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STATE OF UTAH

OFFICE OF THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

Gary R. HERBERT
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

September 1%, 2007

TItah Voters:

This November, Utahns have the responsibility to vote on a referendum for the first time since 1974,
This special election provides a unique opportunity for voters to fulfill their civie responsibility. I have
prepared this pamphlet to ﬁd:u you understand the referendum process and the school voucher issue.

As the Chief Election Officer for the State of Utah, I am working hard to make your voting experience
as safe, simple, and secure as possible. If you have any questions wou can visit my website
http:/fwuny. LeaveYourPrint.com, call my office at 1.800.995. VOTE (8683) or contact me via e-mail
at gherbert@utah. gov.

On our website, we answer many frequently asked questions, including:
o Where do I vote?

How do I register to vote?

When is the election?

‘What type of voting equipment will be used?

How do I vote early?

Where can I learn more about the school voucher issue?

a & @ @8 @

Utah has a great tradition of turning out to vote in large numbers and making informed decisions at
the polls; I encourage everyone to continue with this tradition. After all, it is your voice—yjour vote—
so speak out and leave your print on Utah.

Sincerely,

oy WARAD

Lieutenant Governor
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CITIZEN’S STATE REFERENDUM NUMBER 1

The full text of the measure may be found at the Utah legislature website: http://le.utah.gov/~2007/htmdoc/hbillhtm/HB0148.htm

BALLOT TITLE

[JFOR
[] AGAINST

19-10-0
38-37-0

Senate:
House:

In February 2007, the Utah Legislature passed H.B. 148, Education Vouchers. This bill will take effect only

if approved by voters. The bill:

+  Establishes a scholarship program for:

+ qualifying school-age children who newly enroll in eligible private schools; and
* lower income school-age children who continue their enroliment in eligible private schools;
+  Provides for scholarships within that program of $500 to $3,000, depending on family size and
income, increasing those scholarship amounts in future years; and
»  Allows school districts to retain some per-student funding for scholarship students who transfer

to private schools.

Are you for or against H.B. 148 taking effect?

IMPARTIAL ANALYSIS

Citizen’s State Referendum Number 1
Impartial Analysis

General Background on
Citizen’s State Referendum Number 1

Citizen’s State Referendum Number 1 asks
Utahns to vote for or against implementation of
H.B. 148, Education Vouchers, which the Legisla-
ture passed in February 2007. H.B. 148 establish-
es the Parent Choice in Education Program, which
provides state-funded scholarships for qualifying
children to attend eligible private schools.

Another bill that was passed by the Legislature
in February 2007 is H.B. 174, Education Voucher
Amendments. H.B. 174 makes changes to the Par-
ent Choice in Education Program.

The Utah Supreme Court ruled that if a major-
ity of voters vote for implementation of H.B. 148,
then the Parent Choice in Education Program
under H.B. 148 and H.B. 174 will be established. If
a majority of voters vote against implementation of
H.B. 148, then the Program will not be established.

The Parent Choice in Education Program

The Parent Choice in Education Program
provides annual, state-funded scholarships for
qualifying children to attend eligible private schools.
Scholarships under the Program range from $500
to $3,000 per student, depending on family size
and income. Those scholarship amounts will be
increased annually by the same percentage of

increase in public school per-student funding.
Under the Program, school districts will be allowed
to retain some per-student funding for scholarship
students who transfer to private schools.

Qualifying for a scholarship

To qualify for a scholarship under the Parent
Choice in Education Program, a student must meet
at least one of the following criteria:

*  be born after September 1, 2001;

* be enrolled as a full-time student in a Utah
public school on January 1, 2007;

* not be a Utah resident on January 1, 2007; or

* bein alower income family.

In addition to meeting one of those criteria, to
qualify for a scholarship the student’s custodial
parent or legal guardian must reside in Utah. The
student must also be between five and 19 years
old, except that a student who has not graduated
from high school may qualify up to age 21. Ifa
student with a disability already receives a Carson
Smith scholarship, that student may not qualify for
a scholarship under the Parent Choice in Education
Program.

Eligible private schools

To be eligible to enroll students qualifying for a
scholarship, a private school must meet specified
requirements, including:

+  meeting financial stability criteria;



IMPARTIAL ANALYSIS

(continued)

+  complying with certain federal, state, and
local laws;

+ disclosing to parents the special education
services that the school provides and the
cost of those services;

+ administering annual student academic
achievement tests;

+  hiring teachers with at least a college
degree or with special expertise;

+  providing to parents the qualifications of
the school’s teachers; and

* having at least 40 students.

A school is not eligible to enroll scholarship
students if the school operates in a residence, en-
courages illegal conduct, or is a licensed residential
treatment facility.

Scholarship amounts

The Parent Choice in Education Program
provides for annual scholarships ranging from
$500 to $3,000 per student, depending on the
income of the student’s parents and the size of the
student's family. The chart below shows examples
of the scholarship amounts for which a student
may qualify based on the income of the student’s
parents and the student’s family size.

The scholarship amounts will be increased in
future years by the same percentage as increases
that the Legislature makes to public school per-stu-
dent funding. The amount of a scholarship under
the Program may not exceed the actual amount of
tuition the student pays to attend the private school.

Mitigation money for school districts

Currently, each school district receives state
funds under a formula that is based on the number
of students enrolled in the school district. If a
student transfers from a public school to a private
school, the school district would, under present law,
no longer receive the state per-student funding for
that student.

The Parent Choice in Education Program
allows a school district to continue to receive a por-
tion of the per-student state funding for a scholar-
ship student for a period of five years after the
student transfers to a private school.

Potential conflicts with the United States or
Utah Constitution

Under the Parent Choice in Education

Program, public funds will be used to provide
scholarships for students who attend private
schools, including private religious schools. The
use of public money for students attending private
religious schools may conflict with federal or state
constitutional provisions that prohibit the use of
public money for religious purposes. In addition,
other aspects of the Program may conflict with
equal protection provisions of the federal or state
constitution or with state constitutional provisions
relating to the State Board of Education’s author-
ity or the scope of the public education program.
Because of the Program’s unique characteristics
and the lack of a directly applicable court ruling, it
is unclear how a court would rule on any of these
issues.

Fiscal impact
State impact

Based on certain assumptions, the Legislative
Fiscal Analyst estimates that the Parent Choice in
Education Program will cost the state:

+  $5,500,000 during the Program’s first year;
and

+  $71,000,000 during the Program’s 13th
year, after all private school students in
Utah have become eligible for a
scholarship.

These costs will be paid from general state tax
revenues.

School districts impact

Based on certain assumptions, the Legisla-
tive Fiscal Analyst estimates that school districts
statewide will together save:

«  $2,400,000 to $11,500,000 during the
Program’s first year;
and

+$11,000,000 to $28,000,000 during the
Program’s 13th year, after all private
school students in Utah have become
eligible for a scholarship.

These savings occur because school districts will
have fewer students to educate as some students
transfer from public to private schools. The low es-
timates use the state’s traditional enroliment-based
method for funding basic public education. The
high estimates are based on average total per-pupil
expenditures.

Per-student Scholarship Amounts Based on
Family Size and Income
2007-08 School Year

Family Size Family Income
(includes
parent(s)) $30,000 $70,000 $110,000 $150,000
2 $2,750 $500 $500 $500
4 $3,000 $2,000 $500 $500
6 $3,000 $2,500 $1,750 $500
8 $3,000 $2,750 $2,000 $1,000




ARGUMENT IN FAVOR

Our public education system works well. It meets
the needs of most of our children. But one size
does not fit all. Vouchers are educational scholar-
ships for the small number of children whose fami-
lies feel a private school best meets their needs.
Governor Huntsman signed the program into law
because scholarships help children.

All families, no matter what their means, should
have a choice in how to educate their children.
Most children do well in Utah public schools, but
some fall through the cracks. Sometimes a dif-
ferent school would help those children learn and
reach their full potential. If parents of these chil-
dren are wealthy, they already have a choice. But
if they are not financially well off, the children are
locked in a system where they are failing. Scholar-
ships will help level the field, giving educational op-
portunities to families with limited resources. The
scholarship amount is scaled based on income, so
families with the least means will receive the larg-
est scholarship.

These scholarships give all families in Utah a
choice when it comes to their own children’s
education. That's why the legislature passed, and
Governor Huntsman signed into law, the Parent
Choice in Education Act. A YES vote on Citizen’s
State Referendum 1 will let parents decide what's
best for their kids.

Bureaucrats and liberal unions oppose this law.
This law is not about them. It's about parents and
it's about letting children have an education that

works for them. It's also about avoiding a future tax
increase. With 150,000 new children entering Utah
schools in the next decade, it is almost inevitable
that taxes will be raised to pay for those students.
The availability of scholarships helps divert some
of those children to private schools, using funds
that were never part of the public education budget.
Plus, these scholarships will actually increase the
amount of money that goes to public education.

For every child that uses a scholarship, money is
sent to the public school district where she would
have attended. Yes, though you might not have
heard this part of the story, the district gets money
as if the child were attending the public schools.
This is additional money put into the public educa-
tion system. The scholarship program pumps new
money into education while reducing class size.
And it helps prevent a tax increase. Vote YES on
Citizen’s State Referendum 1 to guard against tax
increases.

We grapple with complex issues in a large
educational system. Parent choice in their child’s
education is just one piece of the puzzle but it is an
important piece. Scholarships give every family a
choice. They will help children get an individualized
education that meets their needs. They will make
all schools better, reduce class size and guard
against a tax increase.

Vote YES on Citizen’s State Referendum 1 to sup-
port the scholarship law and every family’s right to
choose the best educational fit for their children.

REBUTTAL TO THE
ARGUMENTS IN FAVOR

STRAIGHT TALK ABOUT VOUCHERS

+ Reasonable Choices Are Available

Utah already offers many good choices through
“open enrollment” and charter schools. Taxpayers
can't fund every choice.

*  Proposed Voucher Laws are Inadequate

Even with last minute legislative “patch work,”
voucher laws authorize schools with too little over-
sight, no real coursework or attendance require-
ments, lax standards for teachers and minimal
accountability to taxpayers. Risk of inadequate and
unstable schools is high.

* Whom Would Vouchers Help?

Probably not the disadvantaged. Even with
vouchers, parents with modest income couldn’t af-
ford to send their children to good private schools.

¢ Is There “Additional Money” For Public
Schools?

No. For five years, transferring students would
be double funded by taxpayers — in the private
schools and the pubic schools they left behind.
Thereafter, public school funding would be cut to
reflect lost enroliment.

*  Would Vouchers Prevent Tax Increases?
Unlikely. Subsidizing students now privately
funded creates a projected deficit of almost a half
billion dollars. These dollars would come from
other worthy projects like health care, public safety,

and roads. If we have extra taxpayer money, it
would be better spent reducing class sizes and
improving Utah’s public schools.

* “Bureaucrats and Liberals”?

Who are they? Not the 29,000 dedicated,
caring and underpaid teachers in our neighborhood
schools; also not Utah’s commonsense conser-
vative citizens who oppose another entitlement
program. The real “bureaucrats and liberals” are
the subsidy advocates and out-of-state voucher
pushers looking for Utah to save their faltering
national movement.

VOTE NO ON VOUCHERS



ARGUMENT AGAINST

REBUTTAL TO THE
ARGUMENTS AGAINST

WHY VOUCHERS ARE NOT FOR UTAH

e Vouchers are More About Subsidies and
Less About Choice

Parents may choose to send their children
to any public school in the local District without
charge. They can also choose a private school. The
issue isn't about choice, it's about whether taxpay-
ers should subsidize existing private schools and
encourage emergence of new subsidized private
schools without adequate assurance of quality or
accountability. Utah can’t afford where that path
leads.

¢ Utah’s Schools Deserve Continuing
Support

Utah spends the least per-pupil, yet Utah’s
public schools are leaders in performance. Utah
is in the top 10 in graduation and one of only 7
to receive an “A” grade in preparing students for
college. Most Utahns want increased investment in
what works in classrooms - quality teachers, small-
er classes and high expectations for all students.
The last thing Utah’s schools need is a liberal
subsidized entitiement program that competes for
scarce resources.

*  Vouchers Will Cost Taxpayers and Injure
Some Public Schools

Legislative Research projects that vouchers
will cost Utah taxpayers $429 million over the next
13 years as the students in existing private schools
qualify for the subsidy. This education money will
not go to public schools. To the contrary, after five
years, public school funding will be reduced to
reflect transfers to private schools regardless of the
ability of impacted schools to reduce fixed costs.
Depending upon enrollment patterns, some public
schools would simply have to do more with less.

It's simple. A vote for vouchers is a vote to improve
education.

If you vote “Yes,”

+  school funding will improve

+  children’s options and opportunities will
increase

+ academic achievement will go up

+  parents will gain a stronger voice within
the system

o Utah Shouldn’t be the Nation’s Guinea Pig
Voucher advocates are trumpeting Utah’s

proposed law as the “nation’s first statewide uni-
versal voucher bill.” Vouchers have been adopted
only in a few states primarily for the benefit of the
disadvantaged or those with special needs. Utah’s
voucher bill contains no such limitation. It subsi-
dizes persons with income exceeding $100,000.
Utah, with its conservative values, should not lead
the nation in this experiment in social engineering.

*  Vouchers Could Become Tools for Cultural
Division

Voucher proponents foresee development of
many and varied types of private schools. They
share a common design to divide from the main
stream. Private schools will naturally arise from
perceived academic superiority, social or economic
status, religious preferences, lifestyle or political
philosophy, undesirable student mix, or a desire
to be more exclusive. Such schools have always
existed, but not at taxpayer expense. During the
last half century we have reduced segregation and
enhanced equal opportunity in public schools. We
should not embrace a system that could reverse
what we have worked hard to achieve.

* The Voucher Bill has Constitutional
Problems

Utah has many excellent and valued parochial
schools at every education level. They all depend
on private funding. This is consistent with Utah’s
unique history and its Constitution which expressly
prohibits direct public funding of church-sponsored
schools. House Bill 148 adopts a legally question-
able scheme to funnel money to these schools.
Vouchers are made payable to parents, but mailed
directly to the parochial schools for deposit in their
bank accounts. This invites a costly and divisive
court battle.

Why is there such a fuss over 0.0025% of the
education budget? Because some people think the
status quo is good enough.

Let’s do better. Vote FOR Vouchers to improve
education.

Sincerely,

Steve Urquhart
Utah State Representative



INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

GENERAL INFORMATION

How do I register to vote?

e Online: Download and print a Utah Voter Registration
Form. Once completed, mail the form to your
county clerk’s office. If possible, include a photocopy of
your driver’s license or another form of picture
identification with the registration form, otherwise you will
be required to present identification at the polls.

*  Phone Book: There is also a voter registration form in
The White Pages (located at the end of the blue
section). This form can be photocopied. Once completed,
it should be mailed to your county clerk’s office. If
possible, include a photocopy of your driver’s license or
another form of picture identification with the registration
form, otherwise you will be required to present
identification at the polls.

»  Drivers License & State Agency Offices: Registration
forms are also available at State Agency Offices,
including the Division of Driver Licenses, Division of
Workforce Services, Utah State Department of Health,
Women, Infant and Children (WIC) Offices, the Division of
Services for People with Disabilities, the Department of
Rehabilitation, and public colleges and universities.

When do | register to vote?

Postmark Deadline: Voter registration forms must be postmarked
before October 9, 2007 or be presented in person to county clerk
before October 22, 2007. To verify the status of your voter registra-
tion, please contact your County Clerk’s office.

When to Re-register?

Voter registration is valid for life, unless you move, change your
name, or wish to affiliate with a different party. To change your
voter registration status for any of the mentioned reasons, simply fill
out a new voter registration form.

What are the requirements?

. Be at least 18 years-old on or before the day of the
election.

. Be a citizen of the United States.

. Be a resident of Utah for at least 30 days before
the election. An applicant is considered a resident of
Utah if he or she has his or her principal place of
residence within Utah and intends to continue to reside
within Utah indefinitely.

Where do | vote?
For polling locations contact your county clerk’s office (contact
information provided on the last page of this pamphlet).

EMPLOYEE'S RIGHT TO TIME OFF FOR ELECTION

NOTE: This section does not apply to an employee who has three or
more hours between the time polls open and close during which the
employee is not employed on the job.

Each employer shall allow any voter to be absent from service or employ-
ment on election day for not more than two hours between the time the
polls open and close.

Remember:

+ The voter shall apply for a leave of absence before election day.

+ The employer may specify the hours during which the employee
may be absent.

+ If the employee requests the leave of absence at the beginning or
end of the work shift, the employer shall grant that request.

+ The employer may not deduct from an employee’s usual salary or
wages because of the absence.



PROVISIONAL BALLOT

Provisional voting was mandated under the Help America Vote Act of
2002 (HAVA) to ensure that every eligible voter who is registered or who
believes they are registered can cast a ballot in federal elections with
the knowledge that a fair process will be followed to determine if the
provisional ballot is eligible to be counted.

Previously registered voters who have moved within the State of Utah,
but have not reregistered at their new address, are allowed to vote at
their new polling location. Provisional ballots also allow people who
register through a Driver’s License Agency or other public agency and
whose name does not appear on the Official Register (for whatever
reason) to vote at their new polling location.

Remember, a provisional ballot could be used if the voter’s name is not
found on the Official Register, the poll worker is not satisfied that he

or she has not provided valid voter identification, if he or she does not
have residence in the voting precinct, or under any other circumstance

EARLY VOTING

described in the Utah code 20A-3-202.

All provisional voters will be asked for photo identification AND for proof
of current residence at the polls. This information allows us to ensure
that provisional voters were in fact previously registered to vote and to
ensure that people are voting in their correct precinct. If both conditions
are met, the vote will be counted. If either condition is not met, the vote
will not be counted.

You can find the status of your provisional ballot directly on our website
http://elections.utah.gov or by contacting your county clerk’s office.

You will need the unique identification number (six digit) printed on the
detachable stub of the provisional ballot. If you forget or lose your stub,
you can call the Office of the Lieutenant Governor at 801-538-1041 or
1-800-995-VOTE to receive the status of your provisional ballot. Please
allow for 10-14 days after each election for this information to be
available.

In order to be eligible to participate in early voting, voters must be regis-
tered to vote by October 9, 2007.

In order to vote during the early voting period voters must present valid
voter identification. This is either a form of identification that bears the
name and photograph of the voter or two forms of identification that bear
the name of the voter and provide evidence of voter’s residence.

ABSENTEE VOTING

The early voting period will begin on October 23 and will continue through
November 2. The polls will be open for a minimum of four hours during
each early voting day and will close at 5 p.m. on November 2. Every
registered voter who arrives at the polls before the time scheduled for
closing of the polls will be allowed to vote. Please contact your county
clerk’s office for details on times, days, and locations.

Who can vote absentee?
Any person who is registered to vote may vote by absentee ballot.

NOTE: A registered voter who is hospitalized or otherwise confined
to a medical or long-term care institution after the deadline for filing
an application for an absentee ballot may still obtain an absentee
ballot by contacting the County Clerk. The absentee voting applica-
tion form may only be used on election day and must be returned to
the election officer before the polls close on election day.

How can | obtain an absentee ballot?

You may vote absentee by mail or in-person in the county clerk’s
office. A separate absentee ballot application must be filled out for
each election. This form is also available online.

When is the deadline for applying for an absentee ballot?

 For regular absentee voting the ballot application must be
received no later than the Friday before the election,
November 2, 2007.

» For overseas voters, the clerk should receive the application
no later than 20 days before the election (October 17, 2007).

+ Individuals using an absentee ballot in the office of their
county clerk, must apply for the ballot no later than the day
before the election, November 5, 2007.

NOTE: The ballot is only valid if it is clearly postmarked before (not
on) election day, and received in the county clerk’s office before
noon on the day of the official canvass.

FOR MORE INFORMATION
* Visit http://elections.utah.gov
+ Contact your county clerk (see page 13)
+ Contact the Office of the Lieutenant Governor at
(801) 538-1041 or 1-800-995-VOTE

I ——————————————————————————————————————————
9



INSTRUCTIONS FOR TOUCH-SCREEN BALLOTS

Learn how to use the new
electronic voting machine. These
step-by-step instructions will
guide you through the voting pro-
cess. For an electronic demon-
stration, please visit the website
www.LeaveYourPrint.com.

1. START

Insert voter access card. Push
firmly until card clicks. Do not
remove card until finished voting.

2. READ “INSTRUCTIONS”
SCREEN

oy cuestions and rn orobee ©

If needed, touch “Large Text”
or “High Contrast” to improve
readability.

Touch “Next” to continue.

3.VOTE FOR
CANDIDATES/ISSUES

Touch the box next to your
selection. An “X” will appear. To
change or cancel your selection,
touch the box again. The “X”
will disappear. Touch “Next” to
see the next page of the ballot or
“Back” to see a previous page.

4.RECORD “WRITE-INS”
(OPTIONAL)

utton to return to the ba
your write-in entry.
S

Touching the box next to “Write-
In” makes a keyboard appear.
Type the name you wish to
write-in. Touch “Record Write-In”
to return to the ballot.

5. REVIEW YOUR BALLOT

A summary page will appear at
the end of the ballot. Selections
left blank or incomplete will be
highlighted. Touch any selection
to return to that page in the ballot
and make changes.

6. PRINT YOUR BALLOT

Touch “Print Ballot.” Your ballot
will print to the right of your
screen for verification. To make
changes, touch “Reject Ballot.”
Remember, any changes must
be made before touching “Cast
Ballot.”

7. CAST YOUR BALLOT

Touch “Cast Ballot”. The printed
ballot will scroll to hide your
selections. No changes can

be made after touching “Cast
Ballot.”

8. REMOVE YOUR CARD

Return the card to a poll worker.

Voting for candidates of one
party

If you want to cast a “straight
party” vote for all the candidates
of one party, touch the box next
to that party on the first page

of the ballot. The box next to
that party’s candidates will be
automatically marked on the
other pages of the ballot.

You may change your vote in a
particular race to the candidate
from another party orto a
write-in candidate. To make the
change, first touch the box next
to the “straight party” candidate.
The X will disappear. Then,
touch the box next to the candi-
date for whom you wish to vote.
An X will appear in the box.

If you did not cast a “straight par-

ty” vote on the first page of the
ballot, you will see the “straight
party” selection highlighted on

the summary page. If you return

to this selection and mark a
party, your previously marked
votes will not change. However,

in any partisan races where

you have not already marked a
candidate, the candidate of the
party you chose will be automati-
cally marked.

Referendum

The referendum appears on the
ballot in the form of a question.
Avote “FOR” the referendum
means that you agree with the
question. Avote “AGAINST”

the referendum means that you
disagree with the question. To
vote on the referendum, read the
ballot title provided on the ballot,
decide whether you are “FOR” or
“AGAINST”, and touch the box
next to your choice.

How to get help marking your
ballot

The voting machines have
several features to help voters
who are blind or have a dis-
ability. These features include
large text, high contrast display,
and audio recordings. However,
voters may still ask someone of
their choice to help mark their
ballots. The person helping
must not be a candidate, the
voter’'s employer, an agent of the
voter's employer, or an officer
or agent of the voter’s union.
The person helping cannot in
any way request, persuade, or
induce the voter to vote for or
against any particular candidate
or issue.

10



INSTRUCTIONS FOR OPTICAL-SCAN BALLOTS

How to obtain a ballot for
voting

1. Give your name and address
to an election judge. You may
also be required to show proof
of identification or proof of
residency.

2. If your name is on the official
register and your right to vote
has not been challenged, the
election judge will give you one
or more ballots.

NOTE: If an election judge has
reason to doubt your identity,
the judge is required either (a)
to request identification from
you, or (b) to have a known
registered voter of the district
identify you.

How to mark your ballot

Mark your ballot only with the
marker provided by the election
judge. If you use any other type
of pen or pencil, your vote may
not be counted by the optical
scanner.

Completely fill in the oval next
to the party or candidate of
your choice. If an oval is not
completely filled in, your vote
may not be counted by the opti-
cal scanner.

Ballots may be printed on both
the front and back. Do not
forget to vote on issues that are
listed on the reverse side of the
ballot.

1

DO NOT vote on a ballot that
has been previously marked,
spoiled or defaced. Identifica-
tion marks or a spoiled or de-
faced ballot will make your vote
invalid. If you make a mistake,
do not attempt to erase a mark.
Instead, return your ballot to the
election judge who will cancel
the ballot and issue you a new
ballot.

Voting for candidates of one
party

If you want to cast a “straight
party” vote for all the candidates
of one party, fill in the oval next
to the party symbol at the top
of the ballot. You may also

fill in the ovals next to each
candidate’s name, but this is
not necessary if you filled in the
oval next to the party symbol.

Voting for candidates of more
than one party

If you want to vote for candi-
dates from more than one party,
fill in the oval by the names

of the candidates for whom

you want to vote. If you have
already voted “straight party”
and then decide to vote for a
candidate from another party,
simply mark the oval next to

the other candidate(s) of your

choice. The optical scanner
will interpret a “straight party”
vote as a vote for all candidates
of that party except where you
filled in an oval for candidate(s)
of a different party.

Write-in voting

You may also vote for a valid
write-in candidate. Do this by
legibly writing the name of the
write-in candidate in the space
provided on the ballot or by
placing in that space a sticker
containing the office and write-in
candidate’s name. You must
also fill in the oval next to the
write-in candidate’s

name.

Non-partisan candidates
Judicial, State School Board,
Local School Board, and similar
offices are non-partisan con-
tests. They are located either
in the right column or on the
reverse side of the ballot.

The ballot contains instructions
designating the number of
candidates that should be voted
for each office.

Referendum
Referendum appears on the
ballot in the form of a question.

-

Avote “FOR” a referendum
means that you agree with the
question. A vote “AGAINST”

a referendum means that you
disagree with the question. To
vote on the referendum, read
the ballot title provided on the
ballot, decide whether you

are “FOR” or “AGAINST” the
referendum, and fill in the oval
for the appropriate response.

How to get help marking your
ballot

Voters who are blind, have a
disability, or are unable to read
or write English, may be helped
by someone of their choice.
The person helping must not
be a candidate, the voter’s
employer, an agent of the
voter’s employer, nor an officer
or agent of the voter’s union.
The person helping cannot in
any way request, persuade, or
induce the voter to vote for or
against any particular candidate
or issue.



State of Utah Mail-in Voter Registration Form

Voter Instructions

You may use this form to:

e register to vote in Utah

e change your name or address on your voter registration record
e register with a party or change your party affiliation

To register to vote in Utah, you must:

e be a citizen of the United States

e have resided in Utah at least 30 days immediately before the next election

e be at least 18 years old on or before the next election

o first time voters must include a copy of a valid form of photo identification or proof of residence (or present it at the polls)

Mail-in registration instructions

e Complete all required information

o If you have registered to vote with a different name or address, complete the change of information section

e A driver license or state identification number is required. If you do not have a driver license or a state identification
card, please write “None” in the space designated for driver license or state identification and fill in the last 4 digits
of your social security number

e Read the voter declaration and citizenship affidavit and sign and date below

e Mail the form to your county clerk's office (addresses are on the back of this form)

Deadline for submitting this form

This form must be postmarked at least 30 days before an election or be presented in person to the county clerk at least 15 days
before an election for you to be eligible to vote in that election. If you register less than 30 days before an election you may only
vote on Election Day and not during early voting.

For more information
If you need more information, contact your county clerk at the number listed on the back of this form, or call the Lieutenant
Governor's Office at (801) 538-1041 or 1-800-995-VOTE.

Use pen — Please print clearl
NOTICE: In order to be allowed to vote in a voting precinct for the first time or to vote during the early voting period before the date of the election, you must present
valid voter identification to the poll worker before voting as follows: (1) a valid form of photo identification that shows your name, photograph, and current address; or,
(2) two different forms of identification that show your name and current address.
Are you a citizen of the United States of America? O Yes OO No Will you be 18 years of age on or before election day? O Yes O No

Qualifications: If you check no in response to either of these questions do not complete this form.

Name (required) Last First Middle Date of Birth (required, month/day/year)
Home Address (required, principal place of residence) City State Zip Code Place of Birth (required, state or country)
Mailing Address (required if different from home address) City State Zip Code Las} 4 Digits' of Name at Birth (if different)
Social Security #
County of Residence (required) Phone Number (optional) 5 -
Driver License or State Issued
Political Party: (optional) [1Unaffiliated (no party preference) CiConstitution [lDemocrat CIRepublican State Identification #
OOther (please specify)
Place of Naturalization (if applicable) Date
If previously registered and/or changing personal information, also fill out this section. I am a person with a disability (optional) O Yes 0 No
Name on Previous Registration Address on Previous Registration City County State  Zip Code

Read and sign below

Voter Declaration: | do swear (or affirm), subject to penalty of law for false statements, that the information contained in this form is true and that | am a citizen of the
United States and a resident of the State of Utah, residing at the above address. | will be at least 18 years old on or before the next election and | will have resided in Utah
for 30 days immediately before the next election. | am not a convicted felon currently incarcerated for commission of a felony.

Citizenship Affidavit: | hereby swear and affirm, under penalties for voting fraud set forth below in Utah Code Section 20A-2-401, that | am a citizen and that to the best
of my knowledge and belief the information above is true and correct.

Office use only:
Type of ID

Signature Date (month/day/year) Voting precinct Voting ID #

(The above signature applies to the Voter Declaration and the Citizenship Affidavit) MIVRO5 03/2007
In accordance with Section 20A-2-401, the penalty for willfully causing, proc or allowing yourself to be registered to
vote if you know you are not entitled to register to vote is up to one year in j a fine of up to $2,500.




COUNTY CLERKS

Please contact your County Clerk for information about:

 Early voting times and locations.
 Status of provisional ballot.
* Municipal and local district elections.

Paul B. Barton
Beaver County
435-438-6463
P.O. Box 392
Beaver, UT 84713

Luann Adams

Box Elder County
435-734-3351

01 S. Main Street

Brigham City, UT 84302-2599

Jill Zollinger

Cache County
435-716-7150

179 No. Main Street
Suite 102

Logan, UT 84321

Robert P. Pero
Carbon County
435-636-3224

120 East Main

Price, UT 84501-3057

Vicky McKee

Daggett County
435-784-3154

P.O. Box 219

Manila, UT 84046-0219

Steve Rawlings

Davis County

801-451-3213

P.O. Box 618

Farmington, UT 84025-0618

Norma Brunson

Millard County
435-743-6223

765 S. Highway 99, Ste. 6
Fillmore, UT 84631-5002

Kent H. Jones

Summit County
435-336-3204

P.O. Box 128

Coalville, UT 84017-0128
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Diane Freston

Duchesne County
435-738-1100

P.0. Box 270

Duchesne, UT 84021-0270

Stacy Lafitte

Morgan County
801-845-4011

P.O. Box 886

Morgan, UT 84050-0886

Marilyn K. Gillette
Tooele County
435-843-3140

47 So. Main

Tooele, UT 84074-2194

Brenda Dugmore

Emery County

435-381-5106

P.O. Box 907

Castle Dale, UT 84513-0907

Valeen H. Brown

Piute County
435-577-2840

P.O. Box 99

Junction, UT 84740-0099

Mike Wilkins

Uintah County
435-781-5361

147 East Main

Vernal, UT 84078-2643

Camille Moore

Garfield County
435-676-8826

P.O. Box 77

Panguitch, UT 84759-0077

Becky Peart

Rich County
435-793-2415

20 South Main

P.O. Box 218

Randolph, UT 84064-0218

Bryan E. Thompson

Utah County
801-851-8128

100 East Center, Rm 3100
Provo, UT 84606-3106

Diana Carroll

Grand County
435-259-1321

125 E. Center

Moab, UT 84532-2492

Sherrie Swensen

Salt Lake County

Elections Division
801-468-3427

2001 S. State Street, #51100
Salt Lake City, UT 84190-1051

Brent R. Titcomb

Wasatch County
435-654-3211

25 No. Main

Heber City, UT 84032-1827

David I. Yardley

Iron County
435-477-8340

P.O. Box 429

Parowan, UT 84761-0429

Norm Johnson

San Juan County
435-587-3223

P.O. Box 338
Monticello, UT 84535

Calvin R. Robison
Washington County
435-634-5712

197 E. Tabernacle

St. George, UT 84770

Patricia Ingram

Juab County
435-623-3410

160 N. Main

Nephi, UT 84648-1412

Sandy Neill
Sanpete County
435-835-2131
P.O. Box 100
Manti, UT 84642

Ryan Torgerson
Wayne County
435-836-1300

P.O. Box 189

Loa, UT 84747-0189

Karla Johnson

Kane County
435-644-2458

76 North Main

Kanab, UT 84741-0050

Steven C. Wall

Sevier County
435-896-9262

P.0. Box 607

Richfield, UT 84701-0517

Alan D. McEwan
Weber County
801-399-8400

2380 Washington Blvd.,
Suite 320

Ogden, UT 84401-1456



OFFICE OF THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

I, Gary R. Herbert, Lieutenant Governor of the State Of Utah,
hereby certify that the measure contained in this pamphlet will
be submitted to the voters of Utah at the election to be held
throughout the state on November 6, 2007, and that this

pamphlet is complete and correct according to law.

In testimony whereof, 1 have hereunto set my
hand, and affixed the Great Seal of the State of
Utah this 1% day of September, 2007 at Salt Lake
City, Utah.

Llusy 2. tesbert—

N Ap X '“*l A '( % Gary R, Herbert

Lieutenant Governor
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A Message from Utah’s Lieutenant Governor

In order to make your voting experience
as simple as possible, | have posted
several answers to questions on my web
page including:

* Where do | go to vote?

* How do | register to vote?

* When is the election?

* How do | vote early?

* How do | obtain an absentee ballot?

* Where can | learn more about the
school voucher issue?

Answers to these questions and many
more are found on my website:
http://www.LeaveYourPrint.com. You can
also call my office at 1.800.995.VOTE
(8683), or contact me via e-mail at
gherbert@utah.gov.

Sincerely,
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