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Using This Manual
Disclaimer

This guide is not a substitute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be a comprehensive or an authoritative 

statement of law. For further legal information, please consult Utah State Code or other appropriate legal resources. 

If any inconsistency exists between this publication and statute, the statutory language governs.

The contents of this manual are subject to change by legislative or judicial action. The contents of this manual are 

also for the exclusive use of U.S. House, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, State Auditor, State 	

Treasurer, legislative, and state board of education candidates. All instructions for partisan candidates within this 

guide are for Qualified Political Party (QPP) candidates. 

About this manual & additional assistance

Congratulations on deciding to run for political office in Utah! Running for office is exhilarating, but the 		

requirements can also be complicated and difficult to navigate–particularly if you are new to the process.

The purpose of this manual is to explain the procedures and requirements for individuals interested in filing for 	

public office in the state of Utah. 

Assistance							      Icons
If you have any questions about the material			   The following icons used in this manual are to
covered in this manual or need further assistance,		  emphasize information:
please contact:

Utah Lieutenant Governor’s Office

(801) 538-1041

elections@utah.gov

www.vote.utah.gov

Utah State Capitol
350 North State Street, Suite 220
PO Box 142325
Salt Lake City, UT  84114

Indicates a reference to a form

Indicates additional information

Indicates a deadline

Indicates alert; warning; attention 
needed

Indicates a question

mailto:elections%40utah.gov?subject=Elections%20Inquiry
http://www.vote.utah.gov
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Qualifications for Office
Before you begin campaigning, meeting voters, or collecting campaign donations, you will want to ensure that you 

meet certain requirements to hold office. Review the table below to determine whether you meet the requirements 

of the office you plan to seek.

Office Age Residency Citizenship Other Qualifications Term

U.S. House of 
Representatives

25
Resident of Utah when 
elected

U.S. Citizen for 
7 years

- 2 years

Governor, 
Lieutenant Governor

30 Resident of Utah for 5 years U.S. Citizen
Qualified voter1; not 
convicted of certain 
crimes2

4 years

Attorney General*, 
State Auditor, 
State Treasurer

25 Resident of Utah for 5 years U.S. Citizen
Qualified voter1; not 
convicted of certain 
crimes2

4 years

Utah State Senate 25

Resident of Utah for 3 years; 
6 months living in the Senate 
district prior to the last day 
of filing

U.S. Citizen

Qualified voter1; not con-
victed of certain crimes2; 
cannot hold any public 
office of profit or trust3

4 years

Utah State House of 
Representatives

25

Resident of Utah for 3 years; 
6 months living in the House 
district prior to the last day 
of filing

U.S. Citizen

Qualified voter1; not con-
victed of certain crimes2; 
cannot hold any public 
office of profit or trust3

2 years

State Board of 
Education**

18
1 year living in the school 
board district

U.S. Citizen

Qualified voter1; not con-
victed of certain crimes2; 
cannot hold any public 
office of profit or trust3

4 years

US Const., Article I, section 2-3;  UT Const. Article VI, section 5;  UT Const. Article VII, Section 3; UCA 20A-14-103; UCA 20A-2-101.5

*    Attorney General candidates must be admitted to practice before the Supreme Court of Utah, and in good standing at 		
     the bar.

**  State Board of Education candidates cannot have been convicted of a grievous sexual offense against a child, as 		
     defined in Utah Code 76-1-601.
1 A qualified voter meets the following requirements:

•	 Citizen of the United States;
•	 At least 18 years old and a resident of Utah for 30 days by the date of the election; and
•	 Registered to vote in Utah.

2 An individual convicted of certain crimes loses the right to hold office until convictions have been expunged OR the  	            	
     individual meets all of the following requirements:

•	 10 years have passed since the individual’s most recent felony conviction;
•	 The individual paid all court-ordered restitution and fines; and
•	 The individual completed probation, granted parole, or completed the term of incarceration associated with the 

felony.
•	 An individual convicted of an election related misdemeanor has restored their rights to hold office according to 

Utah Code 20A-2-101.3.
3 No person holding any public office of profit or trust under authority of the United States, or of this State, shall be                         	
     a member of the Legislature: provided that appointments in the State Militia, and the offices of notary public, justice of                      	
     the peace, United States commissioner, and postmaster of the fourth class, shall not, within the meaning of this 	        	
     section, be considered offices of profit or trust (see Utah Constitution Article VI, Section 6).

https://www.census.gov/history/pdf/Article_1_Section_2.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVI/Article_VI,_Section_6.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVII/Article_VII,_Section_3.html?v=UC_AVII_S3_1800010118000101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter14/20A-14-S103.html?v=C20A-14-S103_2018030120180301
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter2/20A-2-S101.5.html?v=C20A-2-S101.5_1800010118000101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title76/Chapter1/76-1-S601.html?v=C76-1-S601_2019051420190701
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter2/20A-2-S101.3.html?v=C20A-2-S101.3_1800010118000101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/ArticleVI/Article_VI,_Section_6.html?v=UC_AVI_S6_1800010118000101
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	 Utah state law does not regulate the way that political parties govern themselves. Each party is responsible 		

	 for creating their own by-laws and nominating procedures. 

What is the difference between Partisan and Non-partisan?

Partisan candidates:
If you plan on running as a party candidate and you meet the requirements for the particular office described in the 

chart on page 4, you must be a member of that particular party at the time of filing your Declaration of Candidacy 

documents*. To run for federal office, statewide executive, legislative, or the state board of education as a partisan 

candidate, refer to pages 7-17. 

*Some parties may have additional requirements to be eligible to declare as a party candidate. You will want to contact party leaders to 
ensure that you meet all the requirements.

Non-partisan candidates:
If you wish to not take part in the political party system and you meet the requirements for the particular office 

described in the chart on page 4, you are able to file a Declaration of Candidacy as an unaffiliated or write-in 	

candidate. To run for federal office, statewide executive, legislative, or the state board of education as a		

non-partisan candidate, refer to pages 18-23.

Utah Political Parties:

Constitution Party - www.utahconstitutionparty.com; (435) 363-4453

Democratic Party - www.utahdemocrats.org; (801) 328-1212

Green Party - www.greenpartyutah.com

Independent American Party - www.utahiap.com; (801) 400-1488

Libertarian Party - www.libertarianutah.org; (801) 613-8034

Republican Party  - www.utgop.org; (801) 533-9777

United Utah Party - www.unitedutah.org; (385) 325-1620

	 How do I  join a party or change my party affiliation? Simply fill out a new voter registration form and select the 		
              party that you wish to be affiliated with. You can update your voter registration information online at 
	 voter.utah.gov or by using a printable form which is available at this link.
 

Political Parties

http://www.utahconstitutionparty.com
http://www.utahdemocrats.org
http://www.greenpartyutah.com
http://www.utahiap.com
http://www.libertarianutah.org
http://www.utgop.org
http://www.unitedutah.org
http://voter.utah.gov
https://elections.utah.gov/Media/Default/Forms/Utah%20Voter%20Registration%20Form.pdf
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Selecting your path to become a candidate

You have several paths from which to select to become a candidate. If you want to be a partisan (political party) 

candidate, you have three options:

•	 Participate in your political party’s caucus and convention system.

•	 Gather signatures from voters.

•	 Participate in your political party’s caucus and convention system and gather signatures from voters.

If you prefer not to be a partisan candidate, you can be an unaffiliated candidate or a write-in candidate. An 		

unaffiliated candidate’s name appears on the ballot, but a write-in candidate’s name does not appear on the ballot. 

Below is a simple chart that illustrates the basic requirements for each path. 

If you are reading this online, click anywhere on a section below to jump to the requirements.

Convention 
Path

(Pages 7-10)

Gathering 
Signatures Path
(Pages 11-17)

Convention & 
Gathering 

Signatures Path
(Pages 7-17)

Unaffiliated 
Candidates

(Pages 18-22)

Write-in
Candidates

(Pages 23-24)

1. Get to know the
convention system

2. Declare 
candidacy

3. Attend your party’s 
convention

4. Primary election

5. General election

1. Determine your 
signature 
requirement & obtain 
petition template

2. Gather signatures

3. Submit signatures 
for verification

4. Submit the verified 
signatures & declare 
candidacy

5. General election

1. Get to know the 	
convention system

2. Determine your 	
signature 
requirement

3. Declare intent to 	
gather signatures

4. Gather signatures

5. Declare candidacy

6. Submit petition 	
signatures for review

7. Attend your party’s 
convention

8. Primary election

9. General election

1. Determine your 
signature 
requirement

2. Declare intent to 
gather signatures

3. Gather signatures

4. Declare candidacy

5. Submit petition 
signatures for review

6. Primary election

7. General election

1. Declare 
Candidacy

2. General election

Partisan Candidates Non-Partisan Candidates

(Online version: click anywhere on a section below to jump to the requirements)



7

{

Partisan Candidates
Convention Path

UCA 20A-9-407; UCA 20A-9-408.5

	 The convention system is one path partisan candidates can take to get their name on the primary election 		

	 ballot. If you select this path, you must complete 3 steps:

1.	 Get to know the convention system (continue reading this page).

2.	 Declare candidacy between March 13, 2020 and 5:00 p.m. on March 19, 2020 (pages 8-10).

3.	 Attend your party’s convention (page 10).

Step 1: Get to know your convention system*

*Each political party will have a unique process. This is a general description of how the process works.

1  

2

3

Caucus
Meetings

County & State
Conventions

Primary
Election

A caucus is a neighborhood meeting of a 	

political party’s members. Caucuses are typically 

held in March/April. During the meeting, caucus 	

members select representatives from the caucus 

to attend either the county or state convention. 

These representatives are known as delegates.

Delegates gather at the party’s conventions to 

nominate candidates.

Delegates at the county convention vote for 	

candidates for county and legislative offices that 

lie entirely within one county.

Delegates at the state convention vote for 	

candidates for federal, statewide, legislative, and 

state school board offices that are located within 

multiple counties.

	 See page 43 for list of Utah single and 		

	 multi-county legislative districts 

	

Candidates who receive a certain 

percentage of delegates’ votes will be 

nominated and their name will be placed on the 

primary ballot. The Primary Election will be held 

on Tuesday, June 30, 2020.

Caucus Meetings

State 
Delegates

County
Delegates

State 
Convention

(Federal, 

statewide 

constitutional, 

and multi-county

candidates)

County 
Convention

(single-county 

candidates)

Primary Election

									           Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S407.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.5.html
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Step 2: Declare Candidacy

UCA 20A-9-201, UCA 20A-9-202, UCA 20A-9-206,  UCA 20A-9-407, UCA 20A-9-701

All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. If you choose to gather signatures in addition to 	
participating in your party’s convention, you do not need to declare candidacy twice.

	 Use this chart to determine who your filing officer is:

County Clerk in Resident County

Utah State House of Representatives
Utah State Senate
State Board of Education

Office of Lieutenant Governor

U.S. House of Representatives
Governor
Lieutenant Governor
Attorney General
State Auditor
State Treasurer

	 You must declare candidacy between Friday, March 13, 2020 and 		

	 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, March 19, 2020*. Late declarations cannot be 

accepted.

*Candidates for Lieutenant Governor will have different declaration dates. Refer to 
page 25 for more information about declaring for the office of Lieutenant Governor.

Federal and statewide executive candidates file in-person with the Lieutenant 

Governor’s office. All other candidates, regardless of whether they are multi- or 

single-county candidates, file in-person with the county clerk of their county of 

residence.

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will 

make these forms available during the filing period. After you file the forms they will 

be posted on vote.utah.gov.

	 Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact 

	 information, party, and whether you will go through convention, gather 

signatures, or both. You may also provide your campaign’s email address, website, 

and Twitter handle.

	 Conflict of Interest Form. (File prior to declaring). This form is required for 	

	 Utah legislative and statewide executive office candidates (not candidates 

for U.S. House of Representatives). The process for filing this form is different in 
2020 from previous years and requires each candidate to file online at 		
disclosures.utah.gov. Here are the steps that a candidate must take to submit this 

form:

1.	 Create a username and register your campaign (follow instructions on page 33)

2.	 After creating your account and registering the page, return to the 		

disclosures.utah.gov home page.  (Instructions continued on next page)

When do I declare 
candidacy?

Where do I declare 
candidacy?

What paperwork do I 
need to declare 
candidacy?

									           Partisan Candidates: Convention Path 									           Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S201.html?v=C20A-9-S201_2019092320190923
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S202.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S206.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S407.html?v=C20A-9-S407_2019092320190923
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S701.html?v=C20A-9-S701_2015051220150512
http://vote.utah.gov
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
http://disclosures.utah.gov
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3.    Click on “My Folder” on the left hand

        side of the screen.

4.    Click “Submit or Update Conflict of 

        Interest Forms”

5.    Click “Begin a new Conflict of 

        Interest Form.”

6.    Fill out the required fields and submit

        the form. This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

	 Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct 	

	 your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

	 Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have 	

	 their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you 

choose to file this form, you must provide the filing office another address or phone 

number where you may be contacted.

You must pay a filing fee when you 

declare candidacy. The table to the right 

lists the filing fee for each office.

If you are unable to pay due to financial 

hardship, you may file an affidavit of 

impecuniosity. The filing officer may ask 

you to provide evidence of your inability 

to pay and then determine whether the 

fee will be waived.

If you are located outside of Utah during 

the entire declaration of candidacy 

period, you can designate another 	

individual to file your declaration 

paperwork on your behalf.

What fees do I need to 
pay?

What if I can’t declare 
candidacy in person?

Office Filing Fee

U.S. House of Representatives $485.00

Governor $834.13

Lieutenant Governor $755.71

Attorney General $794.92

State Auditor $755.71

State Treasurer $755.71

State Senator $114.12

State House of Representatives $82.06

State Board of Education $90.61

									           Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

What paperwork do I 
need to declare 
candidacy?
(cont. from previous page)
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Step 3: Attend your party’s convention

UCA 20A-9-407

If you are a candidate for a legislative or state board of education office that is 	

located entirely within a single county, you will likely attend your party’s county 	

convention. 

 

If you are a candidate for federal, statewide executive office, or multi-county 		

legislative or state board of education office, you will likely attend your party’s 

statewide convention. Each party may have different rules regarding convention 

attendance. 

	 Reach out to your party leaders to inquire about convention if you are 	

	 unsure about which convention to attend. Not sure if the district is 

multi-county or single-county? See page 43.

County conventions are typically held between late March and mid-April. State 	

conventions are typically held in late April after the county conventions. Contact 

your party (refer to page 5) to determine the exact date of your convention.

Your party’s constitution or bylaws may require you to perform additional steps 

to qualify for the convention. You should contact your party (refer to page 5) to 	

determine if any additional steps exist.

Which convention do I 
attend?

When are conventions 
held?

Are there other 
requirements?

									           Partisan Candidates: Convention Path

Your signature must be notarized on the declaration of candidacy—your 		

designated agent cannot sign for you. To file on your behalf, the designated agent 

must file your paperwork in-person with your filing officer during the declaration 

period. The designated agent must also use an electronic device that allows you 

and the filing officer to hear and see each other (e.g., Skype, Facetime).

	 Payment of filing fees to the Office of the Lieutenant Governor can be 	

	 made with all major credit cards, personal check, or cash (with exact 

change). You will want to contact your county clerk about acceptable payment 

methods, as they could vary.

What if I can’t declare 
candidacy in person?
(cont. from previous page)

How do I pay my filing 
fee?

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S407.html
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							             Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Partisan Candidates
Gathering Signatures Path
UCA 20A-9-201, UCA 20A-9-202, UCA 20A-9-406, UCA 20A-9-408, UCA 20A-9-408.5, UCA 20A-9-409

	 Gathering voters’ signatures is one path partisan candidates can take to get their name on the 

	 primary election ballot. If you select this path, you must complete 5 steps:

1.	 Determine your signature requirement (continue reading this page). 

2.	 Declare intent to gather signatures between January 2, 2020 and 5:00 p.m. on March 19, 2020 		
(page 12).

3.	 Begin gathering signatures (pages 12-14).

4.	 Declare candidacy between March 13, 2020 and 5:00 p.m. on March 19, 2020 (pages 14-15).

5.	 Submit petition signatures at least 2 weeks before your convention (pages 16-17).

Step 1: Determine your signature requirement
UCA 20A-9-408

The number of signatures you need to gather depends on the office you are seeking. 

The table below outlines signature requirements. 

How many signatures do 
I need to gather?

Who can sign my 
petitions?

Office Valid Signatures Required

U.S. House of Representatives 7,000

Statewide Offices 28,000

State Senator 2,000

State House of Representatives 1,000

State Board of Education

The lesser of 2,000 registered voters     
permitted to vote in the Primary Election 
in the District, OR 3% of registered voters 
affiliated with the political party in the 
District.

A good rule of thumb is to collect more signatures than what is required because 

not every signature you collect will be valid.

	 All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their signature 	

	 to be considered valid:

•	 Registered to vote in Utah (or will be registered before the signature is verified 

by the election officer).

•	 Live in the district or area of the office you are seeking. 

•	 Allowed to vote in your party’s primary election.

•	 Did not sign a petition for another candidate running for the same office.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S201.html?v=C20A-9-S201_2019092320200101
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S202.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S406.html?v=C20A-9-S406_2018050820180508
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.5.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S409.html?v=C20A-9-S409_2019092320190923
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.html
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							             Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

When do I declare my 
intent to gather 	
signatures?

Where do I declare my 
intent?

How do I declare my 
intent?

	 You must declare your intent to gather signatures between January 2, 2020 	

	 and 5:00 p.m. on March 19, 2020. Late submissions cannot be accepted.

Federal and statewide executive office candidates file with the Lieutenant 		

Governor’s Office. All other candidates, regardless of whether they are multi- or 

single-county candidates, file with the county clerk of their county of residence.

You need to submit one form to declare your intent to gather signatures. Your filing 

officer will make this form available during the filing period. Your form will be 	

posted on www.vote.utah.gov. There is no fee to declare your intent to gather 	

signatures.

	 Once you submit your form, the filing officer will provide you with 

	 instructions and 3 documents to compile your petition packets:

•	 Petition cover sheet (Microsoft Word format)

•	 Petition signature sheet (PDF format)

•	 Petition verification sheet (PDF format)

	 Please note that these petition materials differ from those of unaffiliated 	

	 candidate petitions. Do not use unaffiliated candidate petitions.

Step 2: Declare intent to gather signatures
UCA 20A-9-408

	 Before you begin to gather signatures, you must declare an intent to gather signatures. You may not collect 		

             any signatures before filing this notice. Declaring your intent is not the same as declaring for 			 
	 candidacy.

Step 3: Gather signatures
UCA 20A-9-408

You may begin gathering signatures after you file your declaration of intent to gather signatures. The first thing to 

do is compile your petition packets. 

You will notice there is a barcode on your petition packet materials. These unique 

barcodes are linked to you, so do not use or share petition materials with other 

campaigns or candidates. 

You are responsible for printing and binding your petition packets. They must be 

bound across the top (long edge of paper) in at least 3 places using either staples or 

spiral binding. Packets must be bound before they are circulated, and they cannot 

be taken apart or rearranged once they are bound. Your packets may be rejected if 

you do so. 

Barcodes on petition 
materials

Printing, binding, 
& arranging petition 
packets

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.html
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							             Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

	 Petition packets must include 3 sheets and be arranged in the order below. 

	

Printing, binding, 
& arranging petition 
packets (cont.)

Who can circulate 
petitions?

Responsibilities of 
petition circulators

1  

2

3

Cover Sheet

Signature Sheet

Verification Sheet

This indicates the office you are seeking, 

your name, party affiliation, and address. 

The Microsoft Word format will allow 

you to insert your photograph.

Each petition packet needs 1 cover 

sheet.

This is where voters will sign your 

petition. Voters provide their name, 

signature, address, and the date. They 

have the option of providing their age or 

birth date.

Each petition packet may have up to 50 

signature sheets.

The person circulating the petition packet 

must complete this sheet. The circulator 

must count the number of signatures in the 

packet and sign. A packet must be circulated 

by only one person.

Each petition packet needs 1 verification 

sheet.

Any resident of Utah who is over 18 years of age may circulate a petition. They do 

not need to be registered to vote; however, the filing officer can better verify the 

circulator’s age if they are registered to vote. If a circulator does not meet these 

requirements, the signatures they gathered are not valid.

Circulators must complete and sign the verification sheet of every petition packet 

they use to gather signatures. Circulators cannot sign the signature sheets of any 

petitions they circulate–they must sign a petition packet of another circulator if 

they wish to sign the petition.

Each petition packet must be used by only one circulator. If you have multiple 

circulators, they will each need one packet.

Petition circulators should receive permission from the appropriate entity or owner 

if they want to gather signatures in private and public areas.
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You can pay circulators to gather signatures. If you choose to do so, keep these 

rules in mind:

•	 Gatherers cannot be paid based on the total number of signatures they 
collect.

•	 Gatherers can be paid based on the total number of valid signatures they 
collect, an hourly rate, or any other legal method of payment.

•	 Using companies that offer signature collection services is allowed, but 
they must follow all applicable state laws.

You can also use volunteers to gather signatures. Volunteers and their time do not 

qualify as campaign contributions. However, if volunteers are paid by a third party 

(e.g., a political action committee or corporation), this would be considered an

in-kind contribution from the third party. 

	 Refer to page 29 for more information on in-kind contributions.

If an individual wishes to sign your petition but is not registered to vote or affiliated 

with your party*, you may provide them with a registration form. Please ensure that 

the completed registration form is submitted to the appropriate county clerk 

before you submit the individual’s petition signature. 

*Some parties do not require voters to register with their party in order to sign a 

petition or vote in the party’s primary. You will want to contact your party leadership 

to determine your party’s policies on this matter.

	 County clerks cannot guarantee that a voter registration form will be 		

	 processed prior to the petition signature.

Paid signature gatherers

Volunteer signature 
gatherers

Registering petition 
signers to vote

							             Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Step 4: Declare candidacy
UCA 20A-9-408.5

	 All candidates must declare candidacy with their filing officer. Declaring candidacy is not the same as 

	 declaring your intent to gather signatures. If you choose to participate in your party’s convention in addition 

to gathering signatures, you do not need to declare candidacy twice.

	 You must declare candidacy between Friday, March 13, 2020 and 5:00 p.m. 	

	 on Thursday, March 19, 2020*. Late declarations cannot be accepted.

*Candidates for Lieutenant Governor will have different declaration dates. Refer to 

page 25 for more information about declaring for the office of Lieutenant Governor.

Federal and statewide constitutional candidates file in-person with the Lieutenant 

Governor’s Office. All other candidates, regardless of whether they are multi- or 

single-county candidates, file in-person with the county clerk of their county of 

residence.

You must submit the forms listed on the next page to declare candidacy. Your filing 	

officer will make these forms available during the filing period. After you filed the 

forms they will be posted, and publicly accessible, on vote.utah.gov.

When do I declare 
candidacy?

Where do I declare 
candidacy?

How do I declare 
candidacy?

							             Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.5.html?v=C20A-9-S408.5_2015051220150512
http://www.vote.utah.gov
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							             Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

	 Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact 

	 information, party, and whether you will go through convention, gather 

signatures, or both. You may also provide your campaign’s email address, website, 

and Twitter handle.

	 Conflict of Interest Form. (File prior to declaring). This form is required for 	

	 Utah legislative and statewide executive office candidates (not candidates 

for U.S. House of Representatives). The process for filing this form is different in 
2020 from previous years and requires each candidate to file online at 		
disclosures.utah.gov. Here are the steps that a candidate must take to submit this 

form:

1.	 Create a username and register your campaign (follow instructions on page 33)

2.	 After creating your account and registering the page, return to the 		

disclosures.utah.gov home page.  

How do I declare 
candidacy? (cont.)

What fees do I need to 
pay?

3.    Click on “My Folder” on the left hand

        side of the screen.

4.    Click “Submit or Update Conflict of 

        Interest Forms”

5.    Click “Begin a new Conflict of 

        Interest Form.”

6.    Fill out the required fields and submit

        the form. This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

	 Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct 	

	 your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

	 Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have 	

	 their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you 

choose to file this form, you must provide the filing office another address or phone 

number where you may be contacted.

You must pay a filing fee when you declare candidacy. The table on the next page 

lists the filing fee for each office.

If you are unable to pay due to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit of 		

impecuniosity. The filing officer may ask you to provide evidence of your inability

http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
http://disclosures.utah.gov
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Where do I submit 
petition signatures?

You must also obtain the required number of signatures before you submit them for 

verification. For example, if you are required to obtain 1,000 signatures, you cannot 

submit any petition signatures until you have collected at least 1,000 signatures.

You are encouraged to submit your petition signatures earlier than the deadline. 

This will allow you to gather and submit more signatures if you fail to reach the re-

quired number of valid signatures with your first submission.

All federal, statewide executive office, and multi-county candidates must submit 	

petition signatures to the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. Single-county candidates 

must submit petition signatures to the county clerk.

	 Refer to page 43 for information about Single- and Multi-County Districts.

							             Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

Step 5: Submit petition signatures for review
UCA 20A-9-408

	 You must submit petition signatures no later than 2 weeks prior to your 

	 party’s nominating convention–even if you are not participating in the 	

convention process. The deadline will be extended to the following business day 

if the 2 week deadline falls on a weekend or holiday. You may submit petition 	

signatures any time before this deadline.

When do I submit 
petition signatures?

Office Filing Fee

U.S. House of Representatives $485.00

Governor $834.13

Lieutenant Governor $755.71

Attorney General $794.92

State Auditor $755.71

State Treasurer $755.71

State Senator $114.12

State House of Representatives $82.06

State Board of Education $90.61

to pay and then determine whether the 

fee will be waived.

If you are located outside of Utah during 

the entire declaration of candidacy 

period, you can designate another 	

individual to file your declaration 

paperwork on your behalf. Your 	

signature must be notarized on the 	

declaration of candidacy–your 	

designated agent cannot sign for you.

In order to file on your behalf, the 	

designated agent must file your 	

paperwork in-person with your filing 	

officer during the declaration period. 

The designated agent must also use an 

electronic device that allows you and 

the filing officer to hear and see each 

other (e.g., Skype, Facetime) when you 

declare candidacy.

What fees do I need to 
pay? (cont.)

What if I can’t declare 
candidacy in person?

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S408.html
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How will petition 
signatures be verified?

When will petition 
signatures be verified?

How will I know if I
meet the signature 
requirement?

Election officials will verify that each signer in your petition is qualified to sign 

(refer to page 11 to read about these qualifications).

Election officials will also verify petitions in the order in which they are received. If 

your opponent submits their petition before you, election officials will verify your 

opponent’s entire petition before yours. 

	 A submission of supplemental signatures will be considered a new 

	 submission and will take its place at the bottom of the verification order.

Voters may only sign for one candidate per office. If a voter signs two separate 

candidate petitions for the same office, the candidate who submits the signature 

first will receive credit for the signature.

Election officials will verify your petition signatures until you meet the signature 

requirement.

The time required to verify your petition signatures will depend on the size of your 

petition and the number of petitions submitted before yours. Avoid submitting your 

petition near the deadline, as the number of submissions is expected to increase 

during that period of time.

Regardless of your petition size and submission date, election officials will complete 

the verification of your petition within 14 days after the signatures are submitted, 

OR,  at least 1 day prior to your party’s convention (13 days after the submission 

deadline)–whichever is earlier. 

Once your petition signatures are verified, your election official will notify you 

within 1 business day whether you meet the signature requirement. If the signature 

verification process is still underway, you can check on your petition’s status on the 

Lieutenant Governor’s website, vote.utah.gov.

							             Partisan Candidates: Gathering Signatures Path

How do I submit petition 
signatures?

Can I supplement my 
petition signatures?

	 You or a designated agent must submit your petition signatures in-person 	

	 and complete a petition submission form that includes the following 

	 information:

•	 Name and contact information.

•	 Estimated number of petition packets being submitted.

•	 Estimated number of signatures being submitted.

•	 You or your designated agent’s signature.

After you submit this form and your petitions, the election official will provide a 

copy of the form. Keep this copy for your records.

Yes. You may submit additional petition signatures if it is before the deadline and 

you have not yet obtained the required number of signatures. The requirements to 

submit supplemental signatures are identical to those of your first submission.

http://vote.utah.gov


18

							           				            Unaffiliated Candidates

If you prefer not to participate in the political party process, you can run for office as an unaffiliated candidate. As an 

unaffiliated candidate, you are entitled to all the rights and subject to all the regulations and penalties of political 

party candidates. You will have your name printed on the ballot, but your name will be accompanied with a short 

explanation that you are not affiliated with a political party. Follow the 4 steps below to become an unaffiliated 

candidate:

1.	 Determine your signature requirement and obtain petition templates  (continue reading this page).

2.	 Gather signatures (pages 19-20).

3.	 Submit signatures to county clerks for verification (page 20).

4.	 Submit the verified signatures and declare candidacy between March 13, 2020 and 5:00 p.m. on

	      March 19, 2020 (pages 21-22).

Step 1: Determine your signature requirement and obtain petition template

UCA 20A-9-502

The number of signatures you need to gather depends on the office you are 		

seeking. U.S. House, legislative, and state board of education candidates must 	

gather signatures from at least 300 or 5% of registered voters within the district, 	

whichever is less. If you are seeking statewide office, you will need to gather from at 

least 1,000 registered voters residing within the state.

A good rule of thumb is to collect more signatures than what is required because 

not every signature you collect will be valid.

All signers must meet the following requirements in order for their signature to be 

considered valid:

•	 Registered to vote in Utah (or will be registered before the signature is 
verified by the election officer).

•	 Live in the district or area of the office you are seeking.

•	 Did not sign a petition for another unaffiliated candidate running for the 
same office.

	 You can access the petition template form on the vote.utah.gov website 	

	 or by clicking here. Refer to the next page to determine how to compile your 

petition packets.

How many signatures do 
I need to gather?

Who can sign my 
petition?

Where can I obtain 
petition templates?

Unaffiliated Candidates
							           				            Unaffiliated Candidates

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S502.html?v=C20A-9-S502_2018022120180221
http://vote.utah.gov
https://voteinfo.utah.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/42/2019/05/Unaffiliated-Candidate-Petition.pdf
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	 You are responsible for printing and binding your petition. It must be bound 	

	 across the top (long edge of paper) in at least 3 places using either staples 

or spiral binding. The packet must be bound before it is circulated, and it cannot be 

taken apart or rearranged once it is bound. Your packet will be rejected if you do so.

	 The petition must include 2 sheets and be arranged in the order below:

Printing, binding, 
& arranging petition 
packets

Who can circulate 
petitions?

Responsibilities of 
petition circulators

1

2

Signature Sheet(s)

Verification Sheet

This is where voters will sign your peti-

tion. Voters provide their name, signa-

ture, and address. They have the option 

of providing their age or birth date.

The person circulating the petition packet 

must complete this sheet. The circulator 

must count the number of signatures in the 

packet and sign. A packet must be circulated 

by only one person.

Each petition packet needs 1 verification 

sheet.

Any resident of Utah who is over 18 years of age may circulate a petition. They do 

not need to be registered to vote; however, the county clerk can better verify the 

circulator’s age if they are registered to vote. If a circulator does not meet these 

requirements, the signatures they gathered are not valid.

Circulators must complete and sign the verification sheet of every petition packet 

they use to gather signatures. Circulators cannot sign the signature sheets of any 

petitions they circulate–they must sign a petition packet of another circulator if 

they wish to sign the petition.

Each petition packet must be used by only 1 circulator. If you have multiple 

circulators, they will each need 1 packet.

Petition circulators should receive permission from the appropriate entity or owner 

if they want to gather signatures in private and public areas.

Step 2: Gather signatures
UCA 20A-9-502

You may begin gathering signatures any time after the last regular General Election (November 6, 2018).

Follow the steps below to do so:

							           				            Unaffiliated Candidates

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S502.html?v=C20A-9-S502_2018022120180221
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You can also use volunteers to gather signatures. Volunteers and their time do not 

qualify as campaign contributions. However, if volunteers are paid by a third party 

(e.g., a political action committee or corporation), this would be considered an

in-kind contribution from the third party. 

	 Refer to page 29 for more information on in-kind contributions.

If an individual wishes to sign your petition but is not registered to vote, you may 

provide them with a registration form. Please ensure that the completed registration 

form is submitted to the appropriate county clerk before you submit the individual’s 

petition signature. 

	 County clerks cannot guarantee that a registration form will be processed 	

	 prior to the petition signature.

Volunteer signature 
gatherers

Registering petition 
signers to vote

							           				            Unaffiliated Candidates

Signatures must be verified by a county clerk–even if you are a federal, statewide 

executive office, or multi-county candidate. If you obtain signatures within 		

multiple counties, you must submit a voter’s signature to the voter’s county clerk. It 

is advised that you circulate each petition or petition packet within one county so 

you can easily determine which signatures go to a particular county clerk.

	 The petition signatures must be verified before you declare candidacy 

	 between March 13, 2020 and 5:00 p.m. on March 19, 2020. Depending on 

the time of year and the number of signatures you collected, signature verification 

could take several days or weeks.

It is highly advised that you coordinate with the county clerks to ensure that clerks 

have enough time to verify the signatures before the end of the declaration period. 

Refer to page 42 for county clerk contact information.

Yes. If you continue to gather signatures after submitting a packet to a county clerk 

for verification, you may submit additional signatures. The procedure for doing this 

is exactly the same as described in steps 1-2. Again, please coordinate with the 	

respective county clerk to ensure there is enough time to verify supplemental 	

signatures before the end of the declaration period.

The county clerk will give the petition back to the candidate after verification. 

Where do I submit 
petition signatures for 
verification?

When do I submit
signatures for 
verification?

Can I supplement my 
petition signatures?

How do I know if and 
when my signatures are 
verified?

Step 3: Submit signatures for verification
UCA 20A-9-502

Once you gather the required number of signatures, you must get the signatures verified by the county clerk. 

	 This step must be done before you declare candidacy (step 4).

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S502.html?v=C20A-9-S502_2018022120180221
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	 Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact 

	 information, party, and whether you will go through convention, gather 

signatures, or both. You may also provide your campaign’s email address, website, 

and Twitter handle.

	 Conflict of Interest Form. (File prior to declaring). This form is required for 	

	 Utah legislative and statewide executive office candidates (not candidates 

for U.S. House of Representatives). The process for filing this form is different in 
2020 from previous years and requires each candidate to file online at 		
disclosures.utah.gov. Here are the steps that a candidate must take to submit this 

form:

1.	 Create a username and register your campaign (follow instructions on page 33)

2.	 After creating your account and registering the page, return to the 		

disclosures.utah.gov home page.

							           				            Unaffiliated Candidates

	 You must submit verified signatures with your filing officer and declare 	

	 candidacy between March 13, 2020 and 5:00 p.m. on March 19, 2020*. Late 	

submission cannot be accepted.

*Candidates for Lieutenant Governor will have different declaration dates. Refer to 

page 25 for more information about declaring for the office of Lieutenant Governor.

Federal candidates and statewide constitutional offices submit signatures and file 

in-person with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other candidates can submit 

signatures and file in-person with the county clerk of their county of residence.

You must submit the following items and forms listed below to declare candidacy. 

Your forms, with the exception of the petition, will be posted on vote.utah.gov.

When do I submit 
verified signatures & 
declare candidacy?

Where do I submit 
verified signatures & 
declare candidacy?

How do I declare 	
candidacy?

Step 4: Submit the verified signatures & declare candidacy
UCA 20A-9-201, UCA 20A-9-206  

After your petition signatures are verified, you must submit the verified signatures and declare candidacy with the 

appropriate filing officer. 

3.    Click on “My Folder” on the left hand

        side of the screen.

4.    Click “Submit or Update Conflict of 

        Interest Forms”

(Instructions continued on next page)

http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
http://disclosures.utah.gov
http://vote.utah.gov
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S201.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S206.html?v=C20A-9-S206_1800010118000101


22

To file on your behalf, the designated agent must file your petition and paperwork

in-person with your filing officer during the declaration period. The designated 

agent must also use an electronic device that allows you and the filing officer to 

hear and see each other (e.g., Skype, Facetime).

What if I can’t declare 
candidacy in person?

							           				            Unaffiliated Candidates

Office Filing Fee

U.S. House of Representatives $485.00

Governor $834.13

Lieutenant Governor $755.71

Attorney General $794.92

State Auditor $755.71

State Treasurer $755.71

State Senator $114.12

State House of Representatives $82.06

State Board of Education $90.61

You must pay a filing fee when you 	

declare candidacy. The table to the 

right lists the filing fee for each office.

If you are unable to pay due to financial 

hardship, you may file an affidavit of 

impecuniosity. The filing officer may 

ask you to provide evidence of your 

inability to pay and then determine 

whether the fee will be waived.

If you are located outside of Utah 

during the entire declaration of 	

candidacy period, you can designate 

another individual to file your 		

declaration paperwork on your behalf. 

Your signature must be notarized on 

the declaration of candidacy–your

designated agent cannot sign for you.

5.    Click “Begin a new Conflict of 

        Interest Form.”

6.    Fill out the required fields and submit

        the form. This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

	 Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct 	

	 your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

	 Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have 	

	 their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you 

choose to file this form, you must provide the filing office another address or phone 

number where you may be contacted.

How do I declare 
candidacy? (cont.)

What fees do I need to 
pay? 
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							           				                  Write-in Candidates

Write-in Candidates
UCA 20A-9-601

As a write-in candidate, your name does not appear on the ballot. Voters must write or type your name on the 

write-in line for a vote to count. The process to become a write-in candidate is simple: you must declare candidacy 

with the appropriate election official.

	 You cannot be elected to any office as a write-in candidate unless you officially declare candidacy.

	 The deadline to declare write-in candidacy is 5:00 p.m. on August 31, 2020*. 	
	 Late submissions cannot be accepted.

Federal and statewide executive office candidates file in-person with the 		

Lieutenant Governor’s Office. All other candidates, regardless of whether they are 

multi- or single-county candidates, file in-person with the county clerk of their 

county of residence.

You must submit the forms listed below to declare candidacy. Your filing officer will

provide these forms when you declare. After you declare candidacy, your 

declaration forms will be posted on vote.utah.gov.

When do I declare 
candidacy?

Where do I declare 
candidacy?

How do I declare 
candidacy?

	 Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact 

	 information, party, and whether you will go through convention, gather 

signatures, or both. You may also provide your campaign’s email address, website, 

and Twitter handle.

	 Conflict of Interest Form. (File prior to declaring). This form is required for 	

	 Utah legislative and statewide executive office candidates (not candidates 

for U.S. House of Representatives). The process for filing this form is different in 
2020 from previous years and requires each candidate to file online at 		
disclosures.utah.gov. Here are the steps that a candidate must take to submit this 

form:

1.	 Create a username and register your campaign (follow instructions on page 33)

2.	 After creating your account and registering the page, return to the 		

disclosures.utah.gov home page. 

3.    Click on “My Folder” on the left hand

        side of the screen.

(Instructions continued on next page)

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter9/20A-9-S601.html
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
http://disclosures.utah.gov
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4.    Click “Submit or Update Conflict of 

        Interest Forms”

5.    Click “Begin a new Conflict of 

        Interest Form.”

6.    Fill out the required fields and submit

        the form. This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

	 Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct 	

	 your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

	 Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have 	

	 their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you 

choose to file this form, you must provide the filing office another address or phone 

number where you may be contacted.

Write-in candidates are subject to the same filing fees as affiliated and unaffiliated 

candidates.

If you are unable to pay due to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit of 		

impecuniosity. The filing officer may ask you to provide evidence of your inability to 

pay and then determine whether the fee will be waived.

If you are a federal write-in candidate, check with the Federal Election Commission 

(FEC) to determine whether you need to file financial disclosure reports.

If you are a statewide executive office, state legislative or state board of 	

education candidate, you must file financial disclosure reports with the Lieutenant 

Governor’s Office. Refer to page 27 for more information.

Do I need to pay any 
fees?

Do I need to file 
campaign finance
reports?

							           				                  Write-in Candidates

https://www.fec.gov/
https://www.fec.gov/
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	 Declaration of Candidacy Form. This form requires your name, contact 

	 information, and party. You may also provide your campaign’s email address, 

website, and Twitter handle.

	 Conflict of Interest Form. (File prior to declaring). This form is required for 	

	 Utah statewide executive office candidates. The process for filing this 
form is different in 2020 from previous years and requires each candidate to 
file online at disclosures.utah.gov. Here are the steps that a candidate must take 

to submit this form:

1.	 Create a username and register your campaign (Follow instructions on page 30). 

If you already have a username and account, login and skip to Step 3. 

2.	 After creating your account and registering the page, return to the 		

disclosures.utah.gov home page. 

	 The deadline to declare candidacy for a party candidate is 			 

	 5:00 p.m., April 	27, 2020. Late submissions cannot be accepted. 

Lieutenant Governor candidates file in-person with the Lieutenant Governor’s 	

Office. 

In order to declare candidacy, the lieutenant governor candidate must provide a 	

letter from the candidate for governor that names the lieutenant governor 		

candidate as a joint-ticket running mate.

In addition to the letter, you must submit the forms listed below to declare 		

candidacy. Your filing officer will provide these forms when you declare. After you 

declare candidacy, your declaration forms will be posted on vote.utah.gov.

Lieutenant Governor Candidates

Partisan Lieutenant Governor Candidates

UCA 20A-9-201, 20A-9-202, 20A-9-504

The process of candidacy for lieutenant governor is different than other offices. One way that it is different is that 

candidates who previously declared for office in 2020 are allowed to also declare as candidate for lieutenant 	

governor. If a candidate wishes to file a declaration of candidacy for lieutenant governor and they had previously 

declared for another office, they simply need to withdraw as a candidate for the other office that they previously 

declared candidacy.

	 Withdrawing as a candidate for office can be done by filing a written affidavit with your filing officer.

3.    Click on “My Folder” on the left hand

        side of the screen.

(Instructions continued on next page)

When do I declare 
candidacy?

Where do I declare 
candidacy?

What do I need to do to	
declare?

							                                      Lieutenant Governor Candidates

http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
http://disclosures.utah.gov
http://vote.utah.gov
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Unaffiliated Lieutenant Governor Candidates

4.    Click “Submit or Update Conflict of 

        Interest Forms”

5.    Click “Begin a new Conflict of 

        Interest Form.”

6.    Fill out the required fields and submit

        the form. This form must be completed prior to declaring candidacy.

	 Pledge of Fair Campaign Practices (optional). This is a pledge to conduct 	

	 your campaign according to the statements outlined in the pledge.

	 Address Protection Form (optional). This form allows a candidate to have 	

	 their residential or mailing address classified as a protected record. If you 

choose to file this form, you must provide the filing officer another address or phone 

number where you may be contacted.

Lieutenant Governor candidates must pay a $755.71 filing fee.

If you are unable to pay due to financial hardship, you may file an affidavit of 		

impecuniosity. The filing officer may ask you to provide evidence of your inability to 

pay and then determine whether the fee will be waived..

Yes. Statewide executive office candidates must file financial disclosure reports with 

the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. Refer to page 27 for more information.

Do I need to pay any 
fees?

Do I need to file 
campaign finance	
reports?

When do I declare 
candidacy?

What do I need to do to	
declare?

	 The deadline to declare candidacy for an unaffiliated candidate is 		

	 5:00 p.m., July 1, 2020. Late submissions cannot be accepted. 

Prior to declaring candidacy, the unaffiliated lieutenant governor candidate shall 

obtain proof from an unaffiliated candidate for governor that they have been 		

selected as the candidate for governor’s running mate.

All other filing processes are the same for unaffiliated candidates as they are 
for other unaffiliated candidates for office (see page 18).

							                                      Lieutenant Governor Candidates
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Campaign Finance & Reporting
							               		                 Campaign Finance & Reporting

	 Reporting your campaign finances is required by law. Federal candidates file with the Federal Election 

	 Commission (FEC). If you are a federal candidate, refer to the FEC’s website, www.fec.gov, for more 		

information on federal campaign finance regulations.

If you are a statewide executive candidate, a legislative candidate, or a state board of education candidate 		

(including unaffiliated and write-in candidates), you will follow state campaign finance law and file with the 		

Lieutenant Governor’s Office at www.disclosures.utah.gov.

	 Failure to adhere to campaign finance requirements may lead to financial penalties and 
	 disqualification from the election. 

Continue reading the sections below to find out how to follow these requirements.

•	 Opening a campaign bank account (page 28).

•	 Contributions (pages 28-29).

•	 Expenditures (page 30).

•	 Reporting schedule & deadlines (pages 31-32).

•	 How to report campaign finances (pages 33-35).

•	 When to start & stop reporting finances (page 36).

•	 Penalties & fines (page 37).

Federal Election Commission

U.S. House of Representatives

Utah Lieutenant Governor’s Office

Governor
Lieutenant Governor
Attorney General
State Auditor
State Treasurer
State Board of Education
State House of Representatives
State Senate

Who do I report my campaign finances to?

https://www.fec.gov/
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
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		           Campaign Finance & Reporting (Campaign Bank Accounts & Contributions)

Contributions
UCA 20A-11-101, UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-301, UCA 20A-11-1301, UCA 20A-11-601 

Opening a campaign bank account
UCA 20A-11-101, UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-301, UCA 20A-11-1301

If you are a statewide executive office candidate, a legislative candidate, or a state board of education candidate, 

opening a bank account for your campaign is one of the first things you must do. Utah law does not allow a 		

statewide executive office, legislative or a state board of education candidate to use their personal OR business 

banking accounts for a campaign–a separate bank account that is only used for campaign purposes must be creat-

ed and used for campaign finances. However, you are allowed to contribute money from your personal account to a 

campaign account. These contributions would need to be reported following the guidelines on page 33. This would 

be considered a contribution from yourself to your campaign.

	 Some banks require an Employer Identification Number (EIN) to open an account. The Lieutenant Governor’s 	

	 Office or your county clerk cannot provide this number. Refer to the IRS’s website, www.irs.gov, for more

	 information.

A contribution is generally anything of value that your campaign receives. The state 

does not place limits on contributions.

Utah Code 20A-11-101(6) provides the legal definition of a contribution. Here are 

the 4 most common types:

•	 Money donations;

•	 Gifts;

•	 Loans (including ones from yourself); or

•	 In-kind services or donations

Every contribution your campaign receives must be reported, including 	

contributions from your personal accounts. When reporting contributions, you must 

include the contribution’s value, date, and the contributor’s name and address.

	 Unpaid volunteers and goods or services that your campaign did not 		

	 authorize or coordinate do not need to be reported.

Individuals, corporations, political action committees (PAC), and political parties 

may contribute to your campaign. 

If you receive a contribution from a PAC or political party, they may have additional 

requirements to file financial disclosure reports separate from yours. It is 		

recommended that you notify these entities of this possible requirement to ensure 

they comply with the law and avoid fines.

	 Federal law prohibits any foreign nationals from making any contributions or 

	 expenditures in connection with any election. 					  

	 (Refer to the FEC’s “Foreign Nationals” brochure for more information).

What is a contribution?

Who can contribute to 
my campaign?

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S201.html?v=C20A-11-S201_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S301.html?v=C20A-11-S301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1301.html?v=C20A-11-S1301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S601.html?v=C20A-11-S601_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S201.html?v=C20A-11-S201_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S301.html?v=C20A-11-S301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1301.html?v=C20A-11-S1301_2019051420190514
https://www.irs.gov/businesses/small-businesses-self-employed/employer-id-numbers
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://www.fec.gov/updates/foreign-nationals/
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If your campaign receives anything of value that is not money, this is considered an 

in-kind contribution. Just like monetary donations, you must report all in-kind 

contributions to your campaign.

If your campaign receives an in-kind contribution, you are responsible for 

determining its value to report it. You can typically ask the contributor to provide 

an estimate of the market value of the service or product. For example, if a farmers’ 

market 	typically charges $100.00 for booth space but waived the fee for your 	

campaign, you received a $100.00 in-kind donation from the farmers’ market for 

booth space.

It is recommended that in-kind contributions are reported at the time that the 	

candidate benefits. If the value of the contribution is not known, it is advised that 

you report an approximate value and then amend it later if and when you 		

become aware of a more precise value. 

Although the in-kind amount is displayed on your online financial ledger and on 

your disclosure reports, it will not affect the balance of your financial ledger. For 

example, if you have a $0.00 balance and add a $100.00 in-kind contribution to your 

financial ledger, your balance will remain $0.00. For more information about your 

financial ledger, refer to page 34.

No, each contribution received must be reported as a separate contribution. It is 

unlawful to aggregate–or combine–contributions, no matter how small they may 

be. Whether the contribution was $1.00 or $10,000.00, you must include the 

contributor’s name and address as well as the contribution’s value and date.

You cannot use a campaign contribution if it is from an anonymous source and 

greater than $50.00. If you receive an anonymous contribution greater than $50.00, 

you must transfer the money to the state, county, city or a 501(c)(3) non-profit 

organization.

Many candidates use pass-through entities to collect donations (such as PayPal, Act 

Blue, Square, or GoFundMe). When you report your contributions that come through 

an entity like this, report the original source of the contribution instead of the pass-

through entity. 

	 Pass-through entity example: Jane Doe contributes $100 to your campaign 	

	 using PayPal. Because you received the money from Jane Doe and not 

PayPal, you would report the contribution as received from Jane Doe.

A contribution is considered received when you:

•	 Deposit a check;

•	 Have the cash in hand; or

•	 Benefit from an in-kind contribution.

What is an in-kind 
contribution?

Can I aggregate 
(or combine) my
contributions when 
reporting?

Anonymous 
contributions

Contributions from
pass-through entities

When is a contribution 
considered received?

		           					             Campaign Finance & Reporting (Contributions)
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		           		        Campaign Finance & Reporting (Reporting Schedule & Deadlines)		           					             Campaign Finance & Reporting (Expenditures)

Expenditures
UCA 20A-11-101, UCA 20A-11-104, UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-301, 20A-11-601, UCA 20A-11-1301

An expenditure is anything of value that your campaign spends. 

Utah Code 20A-11-101(15) provides the legal definition of expenditure, but here are 

some common types:

•	 Purchases or payments related to the campaign;

•	 Compensation for staff or services;

•	 Campaign loan repayments.

Every expenditure that your campaign makes must be reported. When you 

report expenditures, you must include the amount, date, and its specific purpose. 

Utah law prohibits using your campaign funds for you or your family’s personal use. 

Below is a non-exhaustive list of prohibited expenditures:

	 We recommend that you contact a disclosures specialist in the Office of the 	

	 Lieutenant Governor. Call (801) 538-1041 or email disclosures@utah.gov for 

guidance on your specific circumstances.

You can use credit cards to pay for campaign expenses. However, do not report

your monthly credit card payment as an expenditure. Instead, report each 

transaction on your credit card’s billing statement.

For example, if you charged $200.00 on your credit card, report the individual 

transactions (such as $100.00 paid to Printing, Inc. for printing and $100.00 paid to 

Sign, Inc. for signs) instead of the $200.00 sum.

What is an 			 
expenditure?

Prohibited expenditures

What should I do if I’m 
not sure whether an 
expenditure is legal or 
not?

Making expenditures 
using credit cards

•	 Rent, mortgage, or utilities for your 	
personal property (campaign office space 
is exempt)

•	 Household food items or supplies
•	 Clothing (except clothing that bears 

your campaign’s logo and is used for the 
campaign)

•	 Personal services (e.g., attorney & 	
physician fees)

•	 Membership fee to a professional 	
organization

•	 Admission to events
•	 Dues or fees to clubs or gyms
•	 Salary or payment to anyone who does 

not work for your campaign
•	 Vehicle payment
•	 Personal debt
•	 Travel expenses unrelated to the 	

campaign
•	 Meal expenses unrelated to the 	

campaign 
•	 Vacation or vacation related expenses

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S104.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S201.html?v=C20A-11-S201_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S301.html?v=C20A-11-S301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S601.html?v=C20A-11-S601_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1301.html?v=C20A-11-S1301_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.html?v=C20A-11-S101_2019051420190514
mailto:disclosures%40utah.gov?subject=Campaign%20Finance%20Inquiry
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		           		        Campaign Finance & Reporting (Reporting Schedule & Deadlines)

Reporting Schedule & Deadlines
UCA 20A-11-201, UCA 20A-11-203, UCA 20A-11-204, UCA 20A-11-302, UCA 20A-11-303, UCA 20A-11-1302, UCA 20A-11-1303

	 Utah campaign finance law requires candidates and current officeholders to report contributions on a 		

	 rolling basis AND on specific dates throughout the year.

	 You must report each contribution within 31 calendar days of receiving it.

	 See page 29 for an explanation of when a contribution is considered 		

	 received.

If you have an opponent for the convention, primary election, or general election, 

you must report all campaign contributions within 3 business days beginning the 30 
days before the convention or election. Refer to the table below to determine when 

this requirement begins:

	 The 31 day rule and 3 day rule only applies to campaign contributions. 

	 However, the report chart below applies to contributions and expenditures.

In addition to regular contribution reporting, state executive, legislative and state 

board of education candidates are required to submit 5 reports on 			 

disclosures.utah.gov throughout the 2020 election cycle. Refer to the table below 

for these reporting deadlines:

31 day contribution 
reporting requirement

3 day contribution 	
reporting		
requirement

Contest 3-Business Day Reporting Requirement Begins:

Convention Contact your party (page 5) to determine your convention dates, and 

then calculate 30 calendar days prior to that date

Primary Election Sunday, May 31, 2020

General Election Sunday, October 4, 2020

Report Name Report Deadline Report Includes Transactions Between Candidates who file

Convention 7 days before convention (11:59 p.m.) When candidacy begins - 5 days before convention report is due All partisan candidates 
(Not state board of education 
candidates)

March 30th March 30, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) When candidacy begins - March 25, 2020 *Unaffiliated legislative 
candidates only

May 15th May 15, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) When candidacy begins - May 10, 2020 State board of education 
candidates only

Primary Election June 23, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) 5 days before the previous report - June 18, 2020 All candidates 

September 30th September 30, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) June 19, 2020 - September 25, 2020 All candidates 

General Election October 27, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) September 26, 2020 - October 22, 2020 All candidates

Year-End January 10, 2021 (11:59 p.m.) October 23, 2020 - December 31, 2020 All candidates

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S201.html?v=C20A-11-S201_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S203.html?v=C20A-11-S203_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S204.html
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S302.html?v=C20A-11-S302_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S303.html?v=C20A-11-S303_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1302.html?v=C20A-11-S1302_2019051420190514
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S1303.html
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
mailto:disclosures%40utah.gov?subject=Campaign%20Finance%20Inquiry
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	 Reporting deadlines are the same for all candidates except for the 		

	 Convention, March 30th, and May 15th reports. The Convention report is due 

7 days before your party’s convention (if you are a partisan candidate) - even if you 

do not participate in the convention process. If the reporting deadline falls on a 	

weekend or holiday, the report will be due the following business day.

	 Refer to page 5 to contact your party and determine the exact date of your 	

	 convention.

The March 30th report applies to unaffiliated legislative candidates only and the 	

May 15th report applies to State Board of Education candidates.

Reporting requirements
(cont.)

		           		        Campaign Finance & Reporting (Reporting Schedule & Deadlines)

You must include all campaign contributions and expenditures made during the 

reporting period (3rd column from left in the table on page 31). 

	 Refer to pages 30-32 to learn how to file these reports

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov

Did you receive
campaign 

contributions?

Yes

Do you have an 
opponent in your 

upcoming convention 
or election?

“3 Day” Rule Applies
Submit report within 

3 business days of
receiving 

contribution

Yes

No

Yes

Report within 31 days 
of receiving 
contribution

Is it within 30 
calendar days of the
Convention, Primary, 
or General Election?

Campaign Contribution/Expenditure Reporting Chart

Campaign 

contributions 

AND expenditures 

are reported 

Partisan Candidate
(not state board of 

education candidates)

State Board of 
Education Candidate

Unaffiliated 
Legislative Candidate

7 Days before 
convention

May 15

March 30

June 23, 2020
September 30, 2020

October 27, 2020
January 10, 2021

Report

Report

mailto:disclosures%40utah.gov?subject=Campaign%20Finance%20Inquiry
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	 Create a
	 username & 
	 register your 		
	 campaign

	 Navigate your
	 online financial
	 ledger

		           		      			          Campaign Finance & Reporting (How to Report)

How to report your campaign finances

All statewide constitutional offices, legislative, and state board of education candidates must file financial 		

disclosure reports on the Lieutenant Governor’s Office website, www.disclosures.utah.gov. Candidates should 	

follow the steps below to report contributions, expenditures, and file reports.

1
Using a web browser, go to www.disclosures.utah.gov

On the top left-hand section of the screen, select “New User.”

Skip this and the next item if you already have a username.

The “Create a New Web Account” screen should appear. 

Here you will create a username which allows you to access 

the disclosures website. This is not the same as registering 

your campaign–that will be done in the next step.

Fill out your personal information and create your username and password. Click “Register.”

***Your username information will not be public***

All contributions and expenditures are entered into your 

online financial ledger. This is also where reports are filed. 

To access your ledger, log on www.disclosures.utah.gov and 

click “My Folder” on the left of your screen.

On the “My Folder” screen, there are three red links in the 

middle of the screen under the bolded word “Actions.” 

Click on “Financial Ledger.”

You will want to familiarize yourself with the “Financial Ledger” tool. See the next page for 

instructions on using the various functions.

2

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov

http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
mailto:disclosures%40utah.gov?subject=Campaign%20Finance%20Inquiry
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		           		       Campaign Finance & Reporting (How to Report - Financial Ledger)

1

1 Name of Reports
These are the names of the required reports for a regular general election year. 
When you enter a contribution or expenditure, the ledger automatically sorts them 
under the appropriate report based on the reporting period. You can view reporting 
period dates by hovering your cursor over a report name. To view all contributions and 
expenditures under a particular report, simply click “Show Details” next to the report’s 
name.

Purpose/Address
This column displays the specific purpose of an expenditure or the address of a 
contribution. This information is only displayed if you click “Show Details” for a report.

Contributions/Expenditures/Balance
These columns display the total amount of contributions and expenditures, as well as 
the total account balance for each report. If you click “Show Details,” each column will 
display amounts for individual contributions and expenditures. Use the “Add” button in 
the top row to enter a new contribution or expenditure.

Special Reporting Categories
These columns represent four items:

•	 I = in-kind contribution
•	 L = loan
•	 A = report amendment
•	 P = public service assistance (for current office holders only)

If a transaction falls into one or more of these categories, the ledger will make a note of 
it in these columns. Remember that in-kind contributions will not affect the balance of 
your ledger.

File Report
These are the buttons to file your reports. Simply click “File Report” once you have 
entered all contributions and expenditures for the applicable reporting period. 

Year Tabs
These tabs display the years your account has been active since you last declared 
candidacy. If you are a new candidate, you will only have one tab for the current year. For 
older accounts, simply click on a year to view the ledger for that year.

Download Import Sheet
If you prefer, you can complete an import sheet in Microsoft Excel and email the file to 
disclosures@utah.gov. 

Unaffiliated Candidates 
The “convention” report will 

be displayed as the 		

May 15th report.

In-kind Contributions 
These contributions do not 

affect your total balance, but 

they still must be reported.

Loan
Means any funds received by 

the filing entity if the person 

expects repayment or 	

reimbursement. Loans can 

be from a personal account.

Public Service Assistance
Can be a gift, subscription, 

donation, unpaid or partially 

unpaid loan, advance, or 	

deposit of money or 	

anything of value to an 	

officeholder. Can also 

include goods or services 

provided at less than fair 

market value for the benefit 

of the officeholder.

Changes/Edits
You may make changes to 

your report once you submit 

it, but any changes will be 

publicly displayed as 	

amendments.

Emailing Disclosures
All emailed disclosure docu-

ments must be received be-
fore the reporting deadline.

2

2

3

3

4

4

5

5

6

7

6
7

Completing the Financial Ledger

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov

mailto:disclosures%40utah.gov?subject=Disclosures%20Question
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
mailto:disclosures%40utah.gov?subject=Campaign%20Finance%20Inquiry
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How to report your campaign finances (cont.)

To add a contribution or expenditure, simply click “Add” in

the appropriate ledger column.

Contribution

Clicking the “Add” button will display a pop-up. Here 

you will enter the amount and date of the contribution 

(refer to page 29 to determine when a contribution is

received) as well as the contributor’s name and address.

You can also designate the contribution as in-kind, loan, or public service assistance (for current

office holders only).

Expenditure

Clicking the “Add” button will display a pop-up. Here 

you will enter the date of the expenditure, the specific

purpose of the expenditure, and the expenditure amount.

The expenditure amount must be detailed and clear.

Also, there is a check box to use if the expenditure is related to a loan.

To edit or delete a specific transaction, click on the row you

would like to change. The row will highlight and the “Edit” 

and “Delete” buttons will appear. Make changes as desired.

Note: If the report is already filed and you are making

changes, “Amend” and “Delete” buttons will appear instead.

 

To edit a transaction, click the “Edit” button. After editing

a transaction, it will be noted as an amendment.

To delete a transaction, click the “Delete” button. The 

transaction’s details will be deleted and it will no longer

affect your balance, but the transaction’s name will be

changed to “[DELETED]”.

Before submitting your report, we recommend that you

review all of your contributions and expenditures to ensure

they have accurately been entered into the ledger.

When you are ready to submit a report, click the “File Report”

button on the ledger. You will be asked to confirm the filing.

You will receive an on-screen and email confirmation each time you file a report.

	 Add a 
	 contribution or
	 expenditure

	 Edit or delete a 
	 contribution or
	 expenditure

	 File your 
	 disclosure
	 report

3

4

5

		           		      			          Campaign Finance & Reporting (How to Report)

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov

mailto:disclosures%40utah.gov?subject=Campaign%20Finance%20Inquiry


36

When to start & stop reporting finances
UCA 20A-11-104, UCA 20A-11-304

		        	                     Campaign Finance & Reporting (When to start & stop reporting)

	 Once you declare candidacy, receive a contribution, or spend money on 	

	 campaigning, you must begin reporting finances (even if you have not 	

officially declared candidacy or your intent to gather signatures).

If you lose an election, resign from office, or no longer receive or spend campaign 

money, you have the option of closing your bank account and financial disclosure 

account. By closing your accounts, you will no longer need to report your campaign 

finances. 

If you plan to run for office in the future, you can keep your campaign money and 

accounts, but you will be required to continue reporting your finances. If you close 

your accounts now but run again in the future, you must open a new bank account	

and disclosures.utah.gov account.

You must return or donate your remaining campaign funds to close your accounts.

You may:

•	 Pay back any loans your campaign received (including loans you made to your 
own campaign);

•	 Return funds to contributors;

•	 Donate the funds to a candidate, political party, or 				  
political action committee (PAC); or

•	 Donate the funds to a 501(c)(3) organization.

Note: Refer to your bank for specific instructions to close your bank account. 

To close your online financial disclosures account, follow these instructions:

1.  Log in to www.disclosures.utah.gov. Ensure that your

financial ledger is updated, your account balance is $0.00, 

and you have filed the next upcoming report.

2.  Return to the home page after updating your ledger.  

Click “My Folder” on the toolbar located on the left side of

the screen.

3. You will notice three red links in the middle of the screen

under “Actions.” Click “Manage Folder.”

4. In this new screen, click “Close Account.” A pop-up will 

appear and ask for confirmation. Read this carefully and then 

click “Submit.”

Note: If the ledger balance is not $0.00 or other reports need to 
be filed, you will be instructed to complete these tasks prior to 
closing the account.

When do I start reporting
my campaign finances?

When do I stop reporting 
my campaign finances?

How do I close my 
accounts?

How do I close my
disclosures.utah.gov
account?

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S304.html?v=C20A-11-S304_1800010118000101
http://www.disclosures.utah.gov
mailto:disclosures%40utah.gov?subject=Campaign%20Finance%20Inquiry
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		        	                    		               Campaign Finance & Reporting (Penalties & Fines)

Campaign Finance Penalties & Fines
If you fail to adhere to campaign finance and disclosure laws, you may face fines, criminal penalties, and 		

disqualification from the election.

This table outlines the penalties for filing a late report:

*If you fail to file the Primary, September 30th, or General Election report, you will 

be fined and given a 24-hour grace period to file the report. If you do not file the 

report within this grace period, you will be disqualified from the election.

	 Separate from the deadlines and penalties listed in the table above, there 	

	 are penalties for failing to report contributions within the 31 calendar days 

or 3 business day requirement (refer to pages 31-32) for more information on these 	

requirements: 

•	 10% of each late contribution if it is reported within 60 days after the deadline
•	 20% of each late contribution if it is reported more than 60 days after the 	

deadline

Statewide executive, legislative, and state board of education candidates must pay 

fines through the Lieutenant Governor’s Office. You may pay with a check (made 

payable to the State of Utah), or you can call the Lieutenant Governor’s Office at 

801-538-1041 to conduct a credit card transaction over the phone.

Statewide executive, legislative, and state board of education candidates are 		

required to pay within 30 calendar days of receiving the fine. Failure to pay within 

this time frame may result in a class B misdemeanor.

If you fail to file, or the filed report contains errors, the lieutenant governor will 	

notify the candidate of the issue within 5 business days of discovering the issue. 	

If a corrected report is not submitted within 7 business days after receiving this 	

notice, the candidate could be guilty of a class B misdemeanor, and violations may 

be reported to the Utah Attorney General.

What if I file a report 
late?

Reporting late 
contributions

How do I pay a fine?

When do I need to pay 
a fine?

What if I don’t file or 
there are errors?

Report Name Report Deadline Fine/Penalty Candidates who file

Convention 7 days before convention (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine All partisan candidates

March 26th March 26, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine *Nonpartisan legislative 
candidates only

May 15th May 15, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine State board of education 
candidates only

Primary Election June 23, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification* All candidates 

September 30th September 30, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification* All candidates 

General Election October 27, 2020 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine & potential disqualification* All candidates

Year-End January 10, 2021 (11:59 p.m.) $100 fine All candidates

Questions about campaign finance? Email disclosures@utah.gov

mailto:disclosures%40utah.gov?subject=Campaign%20Finance%20Inquiry
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Other Useful Information
•	 Campaign regulations (pages 38-40).

•	 Important election dates (page 41).

•	 County Clerk contact information (page 42).

•	 Single vs. Multi-county legislative and state board of education districts (page 43).

		        	                    		          					          Other Useful Information

Campaign Regulations

Utah law prohibits certain activities related to campaigning. Familiarize yourself with these laws to avoid possible 

legal issues, fines, and penalties. The laws listed below are some of the most common issues that arise during the 

campaign season, but this list is not all-inclusive. Refer to Title 20A of the Utah State Code for more information. 

To determine whether there are additional regulations for federal candidates, you should consult the appropriate 

federal agency.

Advertisements

Bribery

Campaigning near a 
polling location

If your campaign pays for any type of advertisement (e.g., mailers, TV, radio, 	

newspaper, billboard, etc.), the advertisement must clearly state that your campaign 

authorized and paid for the advertisement.

If your campaign does not pay for an advertisement, but it is approved by your 	

campaign, the advertisement must clearly state who paid for the advertisement and 

that your campaign authorized it.

However, this requirement does not apply to certain campaign items such as:

•	 Lawn signs smaller than 4ft. by 8ft. in size;

•	 Bumper stickers;

•	 Campaign buttons, stickers, and pens; and

•	 Items that are too small to conveniently print the disclaimer.

Any type of bribery is strictly prohibited by law. You cannot:

•	 Offer or promise an individual money, prizes, benefits, or employment to vote, 
refrain from voting, remain away from the polls, or receive political support.

•	 Offer or promise anything to other candidates to drop out of the race, stay in the 
race, or perform any other action.

•	 Pay for endorsements.

A person convicted of these offenses is guilty of a third degree felony.

When voting is taking place at a polling location, you are not allowed to campaign 

or electioneer on public property within 150 feet of the building. This includes 	

wearing campaign or campaign-related shirts and buttons or displaying signs or 

bumper stickers. You also cannot interfere with voters or the administration of the 

polling place.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/20A.html
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		        	                    		          					          Other Useful Information

Campaign signs

Campaign signs on 	
public roadways

Names on the ballot

Poll watchers

Using public email for 
political purposes

State election law does not prohibit you from placing campaign signs on public 

property with the exception of state rights-of-way (see next page), but a 		

government or other public entity may prohibit it. Ask the appropriate public entity 

whether you may place signs on public property. If a public entity allows campaign 

signs on public property, all candidates must be allowed to place signs. You are not 

allowed to move, remove, tamper, or vandalize any campaign signs unless the sign 

is your own. It is a class B misdemeanor to do so.

If you have permission from the property owner, you are allowed to place campaign 

signs on private property. Property owners can remove your signs without your 	

consent and are not obligated to return the signs to you.

State and federal law prohibit campaign signs within state rights-of-way (Utah Code 

Section 72-7-102).  This includes all state highways, medians, road shoulders, sound 

walls, on-ramps, off-ramps, overpasses, and adjoining fence lines. Candidates are 

encouraged to place signs on private property with the consent of the property 

owner. The only restriction for signs on private property is that they must not block 

the view of oncoming traffic.  

If a campaign sign is placed within the state rights-of-way or poses a traffic hazard, 

it may be removed.  Signs that have been removed will be stored by UDOT, and the 

sign owner may retrieve the signs for future use. 

A local government may allow campaign signs in its own rights-of-way. Please 	

contact your local government for more information; regulations and restrictions 

vary among cities and counties. 

For more information about state sign regulations please email 			 

OutdoorAdvertisingControl@udot.gov, or call (801) 965-4209.

The order of candidates’ names on the ballot is established by a random alphabet—

the master ballot position list. The ballot position list will be determined after the 

declaration of candidacy period. The list will be posted on vote.utah.gov.

Poll watchers are not required, but you may designate poll watchers. Poll watchers 

should register with the county clerk beforehand.

Watchers are there to observe the voting and tabulation process. They are not there 

to interfere. Watchers may make written memos, but they cannot communicate the 

progress of the voting or counting in any way. Doing so will result in a third degree 

felony.

Counties may make other rules regarding poll watching. Watchers may be required 

to surrender their cell phone or remain in a certain area of the room.

If you are a current office holder or work in the public sector (including public 	

education), you cannot use your public entity email address for political or 		

campaign-related purposes. The fine for the first offense is $250. Fines for 		

subsequent offenses are $1,000 and over.

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title72/Chapter7/72-7-S102.html?v=C72-7-S102_2018050820180508
mailto:OutdoorAdvertisingControl%40udot.gov?subject=
http://vote.utah.gov
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		        	                    		          					          Other Useful Information

Withdrawing your 	
candidacy or intent to 
gather signatures 

Submitting ballots

You may withdraw your candidacy or your declaration of intent to gather signatures 

by submitting a written affidavit to your filing officer. If you withdraw your intent 

to gather signatures, any signatures you submitted prior to withdrawal will not be 

verified.

Candidates or their campaigns cannot collect or submit mail ballots on behalf of 

voters. They can, however, give voters rides to polling locations.
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Date Event

January 2, 2020 Declaration of intent to gather signatures begins

March 13, 2020 Declaration of candidacy period begins of candidacy period begins

March 19, 2020 (5:00 p.m.) Declaration of candidacy period ends; declaration of intent to gather signatures period ends

2 weeks before convention Candidate petition signatures must be submitted

7 days before convention Financial disclosure report due (except for unaffiliated candidates)

1 day before convention Signature gathering candidates are certified for the primary election ballot

Late March - Late April Political parties hold nominating conventions

March 30, 2020 Financial disclosure report due for unaffiliated legislative candidates

May 18, 2020 (5:00 p.m.) Candidate biographies/profiles must be submitted for voter information website for primary election

May 15, 2020 Primary Election ballots are sent to military and out-of-country voters

May 15, 2020 Financial disclosure report due for state board of education candidates

June 1, 2020 Last day a voter can register to vote for the Primary Election by mailing a registration form

June 9, 2020 Primary Election mail ballots are sent to voters

June 16, 2020 Primary Election in-person early voting begins

June 23, 2020 Financial disclosure report due & last day a voter can register to vote for the Primary Election online or at 
the county clerk’s office

June 23, 2020 Last day a voter may request an absentee ballot for the Primary Election

June 26, 2020 (5:00 p.m.) Primary Election in-person early voting ends (a county may extend early voting until June 29th)

June 30, 2020 PRIMARY ELECTION DAY

July 14, 2020 Final Primary Election results are certified by the county clerks

September 4, 2020 (5:00 p.m.) Candidate biographies/profiles must be submitted for voter information website for general election

September 18, 2020 General Election ballots are sent to military and out-of-country voters

September 30, 2020 Financial disclosure report due

October 5, 2020 Last day a voter can register to vote for the General Election by mailing a registration form

October 13, 2020 General Election mail ballots are sent to voters

October 20, 2020 General Election in-person early voting begins

October 27, 2020 Financial disclosure report due & last day a voter can register to vote for the General Election online or at 
the county clerk’s office

October 27, 2020 Last day a voter may request an absentee ballot for the General Election

October 30, 2020 (5:00 p.m.) General Election in-person early voting ends (a county may extend early voting until November 2nd)

November 3, 2020 GENERAL ELECTION DAY

November 17, 2020 Final General Election results are certified by the county clerks

November 23, 2020 Federal and multi-county candidates are certified by the State Board of Canvassers

	 Important Election Dates

	 Below is a calendar of important dates for the election. Note that not all election related dates and 

	 deadlines are represented in this calendar.

		        	                    		          					          Important Election Dates
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		        	                    		          			           County Clerk Contact Information

County Clerk Contact Information

Beaver
Clerk/Auditor: Ginger McMullin
gingermcmullin@beaver.utah.gov
105 E. Center St.
P.O. Box 392
Beaver, UT 84713
Phone: 435-438-6463
Fax: 435-213-1752

Garfield
Clerk: Camille Moore 
gcclerk@mountainwest.net
55 S Main
Panguitch, UT 84759
Phone: 435-676-1120
Fax: 435-676-8239

Rich
Clerk: Becky Peart 
bpeart@richcountyut.org
20 South Main, P.O. Box 218
Randolph, UT 84064
Phone: 435-793-2415
Fax: 435-793-2410

Utah
Clerk/Auditor: Amelia Powers
ameliap@utahcounty.gov
100 E. Center, Room 3100
Provo, UT 84606
Phone: 801-851-8128
Fax: 801-370-8122

Box Elder
Clerk: Marla Young
myoung@boxeldercounty.org
01 S. Main St.
Brigham City, UT 84302
Phone: 435-734-3393
Fax: 435-723-7562

Grand
Clerk: Quinn Hall 
qhall@grandcountyutah.net
125 E. Center
Moab, UT 84532
Phone: 435-259-1321
Fax: 435-259-2959

Salt Lake
Clerk: Sherrie Swensen 
sswensen@slco.org
2001 South State Street
#S1100
Salt Lake City, UT 84190
Phone: 385-468-7400
Fax: 385-468-7401

Wasatch
Clerk/Auditor: Cal Griffiths
clerkauditor@wasatch.utah.gov
25 North Main
Heber City, UT 84032
Phone: 435-657-3190
Fax: 435-654-0834

Cache
Clerk: Jill Zollinger
jill.zollinger@cachecounty.org
179 North Main Street
Suite 102
Logan, UT 84321
Phone: 435-755-1460
Fax: 435-755-1980

Iron
Clerk: Jon Whittaker
jwhittaker@ironcounty.net
68 S. 100 E.
P.O. Box 429
Parowan, UT 84761
Phone: 435-477-8340
Fax: 435-477-8847

San Juan
Clerk: John-David Nielson
jdnielson@sanjuancounty.org
P.O. Box 338
Monticello, UT 84535
Phone: 435-587-3223
Fax: 435-587-2425

Washington
Clerk/Auditor: Kim Hafen
kim.hafen@washco.utah.gov
197 East Tabernacle St.
St. George, UT 84770
Phone:435-634-5712
Fax: 435-634-5763

Carbon
Clerk: Seth Marsing
seth.marsing@carbon.utah.gov
751 East 100 North, St. 1100
Price, UT 84501
Phone: 435-636-3221
Fax: 435-636-3210

Juab
Clerk: Alaina Lofgran
alainal@juabcounty.com
160 North Main
Nephi, UT 84648
Phone: 435-623-3410
Fax: 435-623-5936

Sanpete
Clerk: Sandy Neil
sneill@sanpetecounty-ut.gov
160 N. Main, Ste. 202
Manti, UT 84642
Phone: 435-835-2131
Fax: 435-835-2144

Wayne
Clerk: Ryan Torgerson 
ryan@wayne.utah.gov
18 South Main
P.O. Box 189
Loa, UT 84747
Phone: 435-836-1300
Fax: 435-836-2479

Daggett
Clerk: Brian Raymond
95 N 1st West
P.O. Box 400
Manila, UT 84046
Phone: 435-784-3154
Fax: 435-784-3335

Kane
Clerk: Karla Johnson
clerkkj@kane.utah.gov
76 N. Main St.
Kanab, UT 84741
Phone: 435-644-2458
Fax: 435-644-4939

Sevier
Clerk/Auditor: Steven Wall
scwall@sevier.utah.gov
P.O. Box 607
Richfield, UT 84701
Phone: 435-893-0401
Fax: 435-893-0496

Weber
Clerk/Auditor: Ricky Hatch
rhatch@co.weber.ut.us
2380 Washington Blvd., #320
Ogden, UT 84401
Phone: 801-399-8034
Fax: 801-399-8300

Davis
Clerk: Curtis Koch
ckoch@co.davis.ut.us
61 S Main St.
Farmington, UT 84025
Phone: 801-451-3213
Fax: 801-451-3421

Millard
Clerk: Marki Rowley
mrowley@co.millard.ut.us
765 S. Highway 99, Ste. 6
Fillmore, UT 84631
Phone: 435-743-6223
Fax: 435-743-6923

Summit
Clerk: Kent Jones
kentjones@summitcounty.org
60 N Main, P.O. Box 128
Coalville, UT 84017
Phone: 435-336-3204
Fax: 435-336-3030

UPDATED 02/24/2020

Duchesne
Clerk: JoAnn Evans
jevans@duchesne.utah.gov
734 N Center St.
P.O. Box 270
Duchesne, UT 84021
Phone: 435-738-1228
Fax: 435-738-552

Emery
Clerk: Brenda Tuttle
brendat@co.emery.utah.gov
75 East Main
P.O. Box 907
Castle Dale, UT 84513
Phone: 435-381-3550
Fax: 435-381-5183

Morgan
Clerk: Stacy Netz Clark
sclark@morgan-county.net
48 West Young St., Room 18
P.O. Box 886
Morgan, UT 84050
Phone: 801-845-4011
Fax: 801-829-6176

Piute
Clerk: Kali Gleave
kgleave@piute.utah.gov
550 N. Main
P.O. Box 99
Junction, UT 84740
Phone: 435-577-2840
Fax: 435-577-2433	

Tooele
Clerk/Auditor: Marilyn Gillette
mgillette@tooeleco.org
47 S. Main #318
Tooele, UT 84074
Phone: 435-843-3140
Fax: 435-882-7317

Uintah
Clerk/Auditor: Michael Wilkins
mwilkins@co.uintah.ut.us
147 East Main
Vernal, UT 84078
Phone: 435-781-5360
Fax: 435-781-6701
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Senate Single-County Districts
(Only districts up for election in 2020 listed)

District 1: Salt Lake
District 6: Salt Lake
District 7: Utah
District 8: Salt Lake
District 10: Salt Lake
District 14: Utah
District 29: Washington

							        Utah Single vs. Multi-County Legislative Districts     

House Multi-County Districts

District 1: Box Elder; Cache
District 11: Davis; Weber
District 12: Davis; Weber
District 28: Salt Lake; Summit
District 29: Box Elder; Weber
District 53: Daggett; Duchesne; Morgan; Rich; 	
	       Summit
District 54: Summit; Wasatch
District 55: Duchesne; Uintah
District 58: Juab; Sanpete
District 68: Beaver; Juab; Millard; Tooele; Utah
District 69: Carbon; Duchesne; Emery; Grand
District 70: Emery; Grand; Sanpete; Sevier
District 71: Iron; Washington
District 73: Beaver; Garfield; Kane; Piute; 
	       San Juan; Sevier; Wayne

House Single-County Districts

District 2: Utah
District 3: Cache
District 4: Cache
District 5: Cache
District 6: Utah
District 7: Weber
District 8: Weber
District 9: Weber
District 10: Weber
District 13: Davis
District 14: Davis
District 15: Davis
District 16:  Davis
District 17: Davis
District 18: Davis
District 19: Davis
District 20: Davis
District 21: Tooele
District 22: Salt Lake
District 23: Salt Lake
District 24: Salt Lake
District 25: Salt Lake
District 26: Salt Lake
District 27: Utah
District 30: Salt Lake
District 31: Salt Lake
District 32: Salt Lake
District 33: Salt Lake
District 34: Salt Lake
District 35: Salt Lake
District 36: Salt Lake

District 37: Salt Lake
District 38: Salt Lake
District 39: Salt Lake
District 40: Salt Lake
District 41: Salt Lake
District 42: Salt Lake
District 43: Salt Lake
District 44: Salt Lake
District 45: Salt Lake
District 46: Salt Lake
District 47: Salt Lake
District 48: Utah
District 49: Salt Lake
District 50: Salt Lake
District 51: Salt Lake
District 52: Salt Lake
District 56: Utah
District 57: Utah
District 59: Utah
District 60: Utah
District 61: Utah
District 62: Washington
District 63: Utah
District 64: Utah
District 65: Utah
District 66 Utah
District 67: Utah
District 72: Iron
District 74: Washington
District 75: Washington

Senate Multi-County Districts
(Only districts up for election in 2020 listed)

District 13: Salt Lake; Utah
District 16: Utah; Wasatch
District 19: Morgan; Summit; Weber
District 20: Davis; Weber
District 23: Davis; Salt Lake
District 24: Beaver; Garfield; Juab; Kane; 		
	       Millard; Piute; Sanpete; Sevier; 	
	       Utah; Wayne
District 25: Cache; Rich
District 27: Carbon; Emery; Grand; 
	       San Juan; Utah; Wasatch

Single vs. Multi-County Legislative and State Board of 
Education Districts (click on District to see demographic profiles prepared by the Utah OLRGC)

State Board of Education 
Single-County Districts

(Only districts up for election in 2020 listed)

District 8: Salt Lake
District 10: Salt Lake
District 13: Utah

District 4: Davis; Weber
District 7: Salt Lake; Summit
District 11: Salt Lake; Utah
District 12: Daggett; Duchesne; Summit; 		
	       Uintah; Utah; Wasatch
District 15: Iron; Washington

State Board of Education 
Multi-County Districts

(Only districts up for election in 2020 listed)

https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist01.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist06.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist07.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist08.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist10.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist14.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist29.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist01.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist11.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist12.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist28.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist29.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist53.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist53.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist54.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist55.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist58.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist68.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist69.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist70.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist71.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist73.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist73.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist02.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist03.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist04.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist05.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist06.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist07.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist08.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist09.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist10.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist13.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist14.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist15.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist16.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist17.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist18.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist19.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist20.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist21.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist22.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist23.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist24.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist25.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist26.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist27.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist30.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist31.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist32.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist33.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist34.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist35.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist36.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist37.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist38.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist39.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist40.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist41.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist42.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist43.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist44.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist45.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist46.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist47.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist48.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist49.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist50.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist51.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist52.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist56.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist57.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist59.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist60.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist61.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist62.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist63.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist64.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist65.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist66.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist67.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist72.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist74.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/House_Dist75.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist13.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist16.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist19.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist20.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist23.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist24.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist24.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist24.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist25.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist27.pdf
https://le.utah.gov/documents/demographic/profiles/2015/Senate_Dist27.pdf
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/janetcannon
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/shawnnewell
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/scottneilson
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/jennifergraviet
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/carollear
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/mikehaynes
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/markmarsh
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/markmarsh
https://www.schools.utah.gov/board/members/utah/michelleboulter

