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Getting Started

Disclaimer

This manual is not a substitute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be a comprehensive or an
authoritative statement of law. For further legal information, please consult Utah State Code or other
appropriate legal resources. If any inconsistency exists between this publication and statute, the statutory
language governs.

The contents of this manual are subject to change by legislative or judicial action. The contents of this manual
are also for the exclusive use of U.S. House of Representative candidates for the 2017 Third Congressional
District Special Election. All instructions for partisan candidates within this guide are for Qualified Political
Party (QPP) candidates.

About this manual & additional assistance

Congratulations on deciding to run for political office in Utah! Running for office is exhilarating, but the
requirements can also be complicated and difficult to navigate — particularly if you are new to the process.

This manual is designed to help you adhere to all campaign laws and complete the required steps in order to
become an official candidate. If this manual does not answer all of your questions, please use the resources
below:

Utah Lieutenant Governor’s Office

(801) 538-1041 Utah State Capitol
350 North State Street, Suite 220
PO Box 142325

E vote.utah.gov & elections.utah.gov Salt Lake City, UT 84114

@ elections@utah.gov

County Clerk’s Office (page 22)
Utah State Constitution & Code (le.utah.gov)

Utah Political Parties:

Constitution Party (constitutionpartyofutah.com) (435-822-5630)

Democratic Party (utahdemocrats.org) (801-328-1212)

Independent American Party (utahiap.org)
Libertarian Party (lputah.org) (801-742-1163)
Republican Party (utah.gop) (801-533-9777)


https://vote.utah.gov/vote/menu/index
https://elections.utah.gov/
https://le.utah.gov/
http://www.constitutionpartyofutah.com/
http://utahdemocrats.org/
http://www.utahiap.org/
http://www.libertarianutah.org/
http://utah.gop/

Qualifications for office

All U.S. House of Representative candidates must meet the following qualifications:

e U.S. Citizen for 7 years;

e Resident of Utah when elected; and

e At least 25 years old at the time the oath of office is taken.

If you indicate that you do not meet these qualifications, the filing officer cannot accept your declaration of
candidacy.

Selecting your path to become a candidate

You have several paths from which to select to become a candidate. If you want to be a partisan (political
party) candidate, you have 3 options:

1. Participate in your political party’s convention system.

2. Gather signatures from voters.

3. Participate in your political party’s convention system and gather signatures from voters.

If you prefer not to be a partisan candidate, you can be an unaffiliated or write-in candidate. An unaffiliated
candidate’s name appears on the ballot without any party affiliation, but a write-in candidate’s name does
not appear on the ballot. Below is a simple chart that illustrates the basic requirements for each path.

Non-Partisan Candidates
A

Partisan Candidates
A

Write-in
Candidates

Gathering Unaffiliated

Convention & Gathering

Convention Path
(Pages 5-6)

Signatures Path

Signatures Path Candidates

(Pages 7-11)

(Pages 5-11)

(Pages 12-15)

(Page 16)

1
2.

Declare candidacy

Participate in your
party’s convention

File intent to
gather signatures
and declare
candidacy

Gather signatures

Submit signatures
to Lt. Governor’s
Office for
verification

Declare intent to
gather signatures
and candidacy

Gather signatures

Submit signatures
for verification

Attend convention

Gather signatures

Submit signatures
to county clerk(s)
for verification

Submit the
verified signatures
and declare
candidacy with
the Lt. Governor’s
Office

1. Declare candidacy

(If you’re reading this online, click anywhere on a section above to jump to the requirements)




Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

The convention system is one path partisan candidates can take to get their name on the primary election
ballot. If you select this path, you must complete 2 steps:

e Step 1: Declare candidacy between 1:00 p.m. on May 19, 2017 and 5:00 p.m. on May 26, 2017.

e Step 2: Participate in your party’s convention.

Step 1: Declare candidacy

All candidates must declare candidacy with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. If you choose to gather
signatures in addition to participating in your party’s convention, you do not need to declare candidacy twice.

When do | declare
candidacy?

Where do | declare
candidacy?

What paperwork do
| need to submit?

What fees do |
need to pay?

What if | can’t declare
candidacy in person?

You must declare candidacy between 1:00 p.m. on May 19, 2017 and 5:00 p.m. on
May 26, 2017. Late declarations cannot be accepted.

You must declare candidacy in-person at the Lieutenant Governor’s Office located
in the Utah State Capitol, Suite 220.

Submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. After you declare candidacy,
your declaration form will be posted on elections.utah.gov.

e Declaration of Candidacy Form (page 23). This requires your name, contact
information, party, and an indication whether you will go through
convention, gather signatures, or both. You will be required to write your
name exactly as you would like it printed on the ballot. You may also
provide your campaign’s email address, website, and Twitter handle.

e Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (page 30). This is an optional pledge to
conduct your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

You must pay a $285.63 filing fee to declare candidacy. If you are unable to pay due
to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit of impecuniosity. The filing officer
may ask you to provide evidence of your inability to pay and then determine
whether the fee will be waived.

Utah law specifies that you must declare your candidacy in person; however, it
does allow you to designate another person to file on your behalf if you are located
outside Utah during the entire declaration period due to:


https://elections.utah.gov/

e Employment with the State of Utah or the United States, or

e Active duty status with the military, National Guard, the Merchant Marine,
the commission corps of the Public Health Service, or the commissioned
corps of the NOAA.

If you meet these requirements, you must use an electronic device that allows you
and the filing officer to hear and see each other (e.g., Skype, Facetime) when you

declare candidacy.

Step 2: Participate in your party’s convention

When will the Conventions can be held between May 27, 2017 and 12:00 p.m. on June 19, 2017.

convention be held? Contact your political party (refer to page 3) to determine the exact date of the
convention.

Are there other Your party’s constitution or bylaws may require you to perform additional steps to

requirements? qualify for the convention. You should contact your party (refer to page 3) to
determine if any additional steps exist.



Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Gathering voters’ signatures is one path partisan candidates can take to get their name on the primary
election ballot. Candidates must gather 7,000 signatures from registered voters residing in the 3rd
Congressional District. If you select this path, you must complete 3 steps:

o Step 1: File intent to gather signatures and declaration of candidacy between 1:00 p.m. on May 19,
2017 and 5:00 p.m. on May 26, 2017.

e Step 2: Gather signatures.

¢ Step 3: Submit signatures to the Lt. Governor’s Office for verification by 12:00 p.m. on June 12, 2017.

Step 1: File intent to gather signatures and declaration of candidacy

When do | file?

Where do | file?

What paperwork do
| need to submit?

What fees do |
need to pay?

What if | can’t declare
candidacy in person?

You must file your intent to gather signatures and declaration of candidacy
between 1:00 p.m. on May 19, 2017 and 5:00 p.m. on May 26, 2017. Late
submissions cannot be accepted.

You must file in-person at the Lieutenant Governor’s Office located in the Utah
State Capitol, Suite 220.

Submit the forms listed below to file your intent to gather signatures and declare
candidacy. All of your forms will be posted on elections.utah.gov.

e Declaration of Candidacy Form (page 23). This requires your name, contact
information, party, and an indication whether you will go through
convention, gather signatures, or both. You will be required to write your
name exactly as you would like it printed on the ballot. You may also
provide your campaign’s email address, website, and Twitter handle.

e Intent to Gather Signatures Form (page 25).

e Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (page 30). This is an optional pledge to
conduct your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

You must pay a $285.63 filing fee to declare candidacy. If you are unable to pay due
to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit of impecuniosity. The filing officer
may ask you to provide evidence of your inability to pay and then determine
whether the fee will be waived. There is no additional fee to file an intent to gather

signatures.

Utah law specifies that you must declare your candidacy in person; however, it
does allow you to designate another person to file on your behalf if you are located
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outside Utah during the entire declaration period due to:
e Employment with the State of Utah or the United States, or

e Active duty status with the military, National Guard, the Merchant Marine,
the commission corps of the Public Health Service, or the commissioned
corps of the NOAA.

If you meet these requirements, you must use an electronic device that allows you
and the filing officer to hear and see each other (e.g., Skype, Facetime) when you
declare candidacy.

Step 2: Gather signatures

You may begin gathering signatures after you file your declaration of intent to gather signatures. The first
thing to do is compile your petition packets.

Who can sign my
petitions?

How do | obtain the

petition materials?

Barcodes on petition

materials

Printing, binding,
& arranging petition
packets

All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their signature to be
considered valid:

e Registered to vote in Utah and live in the 3rd Congressional District (or will
be registered before the signature is verified by the Lt. Governor’s Office).

¢ Allowed to vote in your party’s primary election.

e Did not sign a petition for another candidate running for the same office.

Utah law prohibits voters from signing a petition for more than one candidate per
office. If a voter signs two separate candidate petitions for the same office, the
candidate who submits the signature first will receive credit for the signature.

After you file your intent to gather signatures, the Lt. Governor’s Office will provide
you with instructions and documents to compile your petition packets. Please note
that these petition materials differ from those of unaffiliated candidate petitions.
Do not use unaffiliated candidate petitions.

You will notice there is a barcode on your petition packet materials. These unique
barcodes are linked to you, so do not use or share petition materials with other
campaigns or candidates.

You are responsible for printing and binding your petition packets. They must be
bound across the top in at least 3 places using either staples or spiral binding.
Packets must be bound before they are circulated, and they cannot be taken apart
or rearranged once they are bound. Your packets will be rejected if you do so.



Who can circulate
petitions?

Responsibilities of

petition circulators

Paid signature
gatherers

Registering petition

signers to vote

Petition packets must include 3 sheets and be arranged in the order below:

1. Cover Sheet (1 copy per petition packet)
2. Signature Sheet (up to 50 copies per petition packet)
3. Verification Sheet (1 copy per petition packet)

Any resident of Utah who is over 18 years of age may circulate a petition. They do
not need to be registered to vote; however, the Lt. Governor’s Office can better
verify the circulator’s age if they are registered to vote. If a circulator does not
meet this requirement, the signatures they gathered are not valid.

Circulators must complete and sign the verification sheet of every petition packet
they use to gather signatures. Circulators cannot sign the signature sheets of any
petitions they circulate—they must sign a petition packet of another circulator if

they wish to sign the petition.

Each petition packet must be used by only one circulator. If you have multiple
circulators, they will each need one packet.

Petition circulators should receive permission from the appropriate entity or owner
if they want to gather signatures in private and public areas.

You can pay circulators to gather signatures. If you choose to do so, keep these
rules in mind:

e Gatherers cannot be paid based on the total number of signatures they
collect.

e Gatherers can be paid based on the total number of valid signatures they
collect, an hourly rate, or any other legal method of payment.

e Using companies that offer signature collection services is allowed, but they
must follow all applicable state laws.

If an individual wishes to sign your petition but is not registered to vote or is not
affiliated with your party, you may provide them with a registration form. Please
ensure that the completed registration form is submitted to the appropriate county
clerk before you submit the individual’s petition signature. County clerks cannot
guarantee that a registration form will be processed prior to the petition signature.



Step 3: Submit petition signatures for review

When do | submit
petition signatures?

Where do | submit
petition signatures?

How do | submit

petition signatures?

Can | supplement my

petition signatures?

How will petition
signatures be
verified?

You must submit petition signatures no later than 12:00 p.m. on June 12, 2017.

Late submissions cannot be accepted.

You must also obtain the required number of signatures before you submit them
for verification. You cannot submit any petition signatures until you have collected

at least 7,000 signatures.

You are encouraged to submit your petition signatures earlier than the deadline.
This will allow you to gather and submit more signatures if you fail to reach the
required number of valid signatures with your first submission.

You must submit signatures to the Lt. Governor’s Office, located in the Utah State
Capitol, Suite 220.

You or a designated agent must submit your petition signatures in person and
complete a petition submission form that includes the following information:

e Name and contact information.

o Estimated number of petition packets being submitted.
e Estimated number of signatures being submitted.

e You or your designated agent’s signature.

After you submit this form and your petitions, the election official will provide a
copy of the form. Keep this copy for your records.

Yes. You may submit additional petition signatures if it is before the deadline and
you have not yet obtained the required number of signatures. The process and
requirements to submit supplemental signatures is identical to those of your first

submission.

The Lt. Governor’s Office will verify that each signer in your petition is qualified to
sign. The Lt. Governor’s Office will also verify petitions in the order in which they
are received. If your opponent submits their petition before you, election officials
will verify your opponent’s entire petition before yours. Note that a submission of
supplemental signatures will be considered a new submission and will take its place
at the bottom of the verification order.

Voters may only sign for one candidate per office. If a voter signs two separate
candidate petitions for the same office, the candidate who submits the signature

first will receive credit for the signature.



When will petition
signatures be
verified?

How will | know if |
meet the signature

requirement?

The Lt. Governor’s Office will verify your petition signatures until you meet the
signature requirement.

The time required to verify your petition signatures will depend on the size of your
petition and the number of petitions submitted before yours. Avoid submitting
your petition near the deadline, as the number of submissions is expected to
increase during that period of time.

Regardless of your petition size and submission date, election officials will complete
the verification of your petition by June 16, 2017.

Once your petition signatures are verified, the Lt. Governor’s Office will notify you
within 1 business day or by June 16, 2017, whichever is earliest. If the signature
verification process is still underway, you can check on your petition’s status on the
Lieutenant Governor’s website, elections.utah.gov.
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Unaffiliated Candidates

If you prefer not to participate in the political party process, you can be an unaffiliated candidate. As an
unaffiliated candidate, you are entitled to all the rights and subject to all the penalties of political party
candidates. You will have your name printed on the ballot, but your name will be accompanied with a short
explanation that you are not affiliated with a political party. Follow the 3 steps below to become an
unaffiliated candidate:

e Step 1: Gather signatures.
e Step 2: Submit signatures to county clerk(s) for verification.

o Step 3: Submit the verified signatures and declare candidacy with the Lt. Governor’s Office by 12:00
p.m.onJune 12, 2017.

Step 1: Gather signatures

How many signatures Candidates must gather at least 300 valid signatures from registered voters.
do | need to gather?

Who can sign my All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their signature to be
petition? considered valid:

e Registered to vote in Utah and lives in the 3rd Congressional District (or will
be registered before the signature is verified by the Lt. Governor’s Office).

e Did not sign a petition for another unaffiliated candidate running for the

same office
Where can | obtain Contact the Lt. Governor’s Office (page 3) to obtain unaffiliated petition packet
petition templates? templates.
Printing, binding, You are responsible for printing and binding your petition packets. They must be

bound across the top in at least 3 places using either staples or spiral binding.

& arranging petition
Packets must be bound before they are circulated, and they cannot be taken apart

packets
Petition packets must include 2 sheets and be arranged in the order below:
1. Signature Sheets (up to 50 copies per petition packet)
2. Verification Sheet (1 copy per petition packet)
Who can circulate Any resident of Utah who is over 18 years of age may circulate a petition. They do
petitions? not need to be registered to vote; however, the Lt. Governor’s office can better

verify the circulator’s age if they are registered to vote. If a circulator does not
meet this requirement, the signatures they gathered are not valid.
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Responsibilities of
petition circulators

Paid signature
gatherers

Registering petition

signers to vote

Circulators must complete and sign the verification sheet of every petition packet
they use to gather signatures. Circulators cannot sign the signature sheets of any
petitions they circulate—they must sign a petition packet of another circulator if

they wish to sign the petition.

Each petition packet must be used by only one circulator. If you have multiple
circulators, they will each need one packet.

Petition circulators should receive permission from the appropriate entity or owner
if they want to gather signatures in private and public areas.

You can pay circulators to gather signatures. If you choose to do so, keep these
rules in mind:

e Gatherers cannot be paid based on the total number of signatures they
collect.

e Gatherers can be paid based on the total number of valid signatures they
collect, an hourly rate, or any other legal method of payment.

¢ Using companies that offer signature collection services is allowed, but they
must follow all applicable state laws.

If an individual wishes to sign your petition but is not registered to vote, you may
provide them with a registration form. Please ensure that the completed
registration form is submitted to the appropriate county clerk before you submit
the individual’s petition signature. County clerks cannot guarantee that a
registration form will be processed prior to the petition signature.

Step 2: Submit signatures to county clerk(s) for verification

Once you gather the required number of signatures, you must get the signatures verified by the county clerk.
This must be done before you declare candidacy by 12:00 p.m. on June 12, 2017.

Where do | submit
petition signatures
for verification?

When do | submit
signatures for
verification?

Signatures must be verified by a county clerk. If you obtain signatures within
multiple counties, you must submit signatures to the appropriate county clerk (e.g.,
signatures from Utah County voters go to the Utah County Clerk). It is advised that
you circulate each petition or petition packet within one county so you can easily
determine which signatures go to a particular county clerk.

The petition signatures must be verified before you declare candidacy between
1:00 p.m. on May 19, 2017 and 12:00 p.m. on June 12, 2017. Verification could take
several days. It is highly advised that you coordinate with the appropriate county
clerks to ensure that they have enough time to verify the signatures. Refer to page
22 for county clerk contact information.



Can | supplement my | Yes. You may submit additional petition signatures before the deadline. Again,
petition signatures? please coordinate with the county clerks to ensure that there is enough time to
verify supplemental signatures.

Step 3: Submit the verified signatures & declare candidacy

After your petition signatures are verified, you must submit the verified signatures and declare candidacy
with the Lt. Governor’s Office.

When do | submit You must do this between 1:00 p.m. on May 19, 2017 and 12:00 p.m. on June 12,
verified signatures & 2017. Late submissions cannot be accepted.
declare candidacy?

Where do | submit You must submit the verified petition signatures and file your declaration of
verified signatures & candidacy in-person at the Lieutenant Governor’s Office located in the Utah State
declare candidacy? Capitol, Suite 220.

What paperwork do | | Submit the following items and forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your
need to submit? forms, with the exception of the petition, will be posted on elections.utah.gov.

o Verified petition and certificate of nomination (page 26). The certificate of
nomination requires your name as you would like it printed on the ballot
and your contact information.

e Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (page 30). This is an optional pledge to
conduct your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

What fees do | You must pay a $285.63 filing fee to declare candidacy. If you are unable to pay due
need to pay? to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit of impecuniosity. The filing officer
may ask you to provide evidence of your inability to pay and then determine
whether the fee will be waived.

What if | can’t declare | Utah law specifies that you must declare your candidacy in person; however, it
candidacy in person? does allow you to designate another person to file on your behalf if you are located
outside Utah during the entire declaration period due to:

e Employment with the State of Utah or the United States, or

e Active duty status with the military, National Guard, the Merchant Marine,
the commission corps of the Public Health Service, or the commissioned
corps of the NOAA.

If you meet these requirements, you must use an electronic device that allows you
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and the filing officer to hear and see each other (e.g., Skype, Facetime) when you
declare candidacy.



Write-in Candidates

As a write-in candidate, your name does not appear on the ballot. Voters must write or type your name on
the write-in line for a vote to count. The process to become a write-in candidate is simple: you must declare
candidacy with the Lt. Governor’s Office.

When do | declare
candidacy?

Where do | declare
candidacy?

How do | declare
candidacy?

Do | need to pay any
fees?

The deadline to declare write-in candidacy is 5:00 p.m. on September 8, 2017. Late
declarations cannot be accepted.

You must file your declaration of candidacy in-person at the Lieutenant Governor’s
Office located in the Utah State Capitol, Suite 220.

Submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will provide
these forms when you declare. After you declare candidacy, your declaration forms

will be posted on elections.utah.gov.

e Declaration of Candidacy Form (page 28). This requires your name and
certain contact information. You may also provide your campaign’s email
address, website, and Twitter handle.

e Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (page 30). This is an optional pledge to
conduct your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

Write-in candidates do not need to pay a fee to declare candidacy.
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Other Useful Information

e How to submit your candidate profile & biography.

e Campaign regulations (page 18).
e Important election dates (page 21).

e County clerk contact information (page 22).

How to submit your candidate profile & biography

As a candidate you have the opportunity to submit a candidate profile, or biography, and have it displayed on
the state’s voter information website, vote.utah.gov. This website is used by hundreds of thousands of voters
every election to research candidates and locate their voting information.

Submission Deadline Password
Primary Election July 3, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. VOTEAUGUST2017
General Election September 8, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. VOTENOVEMBER2017

What is included in e Photograph

the profile? e 200 word statement

e Certain biographical information
e Campaign website

How do | submit my 1. Go tovote.utah.gov

profile? 2. Under the heading, “Candidates & Parties,” select “Enter Candidate Profile.”

3. Enter the password VOTEAUGUST2017 for the Primary Election or
VOTENOVEMBER2017 for the General Election.

4. Select your name in the drop down menu, enter your biographical information,
upload a small photograph (less than 1MB in size), and type your 200 word
statement. We recommend saving your 200 word statement in a separate
document in case of an error.

5. Click “Submit for Approval.”

6. You will receive an email that contains a link to edit your profile. This link is the
only way you can edit your previous profile.

When is the profile Profiles are available for both the Primary and General Elections. Profiles will be
available to the publicly posted on the website approximately 30 days before the Election.

public?

When do | need to You must submit your profile by 5:00 p.m. on July 3, 2017 for the Primary Election
submit my profile? and by 5:00 p.m. on September 8, 2017 for the General Election.
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Campaign Regulations

Utah law prohibits certain activities related to campaigning. Familiarize yourself with these laws to avoid
possible legal issues, fines, and penalties. The laws listed below are some of the most common issues that
arise during the campaign season, but this list is not all-inclusive. Refer to Title 20A of the Utah State Code for
more information. To determine whether there are additional regulations for federal candidates, you should
consult the appropriate federal agency.

Advertisements If your campaign pays for any type of advertisement (e.g., mailers, TV, radio,
newspaper, billboard, etc.), the advertisement must clearly state that your
campaign authorized and paid for the advertisement.

If your campaign does not pay for an advertisement, but it is approved by your
campaign, the advertisement must clearly state who paid for the advertisement
and that your campaign authorized it.

However, this requirement does not apply to certain campaign items such as:

¢ Lawn signs smaller than 4ft. by 8ft. in size;

e Bumper stickers;

e Campaign buttons, stickers, and pens; and

¢ Items that are too small to conveniently print the disclaimer.

Bribery Any type of bribery is strictly prohibited by law. You cannot:

e Offer or promise an individual money, prizes, benefits, or employment to
vote, refrain from voting, remain away from the polls, or receive political
support.

e Offer or promise anything to other candidates to drop out of the race, stay
in the race, or perform any other action.

e Pay for endorsements.

A person convicted of these offenses is guilty of a third degree felony.

Campaigning near a When voting is taking place at a polling location, you are not allowed to campaign
polling location or electioneer on public property within 150 feet of the building. This includes
wearing campaign or campaign-related shirts and buttons or displaying signs or
bumper stickers. You also cannot interfere with voters or the administration of the
polling place.

Campaign signs State election law does not prohibit you from placing campaign signs on public
property, but a public entity may prohibit it. Ask the appropriate public entity
whether you may place signs on public property. If a public entity allows campaign
signs on public property, all candidates must be allowed to place signs.

If you have permission from the property owner, you are allowed to place
campaign signs on private property. Property owners can remove your signs
without your consent and are not obligated to return the signs to you.



https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20a/20a.html

Campaign signs on
public roadways

Names on the ballot

Poll watchers

Using public email for
political purposes

You are not allowed to move, remove, tamper, or vandalize any campaign signs
unless the sign is your own. It is a class B misdemeanor to do so.

State and federal law prohibit campaign signs within state rights-of-way (Utah Code
Section 72-7-102). This includes all state highways, medians, road shoulders, sound
walls, on-ramps, off-ramps, overpasses, and adjoining fence lines. Candidates are
encouraged to place signs on private property with the consent of the property
owner. The only restriction for signs on private property is that they must not block
the view of oncoming traffic.

If a campaign sign is placed within the state rights-of-way or poses a traffic hazard,
it may be removed. Signs that have been removed will be stored by UDOT, and the
sign owner may retrieve the signs for future use.

A local government may allow campaign signs in its own rights-of-way. Please
contact your local government for more information; regulations and restrictions
vary among cities and counties.

For more information about state sign regulations please email
OutdoorAdvertisingControl@udot.gov, or call (801) 965-4209.

The order of candidates’ names on the ballot is established by a random
alphabet—the master ballot position list. The list is posted on elections.utah.gov.

Poll watchers are not required, but you may designate up to three different types
of poll watchers:

e Voting poll watcher. This individual observes voters casting their vote at a
polling location.

e Securing of ballots watcher. This individual observes election officials
securing the ballots.

e Counting watcher. This individual observes election officials as they tally the
votes.

To designate a watcher, simply create and sign an affidavit that states that a
particular individual will serve as a watcher on your behalf.

Watchers are there to observe these processes. They are not there to interfere.
Watchers may make written memos, but they cannot communicate the progress of
the voting or counting in any way. Doing so will result in a third degree felony.

Counties may make other rules regarding poll watching. Watchers may be required
to surrender their cell phone or remain in a certain area of the room.

If you are a current office holder or work in the public sector (including public
education), you cannot use your public entity email address for political or
campaign-related purposes. The fine for the first offense is $250. Fines for
subsequent offenses are $1,000 and over.


https://elections.utah.gov/
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title72/Chapter7/72-7-S102.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title72/Chapter7/72-7-S102.html

Withdrawing your You may withdraw your candidacy or your declaration of intent to gather
candidacy or intent signatures by submitting a written affidavit to your filing officer. If you withdraw
your intent to gather signatures, any signatures you submitted prior to withdrawal

to gather signatures i o
will not be verified.



Important Election Dates

Below is a calendar of important dates for the election. Note that not all election related dates and deadlines
are represented in this calendar.

Date Event

May 19, 2017 (1:00 p.m.) Declaration of candidacy and intent to gather signatures period begins.

May 26, 2017 (5:00 p.m.) Declaration of candidacy and intent to gather signatures period ends for partisan candidates.
May 27, 2017 First day a political party may hold a nominating convention.

June 12, 2017 (12:00 p.m.) Deadline for partisan signature-gathering candidates to submit petition signatures for verification.
June 12, 2017 (12:00 p.m.) Deadline for unaffiliated candidates to submit verified petition signatures and declare candidacy.
June 16, 2017 Lt. Governor’s Office certifies signature-gathering candidates who have qualified for the ballot.
June 19, 2017 (12:00 p.m.) Political parties must certify the candidates nominated at convention to the Lt. Governor’s Office.
June 19, 2017 Lt. Governor’s office issues a preliminary Special Primary Election ballot certification.

June 30, 2017 Vacancy.

June 30, 2017 Lt. Governor issues the Special Primary Election ballot certification.

June 30, 2017 Primary Election Ballots are sent to military and overseas voters.

July 3, 2017 Deadline to submit Primary Election candidate profile to vote.utah.gov.

July 17, 2017 Voter registration deadline (via mail).

July 25, 2017 All mail and absentee ballots are sent to voters.

August 1, 2017 In-person early voting begins.

August 8, 2017 Voter registration deadline (via in-person or online)

August 10, 2017 Absentee ballot request deadline.

August 11, 2017 In-person early voting ends (unless extended by election official).

August 15, 2017 Special and Municipal Primary Election.

August 22—29, 2017 County canvassing period.

August 31, 2017 Lt. Governor canvasses Special Primary Election and certifies Special General Election ballot.
September 8, 2017 (5:00 p.m.) Deadline for write-in candidates to declare candidacy.

September 8, 2017 Deadline to submit General Election candidate profile to vote.utah.gov.

September 22, 2017 General Election Ballots are sent to military and overseas voters.

October 10, 2017 Voter registration deadline (via mail).

October 17, 2017 All mail and absentee ballots are sent to voters.

October 24, 2017 In-person early voting begins.

October 31, 2017 Voter registration deadline (via in-person or online)

November 2, 2017 Absentee ballot request deadline.

November 3, 2017 In-person early voting ends (unless extended by election official).

November 7, 2017 Special and Municipal General Election.

November 14—22, 2017 County canvassing period.

November 28, 2017 State Board of Canvassers canvass Special General Election results.




County Clerk Contact Information

Carbon County

Clerk/Auditor: Seth Oveson
seth.oveson@carbon.utah.gov
751 East 100 North, Ste. 1100
Price, UT 84501

Phone: 435-636-3224

Fax: 435-636-3210

San Juan County

Clerk/Auditor: John-David Nielson
jdnielson@sanjuancounty.org
P.O. Box 338

Monticello, UT 84535

Phone: 435-587-3223

Fax: 435-587-2425

Emery County
Clerk/Auditor: Brenda Tuttle
brenda@co.emery.ut.us
P.0O. Box 907

Castle Dale, UT 84513
Phone: 435-381-3550

Fax: 435-381-5183

Utah County

Clerk/Auditor: Bryan Thompson
bryant@utahcounty.gov

100 E. Center, Room 3100
Provo, UT 84606

Phone: 801-851-8128

Fax: 801-370-8122

Grand County
Clerk/Auditor: Diana Carroll
dcarroll@grand.utah.gov
125 E. Center

Moab, UT 84532

Phone: 435-259-1321

Fax: 435-259-2959

Wasatch County
Clerk/Auditor: Brent Titcomb
btitcomb@co.wasatch.ut.us
25 North Main

Heber City, UT 84032

Phone: 435-654-3211

Fax: 435-654-0834

Salt Lake County

Clerk: Sherrie Swensen
sswensen@slco.org
2001 South State Street
#51100

Salt Lake City, UT 84190
Phone: 385-468-7400
Fax: 385-468-7401




2017
UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

DECLARATION OF CANDIDACY

(print name exactly as it is to be printed on the official ballot — no amendments or modifications after May 26, 2017)

for the office of United States Representative for the Third Congressional District.

State of Utah } ss.

County of

I, , declare my intention of becoming
a candidate for the office and district of as a candidate
for the party. I do solemnly swear that: I will meet

the qualifications to hold the office, both legally and constitutionally, if selected;

I reside at _
in the City or Town of , Utah, Zip Code R
Phone No. ; I will not knowingly violate any law governing

campaigns and elections. The mailing address that I designate for receiving official election notices is:

U I am a member of the political party; OR
[ I am not a member of a political party.

I am seeking the nomination using:

[ The convention process described in Utah Code 20A-9-407,

U The signature-gathering process described in Utah Code 20A-9-408;
[ Both the convention process and the signature-gathering process.

Email Address Twitter Handle (optional)

Website (optional)

Signature of Candidate (must be signed in the presence of the filing officer)

Notary Public (or other officer qualified to administer oath)

Subscribed and sworn before me this

(month/day/year)

(Seal) 23 (Date Received)




QUALIFICATIONS FOR CANDIDATE FILING DECLARATION

Please initial:

The filing officer read the constitutional and statutory qualifications as listed below to me, and I meet those
qualifications.

I understand that my name will appear on the ballot as it is printed on this declaration of candidacy, and that I
may not make any amendments or modifications after 5:00 p.m. on May 26, 2017.

I received a copy of Section 20A-7-801 regarding the Statewide Electronic Voter Information Website
Program and its applicable deadline.

I received a copy of the pledge of fair campaign practices, and I understand that signing this pledge is
voluntary.

I provided a valid email, or physical address if no email is available, and I understand this will be used for
official communications and updates from election officials.

Signature of Candidate Date

Signature of Filing Officer Date

QUALIFICATIONS
Before the filing officer accepts any declaration of candidacy, the filing officer shall read to the candidate the
constitutional and statutory requirements for candidacy, and the candidate shall state whether he/she fulfills the
requirements. If the candidate indicates that he/she does not qualify, the filing officer may not accept his/her
declaration of candidacy (Utah Code Section 20A-9-201, 202).

UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE
U.S. Constitution Article 1, Section 3

= U.S. Citizen for 7 years

= Atleast 25 years old at the time the oath of office is taken
= Inhabitant of Utah when elected

= Pay filing fee of $285.63.
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2017 Notice of Intent to Gather Signatures for Candidacy
Third Congressional District

Printed Name (Print name exactly as it is to be printed on the official ballot)

Political Party

U.S. House of Representatives Third
Office District

Physical Address

Mailing Address

Telephone Number

Email Address Twitter Handle (optional)

Please initial:

I understand that the filing officer will not begin verifying my petition signatures until I have submitted a
sufficient number of verifiable signatures to meet the signature threshold.
_ T understand that candidate petition packet submissions are verified in the same order as they are received
by the filing officer.
T have provided a valid email and I understand this will be used for official communications and updates
from election officials. If no email is available I have provided a valid physical address.
T understand this form is not a declaration of candidacy and I must declare candidacy, in-person, with the
appropriate filing officer during the declaration of candidacy period (Between 1:00 p.m. on May 19, 2017 and
5:00 p.m. on May 26, 2017).

Signature of Candidate Date

AM/PM
Signature of Filing Officer Date / Time Submitted
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2017 UNAFFILIATED
UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

CERTIFICATE OF NOMINATION

(print name exactly as it is to be printed on the official ballot — no amendments or modifications after June 12, 2017)
for the office of United States Representative for the Third Congressional District.

State of Utah } ss.
County of

I , declare my intention of
becoming an unaffiliated candidate for the political group designated as
for the office and district
of . I do solemnly
swear that I can qualify to hold that office both legally and constitutionally if selected, and that I
reside at
Street, n the city of , county of
, Utah, Zip Code ,  phone
, and that I am providing, or have provided, the required
number of holographic signatures of registered voters required by law; that as a candidate at the
next election I will not knowingly violate any election or campaign law. The mailing and email
addresses that I designate for receiving official election notices are:

Email Address Twitter Handle (optional)

Website (optional)

Signature of Candidate (must be signed in the presence of the filing officer)

Notary Public (or other officer qualified to administer oaths)

Subscribed and sworn to before me this

(month/day/year)

(Seal) 26 (Date Received)




QUALIFICATIONS FOR CANDIDATE FILING DECLARATION

Please initial:

The filing officer read the constitutional and statutory qualifications as listed below to me, and I meet those
qualifications.

I understand that my name will appear on the ballot as it is printed on this declaration of candidacy, and that I
may not make any amendments or modifications after 12:00 p.m. on June 12, 2017.

I received a copy of Section 20A-7-801 regarding the Statewide Electronic Voter Information Website
Program and its applicable deadline.

I received a copy of the pledge of fair campaign practices, and I understand that signing this pledge is
voluntary.

I provided a valid email, or physical address if no email is available, and I understand this will be used for
official communications and updates from election officials.

Signature of Candidate Date

Signature of Filing Officer Date

QUALIFICATIONS
Before the filing officer accepts any declaration of candidacy, the filing officer shall read to the candidate the
constitutional and statutory requirements for candidacy, and the candidate shall state whether he/she fulfills the
requirements. If the candidate indicates that he/she does not qualify, the filing officer may not accept his/her
declaration of candidacy (Utah Code Section 20A-9-201, 202).

UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE
U.S. Constitution Article 1, Section 3

= U.S. Citizen for 7 years

= At least 25 years old at the time the oath of office is taken
= Inhabitant of Utah when elected

=  Pay filing fee of $285.63
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2017
UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

DECLARATION OF WRITE-IN CANDIDACY
of

for the office of United States Representative for the Third Congressional District.

STATE OF UTAH }
ss

County of

1, , declare my intention of becoming a candidate for the

office of United States Representative for the Third Congressional District. I do solemnly swear
that: I will meet the qualifications to hold the office, both legally and constitutionally, if selected; I
reside at in the City or Town of

, Utah, Zip Code , Phone No.

; I will not knowingly violate any law governing campaigns and

elections. The mailing and email addresses that I designate for receiving official election notices

from election officials are:

Official Mailing Address City/State/Zip Code

Official Email Address Website

Signature of Candidate (Must be signed in the presence of the filing officer)

Subsctibed and sworn to before me this

(month/day/year)

(Officer qualified to administer oaths)

(Seal) 28 (Date Received)




QUALIFICATION FOR CANDIDATE FILING
DECLARATION

(Utah Code Section 20A-9-201)

Please initial:

The filing officer read the constitutional and statutory requirements as listed below to me, and I meet those
qualifications.

I have received a copy of the pledge of fair campaign practices, and I understand that signing this pledge is
voluntary.

I have provided a valid email, or physical address if no email is available, and I understand this will be used for
official communications and updates from election officials.

Signature of Candidate Date
Signature of Filing Officer Date
QUALIFICATIONS

Before the filing officer accepts any declaration of candidacy, the filing officer shall read to the candidate the
constitutional and statutory tequitements for candidacy, and the candidate shall state whether he/she fulfills the
requirements. If the candidate indicates that he/she does not qualify, the filing officet shall decline his/her declaration
of candidacy. (Utah Code Section 20A-9-201, 202)

UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE

U.S. Constitution Article 1, Section 3
= U.S. Citizen for 7 years
= Atleast 25 years old at the time the oath of office is taken;
= Inhabitant of Utah when elected
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PLEDGE OF FAIR CAMPAIGN PRACTICES

(Utah Code §20A-9-206)

",

There are basic principles of decency, honesty, and fair play which every candidate for public office in
the State of Utah has a moral obligation to observe and uphold, in order that, after vigorously contested
but fairly conducted campaigns, our citizens may exercise their right to a free election, and that the will of
the people may be fully and clearly expressed on the issues.

THEREFORE:

I SHALL conduct my campaign openly and publicly, discussing the issues as I see them, presenting
my record and policies with sincerity and frankness, and criticizing, without fear or favor, the record and
policies of my opponents that I believe merit criticism.

I SHALL NOT use, nor shall I permit the use of, scurrilous attacks on any candidate or the candidate's
immediate family. I shall not participate in or nor shall I permit the use of defamation, libel, or slander
against any candidate or the candidate's immediate family. I shall not participate in nor shall I permit the
use of any other criticism of any candidate or the candidate's immediate family that I do not believe to be
truthful, provable, and relevant to my campaign.

I SHALL NOT use, nor shall I permit the use of, any practice that tends to corrupt or undermine our
American system of free elections, or that hinders or prevents the free expression of the will of the voters,
including practices intended to hinder or prevent any eligible person from registering to vote or voting.

I SHALL NOT coerce election help or campaign contributions for myself or for any other candidate
from my employees or volunteers.

| SHALL immediately and publicly repudiate support deriving from any individual or group which
resorts, on behalf of my candidacy or in opposition to that of an opponent, to methods in violation of the
letter or spirit of this pledge. I shall accept responsibility to take firm action against any subordinate who
violates any provision of this pledge or the laws governing elections.

I SHALL defend and uphold the right of every qualified American voter to full and equal participation
in the electoral process.

I, the undersigned, candidate for election to public office in the State of Utah, hereby voluntarily

endorse, subscribe to, and solemnly pledge myself to conduct my campaign in accordance with the above
principles and practices.

Name: Office:

Signature: Date:

*This is a voluntary pledge. Candidates are not required to sign this pledge of fair campaign practices.

*This document is considered a public record and will be retained for public inspection until 30 days following the
election.
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