Learn how to register to vote
Click on a question below for more information:
1. How can I register to vote?
To register for the August 15, 2023 Municipal Primary Election, your voter registration must be received by your county clerk by 5:00 pm on August 4th, 2023. You can register to vote using one of the methods below:
- Registering with a paper form. Fill out a paper registration form and mail or email a scanned copy to your county clerk. You can find your county clerk’s contact information at this link.
- Registering online at the website voter.utah.gov. A valid Utah driver license or valid Utah ID is required.
- Registering in-person at your county clerk’s office. Please note that public access to your county clerk’s office may be restricted due to COVID-19 precautions. Contact your county clerk’s office before visiting.
If you miss the August 4th, 2023 registration deadline, you can register to vote at an early voting location or an Election Day voting location. However, you will need to present two forms of identification at the voting location to register.
2. What are the requirements to register?
You must meet certain requirements to register to vote in Utah. You must be:
- A U.S. Citizen;
- A resident of Utah for at least 30 days before the election; and
- 18 years old on or before the day of the election.
If you are 16 or 17 years old, you can pre-register to vote. If you pre-register, you will automatically be registered to vote when you turn 18 years old.
3. Am I considered a resident of Utah?
You are considered a resident of Utah if your principal place of residence is in the state and you have the intention of making your residence here permanent or indefinite. If you have additional questions, please contact your county clerk.
For voter registration purposes, you are required to be a resident for 30 days immediately prior to election day
4. I have a felony. Can I register to vote?
If you are a convicted felon, you can register and vote unless you are currently serving a jail or prison sentence. Your voting rights are automatically restored when you are granted parole, sentenced to probation, or successfully complete your term of incarceration. You are eligible to register and vote if you are detained and awaiting trial and have not yet been convicted of a felony.
5. I am a college student living away from home. Where do I register to vote?
You should register at the address that you consider your permanent residence. This may be your home address or your current address at school. If you are a resident of Utah and attending school away from home, you can request a mail ballot to be sent to your current address. Visit this page for more information about requesting a mail ballot.
6. Is my voter registration information shared with third parties?
The following parts of your voter registration record are never provided to third parties:
- Social Security number
- Driver license or ID number
- Email address
- The day and month of your date of birth
- Phone Number
Other parts of your voter registration record, such as your name, address, or political affiliation, can be obtained by third parties. However, you have the opportunity to classify your record as a private record when you register to vote. Look for the privacy information section on the form. If you classify your voter registration record as private, your voter registration record cannot be shared with third parties unless it is a political party, candidate, or a contractor, employee, or volunteer of a political party or candidate.
Certain individuals are eligible to request that all information on their voter registration record is withheld from all third parties, including political parties, candidates, and their contractors, employees, or volunteers. If you meet one of the criteria below, you may request to withhold your voter registration information by submitting this form to your county clerk’s office.
- You are an individual who is a victim of domestic violence or dating violence, or you are likely to be a victim of domestic violence or dating violence.
- You are protected by a protective order or a protection order.
- You are a law enforcement officer.
- You are a member of the armed forces (armed forces include the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, or a reserve or auxiliary of these entities).
- You are a public figure who has an increased safety risk due to being considered for, holding, or having held a position of prominence in a public or private capacity or due to your celebrity status. (Elected officials do not qualify as public figures.)
- You reside with a person who is listed above.
If your voter registration was classified as a private record prior to May 12, 2020, your voter registration was automatically classified as a withheld record. You do not need to take further action if you want to withhold your voter registration information.
Can’t find the information you are looking for? Contact the Lieutenant Governor’s Office at email@example.com or 801-538-1041.