your quesƟons, please use the resources 
below: 

About this manual & additional assistance 

Utah Lieutenant Governor’s Office 

  (801) 538‐1041          

  elecƟons@utah.gov         

  vote.utah.gov & elecƟons.utah.gov   

County Clerk’s Office (page 39) 

Utah State ConsƟtuƟon & Code (le.utah.gov) 

Utah PoliƟcal ParƟes: 

ConsƟtuƟon Party (consƟtuƟonpartyofutah.com) (435‐363‐4453) 

DemocraƟc Party (utahdemocrats.org) (801‐328‐1212) 

Green Party (greenpartyutah.com)  

Independent American Party (utahiap.org) 

Libertarian Party (libertarianutah.org) (801‐565‐0894) 

Republican Party (utah.gop) (801‐533‐9777) 

United Utah Party (unitedutah.org) 

Utah State Capitol 

350 North State Street, Suite 220 

PO Box 142325 

Salt Lake City, UT 84114 

https://elections.utah.gov/
https://elections.utah.gov/
https://vote.utah.gov/vote/menu/index
https://le.utah.gov/
http://www.constitutionpartyofutah.com/
http://utahdemocrats.org/
https://www.greenpartyutah.com/
https://utahiap.com/
http://www.libertarianutah.org/
http://utah.gop/
http://www.unitedutah.org/
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Before you begin campaigning, meeƟng voters, or collecƟng campaign donaƟons, you must ensure you meet 
certain requirements to hold office. Review the table below to determine whether you meet the 
requirements of the office you plan to seek.  

Qualifications for office 

Office Age Residency CiƟzenship Other QualificaƟons Term 

U.S. Senate 30 

Resident of the U.S. for 14 

years; resident of Utah when 

elected 

U.S. ciƟzen for 

9 years 
‐ 6 years 

U.S. House of 

RepresentaƟves 
25 Resident of Utah when elected 

U.S. ciƟzen for 

7 years 
‐ 2 years 

Utah State Senate 25 

Resident of Utah for 3 years; 6 

months living in the Senate 

district prior to the last day of 

filing 

U.S. CiƟzen 

Qualified voter1; not convicted of a 

felony2; cannot hold any public 

office of profit or trust3 

4 years 

Utah State House of 

RepresentaƟves 
25 

Resident of Utah for 3 years; 6 

months living in the House 

district prior to the last day of 

filing 

U.S. CiƟzen 

Qualified voter1; not convicted of a 

felony2; cannot hold any public 

office of profit or trust3 

2 years 

State Board of 

EducaƟon 
18 

1 year living in the School 

Board district prior to the last 

day of filing 

U.S. CiƟzen 

Qualified voter1; never convicted of 

a felony2; never convicted of a 

grievous sexual offense against a 

child (see Utah Code 76‐1‐601) 

4 years 

A qualified voter meets the following requirements: 

 CiƟzen of the United States; 

 At least 18 years old and a resident of Utah for 30 days on the date of the elecƟon; and 

 Registered to vote in Utah. 

An individual convicted of a felony loses the right to hold office unƟl all felony convicƟons have been expunged OR they meet 
all of the following requirements: 

 10 years have passed since their most recent felony convicƟon; 

 They paid all court‐ordered resƟtuƟon and fines; and 

 They completed probaƟon, granted parole, or completed the term of incarceraƟon associated with the felony. 

No person holding any public office of profit or trust under authority of the United States, or of this State, shall be a member of 
the Legislature: provided that appointments in the State MiliƟa, and the offices of notary public, jusƟce of the peace, United 
States commissioner, and postmaster of the fourth class, shall not, within the meaning of this secƟon, be considered offices of 
profit or trust (see Utah ConsƟtuƟon ArƟcle VI, SecƟon 6). 

1 

2 

3 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter1/76-1-S601.html?v=C76-1-S601_1800010118000101
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You have several paths from which to select to become a candidate. If you want to be a parƟsan (poliƟcal 
party) candidate, you have 3 opƟons: 

1. ParƟcipate in your poliƟcal party’s caucus and convenƟon system. 

2. Gather signatures from voters.  

3. ParƟcipate in your poliƟcal party’s caucus and convenƟon system and gather signatures from voters. 

If you prefer not to be a parƟsan candidate, you can be an unaffiliated candidate or a write‐in candidate. An 
unaffiliated candidate’s name appears on the ballot, but a write‐in candidate’s name does not appear on the 
ballot. State Board of EducaƟon offices are non‐parƟsan. Below is a simple chart that illustrates the basic 
requirements for each path. If you’re reading this online, click anywhere on a secƟon below to jump to the 
requirements. 

Selecting your path to become a candidate 

ParƟsan Candidates 

 

 ConvenƟon 
Path 

(Pages 6‐8) 

 1. Get to know the 
convenƟon system 
 
2. Declare 
candidacy 
 
3. AƩend your 
party’s convenƟon 
 
4. Primary elecƟon 

 1. Determine your 
signature 
requirement 
 
2. Declare intent to 
gather signatures 
 
3. Gather 
signatures 
 
4. Declare 
candidacy 
 
5. Submit peƟƟon  
signatures for 
review 
 
6. Primary elecƟon 

 

Gathering 
Signatures Path 

(Pages 9‐15) 

 1. Get to know the 
convenƟon system 
 
2. Determine your 
signature 
requirements 
 
3. Declare intent to 
gather signatures 
 
4. Gather signatures 
 
5. Declare 
candidacy 
 
6. Submit peƟƟon 
signatures for 
review 
 
7. AƩend your 
party’s convenƟon 
 
8. Primary elecƟon 
 

 

 

ConvenƟon  & 
Gathering  

Signatures Path 
(Pages 6‐15) 

Non‐ParƟsan Candidates 

 1. Determine your 
signature 
requirement & 
obtain peƟƟon 
template 
 
2. Gather 
signatures 
 
3. Submit 
signatures for 
verificaƟon 
 
4. Submit the 
verified signatures 
& declare 
candidacy 
 
5. General elecƟon 

 

Unaffiliated 
Candidates 
(Pages 16‐20) 

 1. Declare 
candidacy 
 
2. Primary ElecƟon 

 

State Board of 
EducaƟon 

Candidates 
(Pages 22‐23) 

(Online version: click anywhere on a secƟon above to jump to the requirements) 

 1. Declare 
candidacy 
 
2. General elecƟon 

 

Write‐in 
Candidates 

(Page 21) 
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 Partisan Candidates: Convention Path 

Step 1: Get to know the convention system 

The convenƟon system is one path parƟsan candidates can take to get their name on the primary elecƟon 
ballot. If you select this path, you must complete 3 steps: 

 Step 1: Get to know the convenƟon system (conƟnue reading this page). 

 Step 2: Declare candidacy between March 9, 2018 and 5:00 p.m. on March 15, 2018 (page 7). 

 Step 3: AƩend your party’s convenƟon (page 8). 

 1 Caucus   
MeeƟngs 

A caucus is a neighborhood meeƟng of a 

poliƟcal party’s members. Caucuses are 

typically held in March. During the meeƟng, 

caucus members select representaƟves 

from the caucus to aƩend either the county 

or state convenƟon. These representaƟves 

are known as delegates. 

 2 County & State 
ConvenƟons 

Delegates gather at the party’s convenƟons 

to nominate candidates. 

Delegates at the county convenƟon vote for 

candidates for county and legislaƟve offices 

that lie enƟrely within one county. 

Delegates at the state convenƟon vote for 

candidates for federal and legislaƟve offices 

that are located within mulƟple counƟes. 

 3 Primary   
ElecƟon 

Candidates who receive a certain 

percentage of delegates’ votes will be 

nominated and their name will be placed on 

the primary elecƟon ballot. The Primary 

ElecƟon will be held on Tuesday, June 26, 

2018. 

Caucus MeeƟngs 

County      

Delegates 

State       

Delegates 

State       

ConvenƟon 

(Federal & 

mulƟ‐county 

candidates) 

County 

ConvenƟon 

(Single‐county 

candidates) 

Primary ElecƟon 
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Step 2: Declare candidacy 

All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. If you choose to gather signatures in addiƟon 
to parƟcipaƟng in your party’s convenƟon, you do not need to declare candidacy twice. 

When do I declare 

candidacy? 

You must declare candidacy between Friday, March 9, 2018 and 5:00 p.m. on 

Thursday, March 15, 2018. Late declaraƟons cannot be accepted. 

Where do I declare 

candidacy? 

Federal candidates file in‐person with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other 

candidates, regardless of whether they are mulƟ‐ or single‐county candidates, file 

in‐person with the county clerk of their county of residence. 

What paperwork do         

I need to submit? 

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will 

make these forms available during the filing period. AŌer you declare candidacy, 

your declaraƟon forms will be posted on elecƟons.utah.gov. 

 DeclaraƟon of Candidacy Form. This requires your name, contact 

informaƟon, party, and an indicaƟon whether you will go through 

convenƟon, gather signatures, or both. You will be required to write your 

name exactly as you would like it printed on the ballot. You may also 

provide your campaign’s email address, website, and TwiƩer handle. 

 Financial Disclosure/Conflict of Interest Form. This is required for legislaƟve 

candidates. This requires informaƟon about your employment, business 

acƟviƟes, and financial interests. It may take some Ɵme to complete, so you 

may want to complete this form beforehand. 

 Pledge of Fair Campaign PracƟces (opƟonal). This is a pledge to conduct 

your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.  

You must pay a filing fee when you 

declare candidacy. The table to the 

right lists the filing fee for each 

office. 

If you are unable to pay due to 

financial hardship, you may file an 

affidavit of impecuniosity. The filing 

officer may ask you to provide 

evidence of your inability to pay and 

then determine whether the fee will 

be waived. 

Office Filing Fee 

U.S. Senate $1,355.00 

U.S. House of RepresentaƟves $485.00 

State Senator $111.43 

State House of RepresentaƟves $80.71 

What fees do I          

need to pay? 

https://elections.utah.gov/
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What if I can’t declare 

candidacy in person? 

If you are located outside of Utah during the enƟre declaraƟon of candidacy 

period, you can designate another individual to file your declaraƟon paperwork on 

your behalf. our signature must be notarized on the declaraƟon of candidacy—your 

designated agent cannot sign for you.  

In order to file on your behalf, the designated agent must file your paperwork in‐

person with your filing officer during the declaraƟon period. The designated agent 

must also use an electronic device that allows you and the filing officer to hear and 

see each other (e.g., Skype, FaceƟme) when you declare candidacy.  

Step 3: Attend your party’s convention 

County convenƟons are typically held between late March and mid‐April. State 
convenƟons are typically held in late April aŌer the county convenƟons. Contact 
your party (refer to page 3) to determine the exact date of your convenƟon. 

When are    

convenƟons held? 

Which convenƟon      

do I aƩend? 

If you are a candidate for a legislaƟve office that is located enƟrely within a single 
county, you will likely aƩend your party’s county convenƟon.  

If  you  are  a  candidate  for  federal  or mulƟ‐county  legislaƟve office  you will  likely 
aƩend your party’s statewide convenƟon. 

Not sure  if  the district  is mulƟ‐county or single‐county? Refer  to  the Legislature’s 
website, le.utah.gov. 

Are there other 

requirements? 

Your party’s consƟtuƟon or bylaws may require you to perform addiƟonal steps to 
qualify for the convenƟon. You should contact your party (refer to page 3) to 
determine if any addiƟonal steps exist. 

https://le.utah.gov/
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 Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path 

Gathering voters’ signatures is one path parƟsan candidates can take to get their name on the primary 
elecƟon ballot. If you select this path, you must complete 5 steps: 

 Step 1: Determine your signature requirement (conƟnue reading this page). 

 Step 2: Declare intent to gather signatures between January 2, 2018 and 5:00 p.m. on           
     March 15, 2018 (page 10). 

 Step 3: Begin gathering signatures (page 10). 

 Step 4: Declare candidacy between March 9, 2018 and 5:00 p.m. on March 15, 2018 (page 12). 

 Step 5: Submit peƟƟon signatures at least 2 weeks before your convenƟon (page 13). 

Step 1: Determine your signature requirement 

The number of signatures you need to gather depends on the office you are 
seeking. The table below outlines signature requirements: 

A good rule of thumb is to collect more signatures than what is required because 
not every signature you collect will be valid. 

Office Valid Signatures Required 

U.S. Senate 28,000 

U.S. House of RepresentaƟves 7,000  

Utah State Senate 2,000 

Utah House of RepresentaƟves 1,000 

All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their signature to be 
considered valid: 

 Registered to vote in Utah (or will be registered before the signature is 
verified by the elecƟon officer). 

 Live in the district or area of the office you are seeking. 

 Allowed to vote in your party’s primary elecƟon. 

 Did not sign a peƟƟon for another candidate running for the same office. 

Utah law prohibits voters from signing a peƟƟon for more than one candidate per 
office. If a voter signs two separate candidate peƟƟons for the same office, the 
candidate who submits the signature first will receive credit for the signature. 

How many signatures 

do I need to gather? 

Who can sign my 

peƟƟons? 
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Step 2: Declare intent to gather signatures 

Before you begin to gather signatures, you must declare an intent to gather signatures. You may not collect 
any signatures before filing this noƟce. Declaring your intent is not the same as declaring for candidacy. 

When do I declare    

my intent? 

You must declare your intent to gather signatures between January 2, 2018 and 

5:00 p.m. on March 15, 2018. Late submissions cannot be accepted. 

Where do I declare   

my intent? 

Federal candidates file with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other candidates, 

regardless of whether they are mulƟ‐ or single‐county candidates, file with the 

county clerk of their county of residence. 

How do I declare       

my intent? 

You need to submit one form to declare your intent to gather signatures. Your filing 

officer will make this form available during the filing period. Your form will be 

posted on elecƟons.utah.gov. There is no fee to declare your intent. 

Once you submit your form, the filing officer will provide you with instrucƟons and 

3 documents to compile your peƟƟon packets: 

 PeƟƟon cover sheet (MicrosoŌ Word format) 

 PeƟƟon signature sheet (PDF format) 

 PeƟƟon verificaƟon sheet (PDF format) 

Please note that these peƟƟon materials differ from those of unaffiliated candidate 

peƟƟons. Do not use unaffiliated candidate peƟƟons. 

Step 3: Gather signatures 

You will noƟce there is a barcode on your peƟƟon packet materials. These unique 
barcodes are linked to you, so do not use or share peƟƟon materials with other 
campaigns or candidates. 

You may begin gathering signatures aŌer you file your declaraƟon of intent to gather signatures. The first 
thing to do is compile your peƟƟon packets. 

Barcodes on peƟƟon 

materials 

You are responsible for prinƟng and binding your peƟƟon packets. They must be 
bound across the top in at least 3 places using either staples or spiral binding. 
Packets must be bound before they are circulated, and they cannot be taken apart 
or rearranged once they are bound. Your packets will be rejected if you do so. 

 

PrinƟng, binding,          

& arranging peƟƟon 

packets 

https://elections.utah.gov/
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PeƟƟon packets must include 3 sheets and be arranged in the order below. The 

filing officer will provide your peƟƟon template when you declare your intent to 

gather signatures. Please note that your template differs from that of an 

unaffiliated candidate peƟƟon. 

1 
Cover Sheet 

This indicates the office you are 

seeking, your name, party 

affiliaƟon, and address. The 

MicrosoŌ Word format will allow 

you to insert your photograph. 

Each peƟƟon packet needs 1 cover 

sheet. 

2 
Signature Sheet 

This is where voters will sign your 

peƟƟon. Voters provide their name, 

signature, address, and the date. 

They have the opƟon of providing 

their age or birthdate.  

Each peƟƟon packet may have up 

to 50 signature sheets. 

3 
VerificaƟon Sheet 

The person circulaƟng the peƟƟon 

packet must complete this sheet. 

The circulator must count the 

number of signatures in the packet 

and sign. A packet must be 

circulated by only one person, and 

the circulator cannot sign a 

signature sheet in a packet they 

circulate. 

Each peƟƟon packet needs 1 

verificaƟon sheet. 

Who can circulate 

peƟƟons? 

Any resident of Utah who is over 18 years of age may circulate a peƟƟon. They do 

not need to be registered to vote; however, the filing officer can beƩer verify the 

circulator’s age if they are registered to vote. If a circulator does not meet these 

requirements, the signatures they gathered are not valid. 

ResponsibiliƟes of 

peƟƟon circulators 

Circulators must complete and sign the verificaƟon sheet of every peƟƟon packet 

they use to gather signatures. Circulators cannot sign the signature sheets of any 

peƟƟons they circulate—they must sign a peƟƟon packet of another circulator if 

they wish to sign the peƟƟon. 

Each peƟƟon packet must be used by only one circulator. If you have mulƟple 

circulators, they will each need one packet. 

PeƟƟon circulators should receive permission from the appropriate enƟty or owner 

if they want to gather signatures in private and public areas. 

 

You can pay circulators to gather signatures. If you choose to do so, keep these 

rules in mind: 

 Gatherers cannot be paid based on the total number of signatures they 

collect. 

Paid signature 

gatherers 
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 Gatherers can be paid based on the total number of valid signatures they 

collect, an hourly rate, or any other legal method of payment. 

 Using companies that offer signature collecƟon services is allowed, but they 

must follow all applicable state laws. 

Volunteer signature 

gatherers  

You can also use volunteers to gather signatures. Volunteers and their Ɵme do not 

qualify as campaign contribuƟons. However, if volunteers are paid by a third party 

(e.g., a poliƟcal acƟon commiƩee or corporaƟon), this would be considered an in‐

kind contribuƟon from the third party. Refer to page 25 for more informaƟon on in‐

kind contribuƟons. 

Registering peƟƟon 

signers to vote 

If an individual wishes to sign your peƟƟon but is not registered to vote or affiliated 

with your party, you may provide them with a registraƟon form. Please ensure that 

the completed registraƟon form is submiƩed to the appropriate county clerk 

before you submit the individual’s peƟƟon signature.  County clerks cannot 

guarantee that a registraƟon form will be processed prior to the peƟƟon signature. 

Step 4: Declare candidacy 

All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. Declaring candidacy is not the same as 
declaring your intent to gather signatures. If you choose to parƟcipate in your party’s convenƟon in addiƟon 
to gathering signatures, you do not need to declare candidacy twice. 

When do I declare 

candidacy? 

You must declare candidacy someƟme between Friday, March 9, 2018 and 5:00 

p.m. on Thursday, March 15, 2018. Late declaraƟons cannot be accepted. 

Where do I declare 

candidacy? 

Federal candidates file in‐person with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other 

candidates, regardless of whether they are mulƟ‐ or single‐county candidates, file 

in‐person with the county clerk of their county of residence. 

How do I declare 

candidacy? 

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will 

make these forms available during the filing period. AŌer you declare candidacy, 

your declaraƟon forms will be posted on  elecƟons.utah.gov. 

 DeclaraƟon of Candidacy Form. This requires your name, contact 

informaƟon, party, and an indicaƟon whether you will go through 

convenƟon, gather signatures, or both. You will be required to write your 

name exactly as you would like it printed on the ballot. You may also 

provide your campaign’s email address, website, and TwiƩer handle. 

https://elections.utah.gov/
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 Financial Disclosure/Conflict of Interest Form. This is required for legislaƟve 

candidates. This requires informaƟon about your employment, business 

acƟviƟes, and financial interests and stakes. It may take some Ɵme and 

research to complete, so you may want to complete this form beforehand. 

 Pledge of Fair Campaign PracƟces (opƟonal). This is a pledge to conduct 

your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge. 

What fees do I      

need to pay?  

You must pay a filing fee when you 

declare candidacy. The table to the 

right lists the filing fee for each 

office. 

If you are unable to pay due to 

financial hardship, you may file an 

affidavit of impecuniosity. The filing 

officer may ask you to provide 

evidence of your inability to pay and 

then determine whether the fee will 

be waived. 

Office  Filing Fee 

U.S. Senate  $1,355.00 

U.S. House of RepresentaƟves  $485.00 

State Senator  $111.43 

State House of RepresentaƟves  $80.71 

What if I can’t     

declare candidacy       

in person? 

If you are located outside of Utah during the enƟre declaraƟon of candidacy 

period, you can designate another individual to file your declaraƟon paperwork on 

your behalf. our signature must be notarized on the declaraƟon of candidacy—your 

designated agent cannot sign for you.  

In order to file on your behalf, the designated agent must file your paperwork in‐

person with your filing officer during the declaraƟon period. The designated agent 

must also use an electronic device that allows you and the filing officer to hear and 

see each other (e.g., Skype, FaceƟme) when you declare candidacy.  

Step 5: Submit peƟƟon signatures for review 

When do I submit 

peƟƟon signatures? 

You must submit peƟƟon signatures no later than 2 weeks prior to your party’s 

nominaƟng convenƟon—even if you are not parƟcipaƟng in the convenƟon 

process. The deadline will be extended to the following business day if the 2 week 

deadline falls on a weekend or holiday. You may submit peƟƟon signatures any 

Ɵme before this deadline. 
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You must also obtain the required number of signatures before you submit them 

for verificaƟon. For example, if you are required to obtain 1,000 signatures, you 

cannot submit any peƟƟon signatures unƟl you have collected at least 1,000 

signatures. 

You are encouraged to submit your peƟƟon signatures earlier than the deadline. 

This will allow you to gather and submit more signatures if you fail to reach the 

required number of valid signatures with your first submission. 

Where do I submit 

peƟƟon signatures? 

All federal and mulƟ‐county candidates must submit peƟƟon signatures to the 

Lieutenant Governor’s Office. Single‐county candidates must submit peƟƟon 

signatures to the county clerk. 

How do I submit 

peƟƟon signatures? 

You or a designated agent must submit your peƟƟon signatures in person and 

complete a peƟƟon submission form that includes the following informaƟon: 

 Name and contact informaƟon. 

 EsƟmated number of peƟƟon packets being submiƩed. 

 EsƟmated number of signatures being submiƩed. 

 You or your designated agent’s signature. 

AŌer you submit this form and your peƟƟons, the elecƟon official will provide a 

copy of the form. Keep this copy for your records. 

Can I supplement my 

peƟƟon signatures? 

Yes. You may submit addiƟonal peƟƟon signatures if it is before the deadline and 

you have not yet obtained the required number of signatures. The requirements to 

submit supplemental signatures are idenƟcal to those of your first submission. 

ElecƟon officials will verify that each signer in your peƟƟon is qualified to sign 

(refer to page 9 to read about these qualificaƟons). 

ElecƟon officials will also verify peƟƟons in the order in which they are received. If 

your opponent submits their peƟƟon before you, elecƟon officials will verify your 

opponent’s enƟre peƟƟon before yours. Note that a submission of supplemental 

signatures will be considered a new submission and will take its place at the 

boƩom of the verificaƟon order. 

Voters may only sign for one candidate per office. If a voter signs two separate 

candidate petitions for the same office, the candidate who submits the signature  

first will receive credit for the signature. 

How will peƟƟon 

signatures be   

verified? 
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ElecƟon officials will verify your peƟƟon signatures unƟl you meet the signature 

requirement. 

The Ɵme required to verify your peƟƟon signatures will depend on the size of your 

peƟƟon and the number of peƟƟons submiƩed before yours. Avoid submiƫng 

your peƟƟon near the deadline, as the number of submissions is expected to 

increase during that period of Ɵme. 

Regardless of your peƟƟon size and submission date, elecƟon officials will complete 

the verificaƟon of your peƟƟon at least 1 day prior to your party’s convenƟon 

(about 13 days aŌer the submission deadline). 

When will peƟƟon 

signatures be  

verified? 

Once your peƟƟon signatures are verified, your elecƟon official will noƟfy you 

within 1 business day whether you meet the signature requirement or not. If the 

signature verificaƟon process is sƟll underway, you can check on your peƟƟon’s 

status on the Lieutenant Governor’s website, elecƟons.utah.gov. 

How will I know if I 

meet the signature 

requirement? 

https://elections.utah.gov/
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 Unaffiliated Candidates 

If you prefer not to parƟcipate in the poliƟcal party process, you can be an unaffiliated candidate. As an 
unaffiliated candidate, you are enƟtled to all the rights and subject to all the penalƟes of poliƟcal party 
candidates. You will have your name printed on the ballot, but your name will be accompanied with a short 
explanaƟon that you are not affiliated with a poliƟcal party. Follow the 4 steps below to become an 
unaffiliated candidate: 

 Step 1: Determine your signature requirement & obtain peƟƟon templates (conƟnue reading this 
page). 

 Step 2: Gather signatures (page 17). 

 Step 3: Submit signatures for verificaƟon (page 18). 

 Step 4: Submit the verified signatures and declare candidacy between March 9, 2018 and 5:00 p.m. on 
March 15, 2018 (page 18). 

Step 1: Determine your signature requirement & obtain petition template 

All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their signature to be 
considered valid: 

 Registered to vote in Utah (or will be registered before the signature is 
verified by the filing officer) 

 Live in the district or area of the office you are seeking 

 Did not sign a peƟƟon for another unaffiliated candidate running for the 
same office 

How many signatures 

do I need to gather? 

Who can sign my 

peƟƟon? 

The number of signatures you need to gather depends on the office you are 
seeking. Candidates for U.S. Senate must gather 1,000 signatures. U.S. House and 
legislaƟve candidates must gather signatures from at least 300 or 5% of registered 
voters within the district, whichever is less. 

A good rule of thumb is to collect more signatures than what is required because 
not every signature you collect will be valid. 

You may also obtain the templates from your elecƟon official. Refer to the next 
page to determine how to compile your peƟƟon packets. 

Where can I obtain 

peƟƟon templates? 
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Step 2: Gather signatures 

You may begin gathering signatures any Ɵme aŌer the last regular general elecƟon (November 8, 2016). 
Follow the steps below to do so: 

PrinƟng, binding, & 

arranging peƟƟon 

packets 

You are responsible for prinƟng and binding your peƟƟon. It must be bound across 
the top in at least 3 places using either staples or spiral binding. The packet must 
be bound before it is circulated, and it cannot be taken apart or rearranged once it 
is bound. Your packet will be rejected if you do so. 

The peƟƟon must include 2 sheets and arranged in the order below. Please note 

that these sheets differ from those of parƟsan signature gathering candidates. 

Who can circulate 

peƟƟons? 

Any resident of Utah that is over 18 years of age may circulate a peƟƟon. They do 

not need to be registered to vote; however, the filing officer can easily verify the 

circulator’s age if they are registered. If a circulator does not meet these 

requirements, the signatures they gathered are not valid. 

2 
VerificaƟon Sheet 

The person circulaƟng the peƟƟon 

packet must complete this sheet. 

The circulator must count the 

number of signatures in the 

peƟƟon and sign. The peƟƟon must 

be circulated by only one person. 

The peƟƟon needs 1 verificaƟon 

sheet. 

1 
Signature Sheet 

This is where voters will sign your 

peƟƟon. Voters provide their name, 

signature, address, and the date. 

They have the opƟon of providing 

their age or birthdate.  

The peƟƟon may have an unlimited 

number of signature sheets.  

ResponsibiliƟes of 

peƟƟon circulators 

Circulators must fill out and sign the verificaƟon sheet each peƟƟon packet. A 

circulator cannot sign the signature sheets of any peƟƟons they circulate—they 

must sign a peƟƟon packet of another circulator if they wish to sign the peƟƟon. 

Each peƟƟon packet must be used by only one circulator. If you have mulƟple 

circulators, they will each need a packet. 

PeƟƟon circulators should receive permission from the appropriate enƟty or owner 

if they want to gather signatures on private and public areas. 
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Volunteer signature 

gatherers  

You can use volunteers to gather signatures. Volunteers or their Ɵme do not qualify 

as campaign contribuƟons. If volunteers are paid by a third party (e.g., a poliƟcal 

acƟon commiƩee or corporaƟon), this would be considered an in‐kind 

contribuƟon. Refer to page 25 for more informaƟon on in‐kind contribuƟons. 

Registering peƟƟon 

signers to vote 

If an individual wishes to sign your peƟƟon but is not registered to vote, you may 

provide them with a registraƟon form. Please ensure that the completed 

registraƟon form is submiƩed to the appropriate county clerk before you submit 

the individual’s peƟƟon signature.  

Step 3: Submit signatures for verification 

Where do I submit 

peƟƟon signatures   

for verificaƟon? 

Signatures must be verified by a county clerk—even if you are a federal or mulƟ‐

county candidate. If you obtain signatures within mulƟple counƟes, you must 

submit a voter’s signatures to the voter’s county clerk. It is advised that you 

circulate each peƟƟon or peƟƟon packet within one county so you can easily 

determine which signatures go to a parƟcular county clerk. 

Once you gather the required number of signatures, you must get the signatures verified by the county clerk. 
This must be done before you declare candidacy (step 4). 

The peƟƟon signatures must be verified before you declare candidacy between 

March 9, 2018 and 5:00 p.m. on March 15, 2018. Depending on the Ɵme of year 

and the number of signatures you collected, signature verificaƟon could take 

several days or weeks.  

It is highly advised that you coordinate with the appropriate county clerks to 

ensure that they have enough Ɵme to verify the signatures. Refer to page 39 for 

county clerk contact informaƟon. 

When do I submit 

signatures for 

verificaƟon? 

Can I supplement my 

peƟƟon signatures? 

Yes. You may submit addiƟonal peƟƟon signatures before the deadline. Again, 

please coordinate with the county clerks to ensure that there is enough Ɵme to 

verify supplemental signatures. 

Step 4: Submit the verified signatures & declare candidacy 

AŌer your peƟƟon signatures are verified, you must submit the verified signatures and declare candidacy 
with the appropriate filing officer. 

When do I submit 

verified signatures & 

declare candidacy?  

You must do this between March 9, 2018 and 5:00 p.m. on March 15, 2018. Late 

submissions cannot be accepted. 
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Where do I submit 

verified signatures & 

declare candidacy?  

Federal candidates submit signatures and file in‐person with the Lieutenant 

Governor’s Office. All other candidates can file either with the Lieutenant 

Governor’s Office or with their county clerk. 

How do I submit 

verified signatures & 

declare candidacy? 

You must submit the following items and forms listed below to declare candidacy. 

Your forms, with the excepƟon of the peƟƟon, will be posted on 

elecƟons.utah.gov. 

 Verified peƟƟon and cerƟficate of nominaƟon. The cerƟficate of nominaƟon  

requires your name as you would like it printed on the ballot as well as your 

contact informaƟon. 

 Financial Disclosure/Conflict of Interest Form. This is required for legislaƟve 

candidates. This requires informaƟon about your employment, business 

acƟviƟes, and financial interests and stakes. It may take some Ɵme and 

research to complete, so you may want to complete this form beforehand. 

 Pledge of Fair Campaign PracƟces (opƟonal). This is a pledge to conduct 

your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.  

What fee do I need   

to pay?  

You must pay a filing fee when you 

declare candidacy. The table to the 

right lists the filing fee for each 

office. 

If you are unable to pay due to 

financial hardship, you may file an 

affidavit of impecuniosity. The filing 

officer may ask you to provide 

evidence of your inability to pay and 

then determine whether the fee will 

be waived. 

Office  Filing Fee 

U.S. Senate  $1,355.00 

U.S. House of RepresentaƟves  $485.00 

State Senator  $111.43 

State House of RepresentaƟves  $80.71 

What if I can’t declare 

candidacy in person? 

If you are located outside of Utah during the enƟre declaraƟon of candidacy 

period, you can designate another individual to file your declaraƟon paperwork on 

your behalf. our signature must be notarized on the declaraƟon of candidacy—your 

designated agent cannot sign for you.  

In order to file on your behalf, the designated agent must file your paperwork in‐

person with your filing officer during the declaraƟon period. The designated agent 

must also use an electronic device that allows you and the filing officer to hear and  

https://elections.utah.gov/


20 

What if I can’t     

declare candidacy            

in person? 

see each other (e.g., Skype, FaceƟme) when you declare candidacy.  
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 Write-in Candidates 

As a write‐in candidate, your name does not appear on the ballot. Voters must write or type your name on 
the write‐in line for a vote to count. The process to become a write‐in candidate is simple: you must declare 
candidacy with the appropriate elecƟon official. 

Federal candidates file in‐person with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other 

candidates, regardless whether they are mulƟ‐ or single‐county candidates, file in‐

person with the county clerk of their county of residence. 

Where do I declare 

candidacy? 

When do I declare 

candidacy? 

The deadline to declare write‐in candidacy is 5:00 p.m. on September 7, 2018. Late 
submissions cannot be accepted. 

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will 

provide these forms when you declare. AŌer you declare candidacy, your 

declaraƟon forms will be posted on elecƟons.utah.gov. 

 DeclaraƟon of Candidacy Form. This requires your name and certain contact 

informaƟon. You may also provide your campaign’s email address, website, 

and TwiƩer handle. 

 Financial Disclosure/Conflict of Interest Form. This is required for legislaƟve 

and state board of educaƟon candidates but not federal candidates. This 

requires informaƟon about your employment, business acƟviƟes, and 

financial interests and stakes. It may take some Ɵme and research to 

complete, so you may want to complete this form beforehand. 

 Pledge of Fair Campaign PracƟces (opƟonal). This is a pledge to conduct 

your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge. 

How do I declare 

candidacy? 

Write‐in candidates do not need to pay a fee to declare candidacy. Do I need to pay any 

fees? 

 

If you are a federal write‐in candidate, check with the Federal ElecƟon Commission 

(FEC) to determine whether you need to file financial disclosure reports. 

If you are a state legislaƟve or state board of educaƟon candidate, you must file 

campaign finance reports with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. Refer to pages 24 

‐ 33  for more informaƟon. 

Do I need to file 

financial disclosure 

reports? 

https://elections.utah.gov/
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 State Board of Education Candidates 

State board of educaƟon offices are non‐parƟsan. To become a state board of educaƟon candidate, you must 
declare candidacy. If more than two individuals file for the same office, a non‐parƟsan primary elecƟon will 
be held on June 26, 2018. 

What if I can’t declare 

candidacy in person? 

If you are located outside of Utah during the enƟre declaraƟon of candidacy 

period, you can designate another individual to file your declaraƟon paperwork on 

your behalf. our signature must be notarized on the declaraƟon of candidacy—your 

Yes, you must file campaign finance reports with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. 

Refer to pages 24‐33  for more informaƟon. 

Do I need to file 

financial disclosure 

reports? 

You must pay a $90.95 filing fee when you declare candidacy. If you are unable to 

pay due to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit of impecuniosity. The filing 

officer may ask you to provide evidence of your inability to pay and then determine 

whether the fee will be waived. 

Do I need to pay any 

fees? 

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will 

provide these forms when you declare. AŌer you declare candidacy, your 

declaraƟon forms will be posted on elecƟons.utah.gov. 

 DeclaraƟon of Candidacy Form. This requires your name and certain contact 

informaƟon. You may also provide your campaign’s email address, website, 

and TwiƩer handle. 

 Financial Disclosure/Conflict of Interest Form. This requires informaƟon 

about your employment, business acƟviƟes, and financial interests and 

stakes. It may take some Ɵme and research to complete, so you may want 

to complete this form beforehand. 

 Pledge of Fair Campaign PracƟces (opƟonal). This is a pledge to conduct 

your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge. 

How do I declare 

candidacy? 

All state board of educaƟon candidates file in‐person with the county clerk of their 

county of residence. 

Where do I declare 

candidacy? 

When do I declare 

candidacy? 

You must declare candidacy between Friday, March 9, 2018 and 5:00 p.m. on 

Thursday, March 15, 2018. Late declaraƟons cannot be accepted. 

 

https://elections.utah.gov/
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What if I can’t     

declare candidacy            

in person? 

designated agent cannot sign for you.  

In order to file on your behalf, the designated agent must file your paperwork in‐

person with your filing officer during the declaraƟon period. The designated agent 

must also use an electronic device that allows you and the filing officer to hear and 

see each other (e.g., Skype, FaceƟme) when you declare candidacy.  
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 Campaign Finance & Reporting 

ReporƟng your campaign finances is required by law. Federal candidates file with the Federal ElecƟon 
Commission (FEC). If you are a federal candidate, refer to the FEC’s website, fec.gov, for more informaƟon on 
federal campaign finance regulaƟons. 

If you are a legislaƟve or state board of educaƟon candidate (including unaffiliated and write‐in candidates), 
you will follow state campaign finance law and file with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office at 
disclosures.utah.gov. Failure to adhere to campaign finance requirements may lead to financial penalƟes and 
disqualificaƟon from the elecƟon. ConƟnue reading the secƟons below to find out how to follow these 
requirements. 

 Opening a campaign bank account (conƟnue reading this page). 

 ContribuƟons (conƟnue reading this page). 

 Expenditures (page 26). 

 ReporƟng schedule & deadlines (page 27). 

 How to report campaign finances (page 28). 

 When to start & stop reporƟng finances (page 31). 

 PenalƟes & fines (page 32). 

Opening a campaign bank account 

If you are a legislaƟve or state board of educaƟon candidate, opening a bank account for your campaign is 
one of the first things you must do. Utah law does not allow legislaƟve or state board of educaƟon candidates 
to use personal banking accounts for a campaign—you must use a separate bank account that is only used 
for campaign purposes. However, you are allowed to contribute money from a personal account to your 
campaign account and would need to be reported as such. This would be considered a contribuƟon from 
yourself to your campaign. 

Some banks require an employer idenƟficaƟon number (EIN) to open an account. The Lieutenant Governor’s 
Office or your county clerk cannot provide this number. Refer to the IRS’s website, irs.gov, for more 
informaƟon. 

Contributions 

A contribuƟon is anything of value that your campaign receives. There are no state 

limits to poliƟcal contribuƟons. Utah Code 20A‐11‐101(6) provides the legal 

definiƟon of a contribuƟon, but here are the most common types: 

 Money donaƟons 
 GiŌs 
 Loans (including ones from yourself) 
 Services 

What is a 

contribuƟon? 

https://www.fec.gov/
https://disclosures.utah.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/apply-for-an-employer-identification-number-ein-online
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_201705092017050
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 Every contribuƟon your campaign receives must be reported, including a 

contribuƟon from your personal accounts. When reporƟng contribuƟons, you must 

include the contribuƟon’s value and date, as well as the contributor’s name and 

address. 

ContribuƟons that do not need to be reported include unpaid volunteers or goods 

or services that your campaign did not authorize or coordinate. 

In‐kind contribuƟons If your campaign receives anything of value that isn’t money, this is considered an 

in‐kind contribuƟon. Just like monetary donaƟons, you must report all in‐kind 

contribuƟons. 

If your campaign receives an in‐kind contribuƟon, you need to determine its value 

in order to report it. Doing this is oŌen as simple as asking the contributor. For 

example, if a farmers’ market typically charges $100 for booth space but waived 

the fee for your campaign, you received a $100 in‐kind donaƟon from the farmers’ 

market for booth space. 

Although the in‐kind amount is displayed in your online financial ledger and on 

your disclosure reports, it will not affect the balance of your financial ledger. For 

example, if you have a $0 balance and add a $100 in‐kind contribuƟon to your 

financial ledger, your balance will remain $0. For more informaƟon about your 

online ledger, refer to page 29. 

Individuals, corporaƟons, poliƟcal acƟon commiƩees (PAC), and poliƟcal parƟes 

may contribute to your campaign.  

Federal law prohibits any foreign naƟonals from making any contribuƟons or 

expenditures in connecƟon with any elecƟon. Refer to the FEC’s “Foreign 

NaƟonals” brochure for more informaƟon. 

If you receive a contribuƟon from a PAC or poliƟcal party, they may be required to 

file financial disclosure reports as well. It is recommended that you noƟfy these 

enƟƟes of this possible requirement to ensure they comply with the law and avoid 

fines. 

Who can contribute 

to my campaign? 

You cannot aggregate contribuƟons—no maƩer how small they may be. Whether 

the contribuƟon was $1 or $10,000, you must include the contributor’s name and 

address as well as the contribuƟon’s value and date. 

AggregaƟng 

contribuƟons 

Are there campaign 

contribuƟon limits? 

No, Utah law does not limit how much a contributor may contribute to your                 

campaign. 

https://www.fec.gov/updates/foreign-nationals/
https://www.fec.gov/updates/foreign-nationals/
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ContribuƟons 

through pass‐  

through enƟƟes 

Many candidates use pass‐through enƟƟes to collect donaƟons (such as PayPal, Act 

Blue, Square, or GoFundMe). When you report your contribuƟons, report the 

original source of the contribuƟon (i.e., the individual or organizaƟon using PayPal) 

instead of the pass‐through enƟty.  

For example: Jane Doe contributed $100 to your campaign using PayPal. Because 

you received the money from Jane Doe and not PayPal, you would report the 

contribuƟon from Jane Doe. 

You cannot use a campaign contribuƟon if it is from an anonymous source and 

greater than $50. If you receive an anonymous contribuƟon greater than $50, you 

must transfer the money to the state, county, city, or a nonprofit 501(c)(3).

Anonymous 

contribuƟons 

When is a 

contribuƟon 

considered    

received? 

A contribuƟon is considered received when you: 

 Deposit a check; 
 Have the cash in hand; or 
 Benefit from an in‐kind contribuƟon. 

Expenditures 

An expenditure is anything of value that your campaign spends. Utah Code 20A‐11‐

101(15) provides the legal definiƟon of expenditure, but here are some common 

types: 

 Purchases or payments related to the campaign; 

 CompensaƟon for staff or services; 

 Campaign loan repayments. 

Every expenditure that your campaign makes must be reported. When you report 

expenditures, you must include the amount, date, and its specific purpose.  

What is an 

expenditure?  

Utah law prohibits using your campaign funds for you or your family’s personal use. 

Below is a non‐inclusive list of prohibited expenditures: 

Prohibited 

expenditures 

 Rent, mortgage, or uƟliƟes for your 
personal property (campaign office space 
is exempt) 

 Household food items or supplies 

 Clothing (except clothing that bears your 
campaign’s logo and is used for the 
campaign) 

 Personal services (e.g., aƩorney & 
physician fees) 

 Membership fee to a professional 
organizaƟon 

 Admission to events 

 Dues or fees to clubs or gyms 

 Salary or payment to anyone who does 
not work for your campaign 

 Vehicle payment 

 Personal debt 

 Travel expenses unrelated to the 
campaign 

 Meal expenses unrelated to the campaign 

 VacaƟon or vacaƟon related expenses 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2017050920170509
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2017050920170509
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Making expenditures 

using credit cards 

You can use credit cards to pay for campaign expenses. However, do not report 

your monthly credit card payment as an expenditure. Instead, report each 

transacƟon on your credit card’s billing statement. 

For example, if you charged $200 on your credit card, report the individual 

transacƟons (such as $100 paid to PrinƟng, Inc. for prinƟng and $100 paid to Sign, 

Inc. for signs) instead of the $200 sum. 

Reporting Schedule & Deadlines 

You must report each contribuƟon within 31 calendar days. See page 26 for an 

explanaƟon on when a contribuƟon is considered received. 

30 day contribuƟon 

reporƟng   

requirement 

If you have an opponent for the convenƟon, primary elecƟon, or general elecƟon, 

you must report all campaign contribuƟons within 3 business days beginning the 30 

days before the contest. Refer to the table below to determine when this 

requirement begins: 

3 day contribuƟon 

reporƟng    

requirement 

Contest 3‐Business Day ReporƟng Requirement Begins: 

ConvenƟon 
Contact your party (page 3) to determine your convenƟon date, and then 

calculate 31 calendar days prior to that day 

Primary elecƟon Sunday, May 27, 2018 

General elecƟon Sunday, October 7, 2018 

In addiƟon to regular contribuƟon reporƟng, legislaƟve and state board of 

educaƟon candidates are required to submit 5 reports on disclosures.utah.gov 

throughout the 2018 elecƟon cycle. 

Refer to the table on the next page for the report deadlines: 

Financial disclosure 

report deadlines 

https://disclosures.utah.gov/
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Report Name Report Deadline 
Report Includes         

TransacƟons Between 

ConvenƟon 
7 days before convenƟon 

(11:59 p.m.) 

When candidacy begins  ‐ 5 days 

before convenƟon report is due 

Primary ElecƟon June 19, 2018 (11:59 p.m.) 
5 days before the previous report ‐ 

June 14, 2018  

September 30th October 1, 2018 (11:59 p.m.) 
June 15, 2018 ‐                                    

September 26, 2018 

General ElecƟon October 30, 2018 (11:59 p.m.) 
September 27, 2018 ‐                        

October 25, 2018 

Year‐End January 10, 2019 (11:59 p.m.) 
October 26, 2018 ‐                        

December 31, 2018 

Candidates who file 

All  parƟsan candidates 

All candidates 

All candidates 

All candidates 

All candidates 

May 15th May 15, 2018 (11:59 p.m.) 
When candidacy begins  ‐                         

May 10, 2018 

State board of 

educaƟon candidates 

only 

March 26th March 26, 2018 (11:59 p.m.) 
When candidacy begins  ‐                      

March 21, 2018 

*NonparƟsan legislaƟve 

candidates only 

You must include all campaign contribuƟons and expenditures made during the 

reporƟng period (3rd column in table above). Refer to page 31 to learn how to file 

these reports. 

ReporƟng deadlines are the same for all candidates except for the convenƟon 

report. This report is due 7 days before your party’s convenƟon—even if you do 

not parƟcipate in the convenƟon process. Refer to page 3 to contact your party 

and determine the exact date of your convenƟon. If the reporƟng deadline falls on 

a weekend or holiday, the report will be due the following business day. 

How to report your campaign finances 

All legislaƟve and state board of educaƟon candidates must file financial disclosure reports on the Lieutenant 
Governor’s website, disclosures.utah.gov. Candidates should follow the steps below to report contribuƟons, 
expenditures, and file reports. 

 1 Create a 
username & 
register your 
campaign 

Select “New User” on the toolbar located on the leŌ of 

your screen. Skip this and the next item if you already 

have a username. 

Using a web browser, go to disclosures.utah.gov. 

The “Create a New Web Account” screen will appear. Here 

you will create a username which allows you to log on the 

disclosures website. This is not the same as registering 

your campaign—that will be done in the next step. 

https://disclosures.utah.gov/
https://disclosures.utah.gov/
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AŌer you have created your user name, call the Lieutenant 

Governor’s Office (801‐538‐1041) to register your 

campaign. 

You will be asked for your contact informaƟon as well as 

contact informaƟon for any campaign commiƩee 

members you may have. This informaƟon will be available 

to the public. 

 2 Navigate your 
online financial 
ledger 

All contribuƟons and expenditures are entered into your 

online financial ledger. This is also where reports are filed. 

To access your ledger, log on disclosures.utah.gov and 

click “My Folder” on the leŌ of your screen. 

On the “My Folder” screen, there are three red links in the 

middle of the screen under the bolded word “AcƟons.” 

Click on “Financial Ledger.” 

  1 These are the names of the required reports for a regular general elecƟon year (the 

convenƟon report will be displayed as the May 15th report for unaffiliated candidates). When 

you enter a contribuƟon or expenditure, the ledger automaƟcally sorts them under the 

appropriate report based on the reporƟng period. You can view reporƟng period dates by 

hovering your cursor over a report name. To view all contribuƟons and expenditures under a 

parƟcular report, simply click “Show Details” next to the report’s name. 

  2 This column displays the specific purpose of an expenditure or the address of a contribuƟon. 

This informaƟon is only displayed if you click “Show Details” for a report. 

Familiarize yourself with the financial ledger: 

  1   2   3   4 

  5 

  6   7 

Fill out your personal informaƟon and create your 

username and password. Click “Register.” Your user name 

informaƟon will not be public. 

https://disclosures.utah.gov/
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  4 
These columns represent four items: 

 I = in‐kind contribuƟon 

 L = loan 

 A = report amendment 

 P = public service assistance (for current office holders only) 

If a transacƟon falls into one or more of these categories, the ledger will make a note of it in 

these columns. Remember that in‐kind contribuƟons will not affect the balance of your ledger. 

  5 These are the buƩons to file your reports. Simply click “File Report” once you have entered all 

contribuƟons and expenditures for the applicable reporƟng period. You may make changes to 

your report once you submit it, but any changes will be publicly displayed as amendments. 

  6 These tabs display the years your account has been acƟve since you last declared candidacy. If 

you’re a new candidate, you’ll only have one tab for the current year. For older accounts, 

simply click on a year to view the ledger for that year. 

  7 If you have a large number of transacƟons, you can complete an import sheet in MicrosoŌ 

Excel and email it to disclosure@utah.gov before the reporƟng deadline rather than using the 

website interface. The import sheet will provide addiƟonal instrucƟons on how to complete 

and upload it. You can find the link to download the import sheet in your ledger. 

ContribuƟons. Clicking the “Add” buƩon will display a pop‐

up. Here you will enter the amount and date of the 

contribuƟon (refer to page 26 to determine when a 

contribuƟon is received) as well as the contributor’s name 

and address. You can also designate the contribuƟon as in‐

kind, loan, or public service assistance (for current office 

holders only). 

Expenditures. Clicking the “Add” buƩon will display a pop‐

up. Here you will enter the date of the expenditure, the 

specific purpose of the expenditure, and the expenditure 

amount. The expenditure purpose must be detailed and 

clear. There is a checkbox to indicate whether the 

expenditure is related to a loan. 

 3 Add a 
contribuƟon or 
expenditure 

To add a contribuƟon or expenditure, simply click “Add” in 

the appropriate ledger column. 

  3 These columns display the total amount of contribuƟons and expenditures as well as the 

account balance for each report. If you click “Show Details,” each column will display amounts 

for individual contribuƟons and expenditures. 
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 4 Edit or delete a 
contribuƟon or 
expenditure 

To edit or delete a specific transacƟon, click on its row. 

The row will highlight and the “Edit” and “Delete” buƩons 

will appear. If the report is already filed, the “Amend” and 

“Delete” buƩons will appear. 

To delete a transacƟon, click the “Delete” buƩon. The 

transacƟon’s details will be deleted and it will no longer 

affect your balance, but the transacƟon’s name will be 

changed to [DELETED]. 

To edit a transacƟon, click the “Edit” buƩon. AŌer ediƟng 

a transacƟon, it will be noted as an amendment. 

 5 File your 
disclosure 
report 

Before submiƫng your report, ensure that all of your 

contribuƟons and expenditures have been entered into 

the ledger and are accurate. 

When you are ready to submit a report, click on the 

appropriate “File Report” buƩon in the ledger. You will be 

asked to confirm the filing. 

You will receive both an on‐screen and email confirmaƟon 

of your filing. 

When to start & stop reporting finances 

Once you declare candidacy, receive a contribuƟon, or spend money on 

campaigning, you must begin reporƟng finances (even if you have not officially 

declared candidacy or your intent to gather signatures). 

When do I start 

reporƟng my   

finances? 

If you lose an elecƟon, resign from office, or no longer receive or spend money, you 

have the opƟon of closing your bank account and financial disclosure account. By 

closing your accounts, you will no longer need to report your campaign finances.  

If you plan to run for office in the future, you can keep your campaign money and 

accounts, but you will be required to conƟnue reporƟng your finances. If you close 

your accounts now but run again in the future, you must open a new bank and 

disclosures.utah.gov account. 

When do I stop 

reporƟng my 

campaign finances? 

https://disclosures.utah.gov/
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You must return or donate your remaining campaign funds to close your accounts. 

You may: 

 Pay back any loans your campaign received (including loans you made to 
your own campaign); 

 Return funds to contributors; 

 Donate the funds to a candidate, poliƟcal party, or poliƟcal acƟon 
commiƩee (PAC); or 

 Donate the funds to a charitable organizaƟon. 

Refer to your bank for specific instrucƟons to close your bank account. To close 

your online financial disclosures account, follow the instrucƟons below: 

How do I close my 

accounts? 

Log into disclosures.utah.gov. Ensure that your financial 

ledger is updated, your account balance is $0.00, and you 

have filed the next upcoming report. 

Return to the home page aŌer updaƟng your ledger. Click 

“My Folder” on the toolbar located on the leŌ side of the 

screen. 

You will noƟce three red links in the middle of the screen 

under “AcƟons.” Click “Manage Folder.” 

In this new screen, click “Close Account.” A pop‐up will 

appear and ask for confirmaƟon. Read this carefully and 

then click “Submit.” 

If the ledger balance is not $0.00 or other reports need to 

be filed, you will be instructed to complete these tasks 

prior to closing the account. 

Penalties & Fines 

If you fail to adhere to campaign finance and disclosure laws, you may face fines, criminal penalƟes, and 

disqualificaƟon from the elecƟon. 

The table on the next page outlines the penalƟes for filing a late report: Filing a late report 

https://disclosures.utah.gov/
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Report Name Report Deadline Fine/Penalty 

ConvenƟon 
7 days before convenƟon 

(11:59 p.m.) 
$100 fine 

Primary ElecƟon 
June 19, 2018                             

(11:59 p.m.) 

$100 fine & potenƟal 

disqualificaƟon* 

September 30th 
October 1, 2018                           

(11:59 p.m.) 

$100 fine & potenƟal 

disqualificaƟon* 

General ElecƟon 
October 30, 2018                         

(11:59 p.m.) 

$100 fine & potenƟal 

disqualificaƟon* 

Year‐End 
January 10, 2018                           

(11:59 p.m.) 
$100 fine 

Candidates who file 

All parƟsan candidates 

All candidates 

All candidates 

All candidates 

All candidates 

May 15th 
May 15, 2018                               

(11:59 p.m.) 
$100 fine 

State board of educaƟon 

candidates only 

March 26th 
March 26, 2018                    

(11:59 p.m.) 
$100 fine 

Unaffiliated legislaƟve 

candidates 

*If you fail to file the Primary, September 30th, or General ElecƟon report, you will 

be fined and given a 24‐hour grace period to file the report. If you do not file the 

report within this grace period, you will be disqualified from the elecƟon. 

There are penalƟes for failing to report contribuƟons within the 31 calendar day or 

3 business day requirements (refer to page 27 for more informaƟon on these 

requirements): 

 10% of each late contribuƟon if it is reported within 60 days aŌer the 
deadline 

 20% of each late contribuƟon if it is reported more than 60 days aŌer the 
deadline 

ReporƟng late 

contribuƟons 

LegislaƟve and state board of educaƟon candidates must pay fines through the 
Lieutenant Governor’s Office. You may pay with a check (made payable to the State 
of Utah), or you can call the Lieutenant Governor’s Office at 801‐538‐1041 to 
conduct a credit card transacƟon over the phone. 

How do I pay a fine? 

LegislaƟve and state board of educaƟon candidates are required to pay within 30 
calendar days of receiving the fine. Failure to pay within this Ɵme frame may result 
in a class B misdemeanor. 

When do I need to  

pay a fine?  
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 Other Useful Information 

 How to submit your campaign profile & biography (conƟnue reading this page). 

 Campaign regulaƟons (page 36). 

 Important elecƟon dates (page 38). 

 County Clerk contact informaƟon (page 39). 

How to submit your campaign profile & biography 

There are two types of campaign profiles: 

 Printed in the voter informaƟon pamphlet (federal candidates only, excluding write‐ins) 

 Online at vote.utah.gov (all candidates except write‐ins) 

Approximately 130,000 voter informaƟon pamphlets are sent to households, universiƟes, libraries, senior 

centers, and polling locaƟons throughout the state. The website vote.utah.gov is used by hundreds of 

thousands of voters every elecƟon to locate their voƟng informaƟon and research candidates. 

What is included in   

the profile? 

 Photograph 

 100 word statement 

 Contact informaƟon 

 Photograph 

 200 word statement 

 Biographical informaƟon and 
contact informaƟon 

When is the profile 

available to the   

public? 

The pamphlet is published only for the 
general elecƟon. Pamphlets are 
delivered between late September and 
ElecƟon Day. 

Profiles are available for both the 
primary and general elecƟons. Profiles 
will be posted on the website 
approximately 1 week aŌer the 
submission deadlines. 

When do I need to 

submit my profile? 

 July 25, 2018 by 5:00 p.m. (for the 
General ElecƟon only) 

Primary ElecƟon: May 14, 2018 by 5:00 
p.m. 

General ElecƟon: September 7, 2018 
by 5:00 p.m. 

 Voter InformaƟon Pamphlet 
 (All federal candidates except write‐ins) 

     Online at vote.utah.gov 
               (All candidates except write‐ins) 

https://vote.utah.gov/vote/menu/index
https://vote.utah.gov/vote/menu/index
https://vote.utah.gov/vote/menu/index
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What is the password 

to the online profile? 

The password for the primary elecƟon profile is VOTEJUNE2018. 

The password for the general elecƟon profile is VOTENOVEMBER2018. 

Is it okay if my 

statement exceeds   

the 100 or 200 word 

limit? 

No, these limits are established by law. 

I can’t find the email  

to edit my profile. 

What can I do? 

Check your junk or spam folder in your email. If you cannot locate the email, 
contact the Lieutenant Governor’s Office at 801‐538‐1041. 

The website gives me 

an error message 

when I try to submit 

my online profile. 

What can I do? 

If you uploaded a photograph, check the size of the photograph’s file. If the file size 
is large (more than 1MB), simply upload a smaller image file. Some online websites 
offer free photo compression. 

If this does not work, please contact the Lieutenant Governor’s Office at 801‐538‐
1041 or elecƟons@utah.gov. 

1) Go to vote.utah.gov. 

2) Under the heading “Candidates & 
ParƟes,” select “Enter Candidate 
Profile.” 

3) Enter the password VOTEJUNE2018 
for your primary elecƟon profile or 
VOTENOVEMBER2018 for your 
general elecƟon profile. 

4) Select your name, enter your 
biographical informaƟon, upload a 
small photograph (less than 1MB in 
size), and type your 200 word 
statement. 

5) Click Submit for Approval. 

6) You will receive an email that 
contains a link to edit your profile. 
This link is the only way you can 
edit your profile. 

How do I submit my 

profile? 

Email the following informaƟon to 
elecƟons@utah.gov by 5:00 p.m. on 
July 25, 2018: 

 

 Small photograph 

 100 word statement 

 Mailing address, phone number, 

email address, and campaign 

 Voter InformaƟon Pamphlet 
 (All federal candidates except write‐ins) 

     Online at vote.utah.gov 
               (All candidates except write‐ins) 

https://vote.utah.gov/vote/menu/index
https://vote.utah.gov/vote/menu/index
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Utah law prohibits certain acƟviƟes related to campaigning. Familiarize yourself with these laws to avoid 
possible legal issues, fines, and penalƟes. The laws listed below are some of the most common issues that 
arise during the campaign season, but this list is not all‐inclusive. Refer to Title 20A of the Utah State Code for 
more informaƟon. To determine whether there are addiƟonal regulaƟons for federal candidates, you should 
consult the appropriate federal agency. 

AdverƟsements If your campaign pays for any type of adverƟsement (e.g., mailers, TV, radio, 
newspaper, billboard, etc.), the adverƟsement must clearly state that your 
campaign authorized and paid for the adverƟsement. 

If your campaign does not pay for an adverƟsement, but it is approved by your 
campaign, the adverƟsement must clearly state who paid for the adverƟsement 
and that your campaign authorized it. 

However, this requirement does not apply to certain campaign items such as: 

 Lawn signs smaller than 4Ō. by 8Ō. in size; 
 Bumper sƟckers; 
 Campaign buƩons, sƟckers, and pens; and 
 Items that are too small to conveniently print the disclaimer. 

Bribery Any type of bribery is strictly prohibited by law. You cannot: 

 Offer or promise an individual money, prizes, benefits, or employment to 
vote, refrain from voƟng, remain away from the polls, or receive poliƟcal 
support. 

 Offer or promise anything to other candidates to drop out of the race, stay 
in the race, or perform any other acƟon. 

 Pay for endorsements. 

A person convicted of these offenses is guilty of a third degree felony. 

Campaigning near a 

polling locaƟon 

When voƟng is taking place at a polling locaƟon, you are not allowed to campaign 
or elecƟoneer on public property within 150 feet of the building. This includes 
wearing campaign or campaign‐related shirts and buƩons or displaying signs or 
bumper sƟckers. You also cannot interfere with voters or the administraƟon of the 
polling place. 

Campaign signs State elecƟon law does not prohibit you from placing campaign signs on public 
property, but a government or other public enƟty may prohibit it. Ask the 
appropriate public enƟty whether you may place signs on public property. If a 
public enƟty allows campaign signs on public property, all candidates must be 
allowed to place signs. 

You are not allowed to move, remove, tamper, or vandalize any campaign signs 
unless the sign is your own. It is a class B misdemeanor to do so. 

If you have permission from the property owner, you are allowed to place 

Campaign Regulations 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/20A.html?v=C20A_1800010118000101


37 

campaign signs on private property. Property owners can remove your signs 
without your consent and are not obligated to return the signs to you. 

Names on the ballot The order of candidates’ names on the ballot is established by a random 
alphabet—the master ballot posiƟon list. The ballot posiƟon list will be determined 
aŌer the declaraƟon of candidacy period. The list will be posted on 
elecƟons.utah.gov. 

Campaign signs on 

public roadways 

State and federal law prohibit campaign signs within state rights‐of‐way (Utah Code 
SecƟon 72‐7‐102).  This includes all state highways, medians, road shoulders, sound 
walls, on‐ramps, off‐ramps, overpasses, and adjoining fence lines. Candidates are 
encouraged to place signs on private property with the consent of the property 
owner. The only restricƟon for signs on private property is that they must not block 
the view of oncoming traffic.   

If a campaign sign is placed within the state rights‐of‐way or poses a traffic hazard, 
it may be removed.  Signs that have been removed will be stored by UDOT, and the 
sign owner may retrieve the signs for future use.  

A local government may allow campaign signs in its own rights‐of‐way. Please 
contact your local government for more informaƟon; regulaƟons and restricƟons 
vary among ciƟes and counƟes.  

For more informaƟon about state sign regulaƟons please email 
OutdoorAdverƟsingControl@udot.gov, or call (801) 965‐4209. 

Poll watchers Poll watchers are not required, but you may designate poll watchers. Poll watchers 
should register with the county clerk beforehand. 

Watchers are there to observe the voƟng and tabulaƟon process. They are not 
there to interfere. Watchers may make wriƩen memos, but they cannot 
communicate the progress of the voƟng or counƟng in any way. Doing so will result 
in a third degree felony. 

CounƟes may make other rules regarding poll watching. Watchers may be required 
to surrender their cell phone or remain in a certain area of the room. 

Using public email for 

poliƟcal purposes 

If you are a current office holder or work in the public sector (including public 
educaƟon), you cannot use your public enƟty email address for poliƟcal or 
campaign‐related purposes. The fine for the first offense is $250. Fines for 
subsequent offenses are $1,000 and over. 

Withdrawing your 

candidacy or intent     

to gather signatures 

You may withdraw your candidacy or your declaraƟon of intent to gather 
signatures by submiƫng a wriƩen affidavit to your filing officer. If you withdraw 
your intent to gather signatures, any signatures you submiƩed prior to withdrawal 
will not be verified. 

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title72/Chapter7/72-7-S102.html?v=C72-7-S102_1800010118000101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title72/Chapter7/72-7-S102.html?v=C72-7-S102_1800010118000101
https://elections.utah.gov/
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Below is a calendar of important dates for the elecƟon. Note that not all elecƟon related dates and deadlines 
are represented in this calendar. 

Important Election Dates 

Date Event 

January 2, 2018 DeclaraƟon of intent to gather signatures begins 

March 9, 2018 DeclaraƟon of candidacy period begins 

March 15, 2018 (5:00 p.m.) DeclaraƟon of candidacy period ends; declaraƟon of intent to gather signatures period ends 

2 weeks before convenƟon Candidate peƟƟon signatures must be submiƩed 

7 days before convenƟon Financial disclosure report due (except for unaffiliated candidates) 

1 day before convenƟon Signature gathering candidates are cerƟfied for the primary elecƟon ballot 

Late March ‐ Late April PoliƟcal parƟes hold nominaƟng convenƟons 

May 11, 2018 Primary ElecƟon ballots are sent to military and out‐of‐country voters 

May 29, 2018 Last day a voter can register to vote for the Primary ElecƟon by mailing a registraƟon form 

June 5, 2018 Primary ElecƟon mail ballots are sent to voters 

June 12, 2018 Primary ElecƟon in‐person early voƟng begins 

June 19, 2018 
Financial disclosure report due & last day a voter can register to vote for the Primary ElecƟon online or at the 

county clerk’s office 

June 19, 2018 Last day a voter may request a mail ballot for the Primary ElecƟon 

June 22, 2018 (5:00 p.m.) Primary ElecƟon in‐person early voƟng ends (a county may extend early voƟng unƟl June 25th) 

June 26, 2018 PRIMARY ELECTION DAY 

July 10, 2018 Final Primary ElecƟon results are cerƟfied by the county clerks 

September 21, 2018 General ElecƟon ballots are sent to military and out‐of‐country voters 

October 1, 2018 Financial disclosure report due 

October 9, 2018 Last day a voter can register to vote for the General ElecƟon by mailing a registraƟon form 

October 16, 2018 General ElecƟon mail ballots are sent to voters 

October 23, 2018 General ElecƟon in‐person early voƟng begins 

October 30, 2018 
Financial disclosure report due & last day a voter can register to vote for the General ElecƟon online or at the 

county clerk’s office 

October 30, 2018 Last day a voter may request a mail ballot for the General ElecƟon 

November 2, 2018 (5:00 p.m.) General ElecƟon in‐person early voƟng ends (a county may extend early voƟng unƟl November 5th) 

November 6, 2018 GENERAL ELECTION DAY 

November 20, 2018 Final General ElecƟon results are cerƟfied by the county clerks 

March 26, 2018 Financial disclosure report due for unaffiliated legislaƟve candidates 

May 15, 2018 Financial disclosure report due for state board of educaƟon candidates 

November 26, 2018 Federal and mulƟ‐county candidates are cerƟfied by the State Board of Canvassers 
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County Clerk Contact Information 

Beaver 
Clerk/Auditor: Ginger McMullin 
gingermcmullin@beaver.utah.gov 
P.O. Box 392 
Beaver, UT 84713 
Phone: 435-438-6463 
Fax: 435-438-6462 

  
Garfield 
Clerk/Auditor: Camille Moore 
gcclerk@mountainwest.net 
55 S Main 
Panguitch, UT 84759 
Phone: 435-676-8826 
Fax: 435-676-8239 

  
Rich 
Clerk/Auditor: Becky Peart 
bpeart@richcountyut.org 
20 South Main, P.O. Box 218 
Randolph, UT 84064 
Phone: 435-793-2415 
Fax: 435-793-2410 

  
Utah 
Clerk/Auditor: Bryan Thompson 
bryant@utahcounty.gov 
100 E. Center, Room 3100 
Provo, UT 84606 
Phone: 801-851-8128 
Fax: 801-370-8122 

Box Elder 
Clerk: Marla Young 
myoung@boxeldercounty.org 
01 S. Main St. 
Brigham City, UT 84302 
Phone: 435-734-3355 
Fax: 435-723-7562 

Grand 
Clerk/Auditor: Diana Carroll 
dcarroll@grand.utah.gov 
125 E. Center 
Moab, UT 84532 
Phone: 435-259-1321 
Fax: 435-259-2959 

Salt Lake 
Clerk: Sherrie Swensen 
sswensen@slco.org 
2001 South State Street 
#S1100 
Salt Lake City, UT 84190 
Phone: 385-468-7400 
Fax: 385-468-7401 

Wasatch 
Clerk/Auditor: Brent Titcomb 
btitcomb@wasatch.utah.gov 
25 North Main 
Heber City, UT 84032 
Phone: 435-654-3211 
Fax: 435-654-0834 

Cache 
Clerk: Jill Zollinger 
jill.zollinger@cachecounty.org 
179 North Main Street 
Suite 102 
Logan, UT 84321 
Phone: 435-755-1460 
Fax: 435-755-1980 

Iron 
Clerk: Jon Whittaker 
jwhittaker@ironcounty.net 
P.O. Box 429 
Parowan, UT 84761 
Phone: 435-477-8340 
Fax: 435-477-8847 

San Juan 
Clerk/Auditor: John-David 
Nielson 
jdnielson@sanjuancounty.org 
P.O. Box 338 
Monticello, UT 84535 
Phone: 435-587-3223 
Fax: 435-587-2425 

Washington 
Clerk/Auditor: Kim Hafen 
kim.hafen@washco.utah.gov 
197 East Tabernacle 
St. George, UT 84770 
Phone:435-634-5712 
Fax: 435-634-5763 

Carbon 
Clerk/Auditor: Seth Oveson 
seth.oveson@carbon.utah.gov 
751 East 100 North, Ste. 1100 
Price, UT 84501 
Phone: 435-636-3224 
Fax: 435-636-3210 

Juab 
Clerk/Auditor: Alaina Lofgran 
alainal@juabcounty.com 
160 North Main 
Nephi, UT 84648 
Phone: 435-623-3410 
Fax: 435-623-5936 

Sanpete 
Clerk: Sandy Neill 
sneill@sanpetecountyutah.org 
160 North Main, Ste. 202 
Manti, UT 84642 
Phone: 435-835-2131 
Fax: 435-835-2144 

Wayne 
Clerk: Ryan Torgerson 
ryan@wayne.utah.gov 
P.O. Box 189 
Loa, UT 84747 
Phone: 435-836-1300 
Fax: 435-836-2479 

Daggett 
Clerk/Treasurer: Brian Raymond 
braymond@daggettcounty.org 
P.O. Box 400 
Manila, UT 84046 
Phone: 435-784-3154 
Fax: 435-784-3335 

Kane 
Clerk/Auditor: Karla Johnson 
clerkkj@kanab.net 
76 N. Main St. 
Kanab, UT 84741 
Phone: 435-644-2458 
Fax: 435-644-4939 

Sevier 
Clerk/Auditor: Steven Wall 
scwall@sevier.utah.gov 
P.O. Box 607 
Richfield, UT 84701 
Phone: 435-893-0401 
Fax: 435-893-0496 

Weber 
Clerk/Auditor: Ricky Hatch 
rhatch@co.weber.ut.us 
2380 Washington Blvd., #320 
Ogden, UT 84401 
Phone: 801-399-8400 
Fax: 801-399-8300 

Davis 
Clerk/Auditor: Curtis Koch 
ckoch@co.davis.ut.us 
61 South Main 
Farmington, UT 84025 
Phone: 801-451-3324 
Fax: 801-451-3421 

Millard 
Clerk: Marki Rowley 
mrowley@co.millard.ut.us 
765 S. Highway 99, Ste. 6 
Fillmore, UT 84631 
Phone: 435-743-6223 
Fax: 435-743-6923 

Summit 
Clerk: Kent Jones 
kentjones@summitcounty.org 
60 N Main, P.O. Box 128 
Coalville, UT 84017 
Phone: 435-336-3204 
Fax: 435-336-3030 

  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  
  

Duchesne 
Clerk/Auditor: Joann Evans 
jevans@duchesne.utah.gov 
P.O. Box 270 
Duchesne, UT 84021 
Phone: 435-738-1228 
Fax: 435-738-552 
  
 
Emery 
Clerk/Auditor: Brenda Tuttle 
brenda@co.emery.ut.us 
P.O. Box 907 
Castle Dale, UT 84513 
Phone: 435-381-3550 
Fax: 435-381-5183 

Morgan 
Clerk/Auditor: Stacy Netz 
Clark 
sclark@morgan-county.net 
P.O. Box 886 
Morgan, UT 84050 
Phone: 801-845-4011 
Fax: 801-829-6176 
  
Piute 
Clerk/Auditor: Kali Gleave 
kgleave@piute.utah.gov 
P.O. Box 99 
Junction, UT 84740 
Phone: 435-577-2840 
Fax: 435-577-2433 

Tooele 
Clerk/Auditor: Marilyn Gillette 
mgillette@tooeleco.org 
47 S. Main 
Tooele, UT 84074 
Phone: 435-843-3140 
Fax: 435-882-7317 
  
 
Uintah 
Clerk/Auditor: Michael Wilkins 
mwilkins@co.uintah.ut.us 
147 East Main 
Vernal, UT 84078 
Phone: 435-781-5361 
Fax: 435-781-6701 
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